Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
211
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2014
ALTHOUGH STORY LINE IS LIMITED IT DEPICS THE PASSION BEHIND THE NORTHERN SOUL CULT THE CHOONS AND THE DANCING CERTAINLY IGNITE A FLAME OF NOSTALGIA FOR THOSE WHO WERE THERE THE FIRST TIME ROUND OR LIKE ME PART OF THE 80S REVIVALIST IN 82 - 85... iF THE YOUNGSTER ARE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT WHERE RECORD WERENT A DISPOSIBLE MEDIA AND A TIME WHEN CLOTHES DANCING AND BEING PART OF A CULT MEANT SOMETHIN THIS IS FOR YOU. .. RAY STEEL...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
With a reasonable rather than outstanding plot the film supports the great music and dance of the Wigan Casino period.
If you're into music nostalgia, want to re kindle the atmosphere of your youth or know what your parents got up to, get this.
Along with 60/70s Motown, Northern Soul was the music of my youth.
Well done to the Actors, Director,Crew and particularly the real Northern Soul 'Extras'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
I Never went to the northern soul nights - girls in my school went - some still do although we aint bin in school for donkeys year - `i` like a bit a Northern` and the film was cool - must be even better if you `where there` great actin from everyone - buy it - get a breath of fresh air from all that american kissing your best friends boyfriend and dogs falling out of windows - whatever that means ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Just seen this one, what a great period piece. The scene is recreated with real authenticity, the dances, the venues, the clothes and the surroundings. Yes it is a love story and it is charming.

It is wonderful to see a British film done so well to help preserve a period and the musical movement that was / is Northern soul. We should treasure such artistic vignettes such as these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
After watching Soul boy I really wished I was there at the time as the dance scenes and the original film clips were awesome ,the sound track is very good.Overall the film is a little weak story line wise and the dance off scene is a bit cringe worthy, but if you are into soul very much worth a look.overall I liked it and would recommend it 8/10 just for the dance scenes alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Having been around at the opening and though the best days of the wigan casino, I found the film most entertaining. the story was the usual boy meets girl boy loses girl etc but all turns out well in the end. Really enjoyed the sound track, what great memories.
Not so sure about the shot of a break dancer on the floor at wigan but times change. Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
Top film worth watching - music brilliant of course - recreating somthing like this is never going to please everyone (especially ones that were there!). The film does capture a scene and shows it as well as you can. Human Traffic, Quadrophenia, Studio 54 all do a simular thing. You can never really re-create the past 100% but SoulBoy delivers well and does do a good job of it. If you have been part of a scene you will know exactly were the characters are at and if you havent then you will at least get a view into something that keeps on burning to this day.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I bought this for my husband when he was going through a northern soul phase, and was a bit concerned that it might be a bit low budget and naff, but I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed it! It should appeal to those that lived through the period too as I think a lot of time and effort was put into recreating the northern soul scene quite accurately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
This film is Saturday Night Fever mixed with Quadrophenia meets Northern Soul. You probably need to ignore the embarrassing dance off near the end (was it intended to be so daft and funny? I sadly doubt it!) and concentrate on just putting your feet up, enjoying the music and forgetting all your troubles for a while. Worth a watch if you're into the scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
Wanted to see this film in the cinema, but it was not shown everywhere. Waited for the dvd and was not disappointed. An enjoyable story line which would appeal to a lot of people, well acted, and for me, made just that bit more special by the Northern Soul back drop. Loved it, and would definately recommend it. Glad I own it will watch it again. KTF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)