Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
54
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2011
This album is superlative, I bought it to have playing in the background whilst working on my pc.It covers many of the jazz greats from the last 50 years, Basie, Brubeck ,Miles Davis, Ella,Dinah Washington, just to mention a few,I have many of the original albums these songs were taken from, and the remastering is excellent, and at this price is very good value for money.
I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
This has to be one of the very best Jazz compilations of all time. If anybody likes Jazz, they cannot fail to enjoy the whole 40 tracks on this album. It kicks off with a fantastic version of 'Every day I Have the Blues' with Count Basie and Joe Williams, it has Hoagy Carmichael singing his own composition Georgia and I adore the the instrumentals from the likes of Jimmy Smith, Mancini and the classic Brubeck. The Sound quality is well above average and it seems it warrants the HD Re Mastered Tag, I bought this a week ago and have not stopped playing it. It is one of those rare Albums where I love every track. If anyone likes good music you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This is a very reasonable price for a standard jazz compilation, with some nicely unusual items - I already had some but felt that it was still a very good value download. If you are the sort of person who perhaps is not familiar with the jazz canon but want a gentle introduction then this is for you but... it claims to be remastered and on a couple of the tracks whoever did the mastering has not done a very good job for my ears. Mastering is a process where the original audio files are prepared to be presented together, whether on a CD, a Vinyl album or, as here, as an MP3 download. It should raise every track to a similar relative volume so you don't have to continually adjust the volume but, most importantly, it addresses the dynamics of the soundfiles themselves and some of these - track 2 'Moanin' by Art Blakey is present on a number of compilations and from Blue Note, the original label, it sounds pristine, here it sounds - distorted and harsh. If you are listening as background maybe it doesn't matter much but if you want to listen on a decentish system you might feel a bit let down. I know its an MP3 and not a CD or Vinyl album but I have heard, and possess, many better MP3s than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
What a great selection of tracks on this album. I have hundreds of Jazz albums but this selection is exactly what it says on the cover, a totally cool set of hot Jazz - don't hesitate - buy it - and it's such good value too. There are so many great names on here it's impossible to mention them all, but there is a nice balance of smoky lady singers with more up-tempo instrumentals. Perfect!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
I was working in the office and needed something to relax me. This was perfect and I think what I liked the most was the great stereo effect which gave a great feeling of the musicians being in the office with me. A great collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
The good thing about the compilation is the quality. Terrific. And it doesn't need to be a Summers day to listen to it.

For less than £4 you won't find anything better for a Jazz compilation.

Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
The original film is unforgetable and this CD whilst not music from the film is a worthy companion and being remastered adds to the pleasure covering a broad spctrum of jazz. It shows that if the music is good it is possible to enjoy a wide range of jazz music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
I have a Sonos system so can stream music from my home server to speakers around the home. If you put a compilation like this on then you have an instant playlist full of great music that will last for half a day. Collections like this make great quality music available to everyone, there really is no reason to listen to rubbish is there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
This is a wonderful collection of music from some of the best talent the world has ever known .It was purchased as a download and even compressed MP3 sounds good . Maybe there is a High Def version available for purchase. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Great album great collection.
Every track is a classic,I bought this as a download.
Just the sort of music to have on allday in the back ground.
A real must for Jazz fans
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)