Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(3 star). See all 110 reviews
on 12 May 2017
Great sound but plastics break very quickly and the ear covering material starts crumbling after about 2 years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
Sound quality is okay but the build quality is just not there. First pair broke within the warranty period and the replacement pair broke at exactly the same place, the plastic holding the earpiece, a few years later after careful use. Don't think I'll go Denon again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2012
The sound of this set is fantastic, easy to drive from an iPod touch and sound best in my opinion with the EQ set to Flat or off, as the sound of these seem to change a little TOO much with the built in EQ settings,
causing the sound to feel too exaggerated and false.

Bass is powerful and fast, can be a little overpowering with certain types of music though, but overall very well balanced.

These really shine though when watching movies, the extended range ensures there's no distortion and effects, dialogue, and soundtrack all stand out equally.
The included 9ft extension cable, giving you a total of 12ft when in use, makes it ideal for late night viewing or gaming.

These are also VERY comfortable. The pads are very deep giving a good distance between your ear and the speaker in the ear cups, so you don't feel too restricted.
The fake leather pads can make you get a little sweaty under them though. My ears pretty much fit snugly within the cups, and I don't have the smallest of ears,
so unless you're unfortunately endowed in the ear department these should fit nicely onto your head and ears.

The downside though, is that the silver plastic arms that hold the cups on AREN'T solid. They're actually hollow and open on the side towards your head,
and after just over a month of use out and about every other day or so, there are already a number of hairline cracks developing on the top edge.
I haven't dropped these and they've been in the pouch when not in use, so I can only suggest that the cracks have come just from the flexing of the unit when they're in use.

I'm not sure about Amazon's returns policy, they might not offer returns for something that may be deemed as cosmetic or accidental damage.

So be wary, and to be honest after this experience with the quality of them I regret this purchase, despite the amazing sound quality.
Cracks developing in the arms through careful day to day use in a product costing near £100 is unacceptable,
I'm sure that given enough time the arms may crack completely and have the ear cup fall off.
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
These are great headphones. To say what they sound like is subjective but overall they are rich and balanced if part of a decent chain such as FLAC/CD > Xonar/SB Zx > AD1100 . They are great for general use, watching films or listening to music and you do really get a great sound for the price, but there is a catch.

The plastic is structurally weak and this is why they keep dropping in price. The silver, rectangle plastic between the headbar and the pivot will start to fracture with time, you will see them as you pull the headphones open to put them on, hairline cracks appear from the inside edge and will will spread outwards around the side of the rectangle and then across the outside flat surface eventually snapping. I saw mine in time and used a glue gun to reinforce the thin sides of the silver rectangle. When i ordered mine i thought the issue was a something you either got or didn't get. Once i experienced the issue i realised it is just down to weak plastic that is not fit for purpose.

That is the problem with these headphones that is referenced may times in reviews. It will most likely happen to you at some point since it is the act of pulling the headphones open to put them on that does it. The sound is great and if you are prepared to fix or prevent the cracking then you will enjoy a great sound for a very reasonable price. I would guess most people don't notice the cracks and then only experience the snapping and assume they just broke.

The audio cable has proved to be quite sturdy. The connection between the extension and the main unit has has not degraded and the cable gets kicked around quite a bit.

So overall great sounding heaphones, well worth the money but the plastic won't survive more than a few months of constant use of being put on and taken off. This can be prevented by reinforcing the side of the silver plastic rectangle with a glue gun or similar.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2012
I thought I would share my experience with these headphones as a warning to others who might purchase them. I had raved about these headphones and other developers here had considered buying some after hearing them.

First thing is that these headphones sound really great. The bass is fantastic and they sound really crisp. They are a joy to use and are comfortable even over long sessions.

Unfortunately this means I was genuinely gutted when 5 months after I received them the right hand ear piece fell off. I assumed I had broken them somehow although I have never broken another pair of headphones in similar use. On closer examination though there appears to be a flaw in the design or the materials used on the bracket that allows the ear cup to pivot. The opposite side of the headphones showed signs of cracking as well.

Fair play to Amazon though, I was expecting a bit of a battle to return these, I obviously can't prove I didn't stand on them but they offered me a refund immediately - top service.

Bottom line is that these headphones sound great, so you will be upset if they break (and they will).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
great sound quality, do not use these for travel headphones however; mine have cracks forming in the silver plastic which supports to earphones after a few weeks in and out of a laptop bag.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2014
Great sound and comfortable but the construction of the part with plastics is problematic. Cracks appeared after 2 months of use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2012
Same as everyone else it seems. I bought these after hearing them and returning some audio technica M50s as to me they sound better and are much more comfortable but the silver plastic bracets have indeed cracked and the right one has now completely snapped producing a sharp corner that sticks in your head due to the design.

You can tell why they are cracking - there is a lot of pressure on the joint due to the way they are designed. As soon as you open them up to put them on your head you can feel the flimsy-ness at the joint.

Its such a shame as they are the near perfect headphones apart from this problem. All Denon would have to do is use a solid piece of stronger plastic or metal and it would be solved. They must know about this by now as every review states the problem.

Anyone know of any headphones that offer same comfort and sound signature as these?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here