Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.66
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2011
I have been looking for a kindle edition of the NRSV (Catholic) Bible for some time, and at last it is here! However, I am so disappointed to discover it has exactly the same problem as the separate New and Old Testaments (NRSV) by Harper: when you are on a page, you have NO indication what book of the Bible you are in. You don't even know what chapter you are in unless you're on a page where you see the chapter number.

Maybe this is a limitation of reading on a kindle. While it does not matter with novels etc, because one tends to start at the beginning and go to the end, it is very important when reading the Bible to know where one is, especially as one tends to read several passages around the same time.

One very good improvement of this edition from the separate editions of the Testaments mentioned above is that you can choose what chapter you want to go to; this is a huge plus! With the separate Testaments editions, if, for example, you want to go to Isaiah 40, you have to start with Isaiah 1 and 'turn' pages all the way to 40.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Having converted to Kindle after my Wife getting fed up of books arriving in the post (from Amazon of course) I decided I wanted to have a copy of NRSV on my Kindle. It is sublime, wondefully written, easy to follow and read by me on a daily basis wherever possible. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
With the kindle version you do not know what chapter you are reading and it is not easy to flick between different parts of the Bible, but despite this inconvenience it is nice to be able to carry the Bible around to be able to read at any time from ones favourite book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
The Word of God in a nice easy language, including women, and approved by the Church. I love it and read it frequently especially the Gospels. Our Church official prayer book is about to be redone in this translation in a few years' time to modernize it, which is why I bought the Bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
It's what it is, a bible. One slight difference to the normal paper version - the footnotes explaining various Hebrew sayings and the like are all listed at the end if each book, rather than at the bottom of each "page". Although the Kindle lookup feature works well, if not better - if you have WiFi switched on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Excellent translation. Far better than 'Jerusalem'. Comes across as an update of the 16th/17th century classics of Douai-Rheims and King James. I would like to see its readings used in the Mass and its Psalms replacing the present offerings in the Divine Office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This is a decently produced copy of the Catholic Bible and fairly easy to navigate: I wish it had been Anglicised instead of Americanised.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
The links are easy to find and helpful explanations are given. It encouraged me to read the Bible almost from cover to cover!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Without doubt, I view this version of the Sacred Scriptures as one of the most beautiful in the modern English language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Good to find a Kindle version of reasonably up to date NRSV Catholic Bible. Can go to book, but cannot search by verse.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)