Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 November 2017
A bit long winded at times but loved the way it easily transported me back to Bavarian Times 400yrs ago. A fabulous book made even more special knowing that the author is actually a defendant of the lead character
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Did not enjoy the period and was not a page turner for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Really enjoyed this book. Have purchased the second one in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
a bit long winded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
This was a very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I Wanted somehting different to read and this certainly delivered - a would be detective novel set in 16th century Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
A different historical drama which looks at the role the hangman played in a village. Easy to read and a pretty good thriller too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Really great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this. I came upon it as a suggestion presumably as I read quite a lot of historical crime fiction.

I found the characters well developed and realistic. It really captured for the flavour of the times, with science starting to develop but most people still hanging on to their old beliefs.

It’s set in a town still recovering from a series of witch trials a few years before and revolves around another murder where a townswoman is again accused of witchcraft. It is left to the hangman (who is also her torturer), his smart cookie daughter and the local young scientifically aware physician to solve the case and maybe save the suspect from being burnt at the stake.

If you like the Ellis Peters stories or the CJ Sanson Matthew Shardlake series then I am pretty sure you would enjoy this one too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse