Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2014
Absolutely brilliant. Staggering value for money. What a sensational selection of blues, old and new. A "must buy".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
brilliant selection of tracks, some rare and unusual. Some artists I wish I'd come across years ago. Great value for money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Don't own this album, I just want to know why Glenn Cook's review features the track listing for some other album 2 CD's and 31 songs in total. Having said that, I would appreciate someone telling the album reviewed, preferably Glenn Cook, as I would certainly buy it. May buy this one too.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the Track Listing as far as I know it together with the artists.

Please excuse any genuine mistakes or typos or spelling mistakes
(This is the second in the 'Pure' range I have done!!
CD 1
01. Cross Road Blues - Robert Johnson
02. That's All Right - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
03. The Blues Had A Baby And They Named It Rock And Roll - Muddy Waters
04. Need Your Love So Bad - Fleetwood Mac
05. Lovin' In My Baby's Eyes - Taj Mahal
06. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man - Willie Dixon
07. Death Letter Blues - Son House
08. Whitey Headed Blues - Sonny Boy Williamson
09. Crying In My Sleep - Jimmy Yancey
10. Muddy Water (A Mississippi Moan) - Bessie Smith And Her Band
11. Motherless Children - Blind Willie Johnson
12. Fort Worth And Dallas Blues - Leadbelly
13. I'm Gonna Train My Baby - Robert Lockwood
14. Seminole Blues - Tampa Red
15. Johnny B. Goode (Live) - Johnny Winters
16. Got My Mojo Workin' - Otis Span
17. River Of No Return - The Jeff Healey Band

CD 2
01. Blues For Mama - Nina Simone
02. Pride And Joy - Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble
03. Killing Floor - The Electric Flag
04. I'd Rather Go Blind - Chicken Shack (Christine Perfect (McVie) Vocals
05. Early In The Morning - Bill 'Jazz' Gillum
06. Give Me An Old, Old Lady - Bukka White
07. Baby, Please Don't Go - Big Joe Williams
08. Stormy Monday Blues - Earl Hines & His Orchestra
09. That Ain't Right - Mildred Bailey
10. Sunny Road - Roosevelt Sykes & His Original Honeydrippers
11. Bumble Bee Blues - Memphis Minnie
12. Worried Life Blues - Big Maceo Merriweather
13. Confessin' The Blues - Jimmy Witherspoon with Jay McShann & His Band
14. No More Women Blues - Lonnie Johnson
15. When the Sun Goes Down - Leroy Carr
16. Honky Tonk Train Blues - Meade Lux Leiws
17. Beer Drinkin' Woman - Memphis Slim

CD 3
01. Hard To Be - The Vaughan Brothers
02. Sawbuk - Top Topham
03. Cleanhead Blues - Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson
04. Hold Me (Just A Little Longer Tonight) - Etta James
05. Baby Don't You Think I Know - Johnny Shines
06. Everyday I Have the Blues - Joe Williams
07. Broke And Hungry Blues - Big Maceo Merriweather
08. Prowling Night Hawk - Robert Lee McCoy
09. Deep Down In The Ground - Sonny Boy Williamson
10. Rag Mama Rag - Blind Boy Fuller
11. I Love My Baby - Tommy McClennan
12. Mean Ole Frisco Blues - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
13. Sweet Home Chicago - Robert Johnson
14. Careless Love - Joe Turner
15. Friendless Blues - Bih Bill Broonzy
16. She's Makin' a Fool Out Of Me - Washboard Sam & His Washboard Band
17. Billie's Blues (I Love My Man) - Billie Holiday & Her Orchestra

CD 4

01. Howling Wolf (Live) - Muddy Waters
02. I've Got To Forget You - Jellybrad
03. Corinna - Taj Mahal
04. Let Me Miss You, Baby - Henry 'Red' Allen
05. Back O' Town Blues - Louis Armstrong & His All Stars
06. Rocks In My Bed - Duke Ellington & His Famous Orchestra
07. Brand New Wagon - Count Basie And His Orchestra
08. St. Louis Blues - Jack Teagarden's Big Eight
09. The Blues in My Flat - Benny Goodman Quartet
10. Why Don't You Do Right? (Get Me Some Money Too) - Lil Green
11. Kassie Jones, Part 1 - Furry Lewis
12. Wipe It Off - Lonnie Johnson
13. Southern Can Is Mine - Blind Willie McTell
14. Key To The Highway 70 No.1 - Brownie McGhee
15. Lend Me Your Love - Memphis Slim
16. Am I Wrong - Keb' Mo'
17. JB's Blues - Jeff Beck
(I think those people at Pure should reward me don't you??)
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
So, what do we have here? An absolutely stonking compilation of various forms of 'da blooz' ranging from the 50s right through to the turn of the century. This comp has been put together by people who appreciate the music in its various forms. Big thanks to Universal for this 20-track offering.
It starts with an outtake from 'Layla' -Mean old World, Eric on acoustic and Duane on acoustic slide, then Jonny Lang, a 15-year old! with his take on 'Good Morning Little Schoolgirl.
The quite precocious talent of Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Shame Shame Shame, recorded when he was just 18, but sounding like he's been around forever is followed by a live version of Flood Down in Texas from Stevie Ray Vaughan Montreaux '82. Robert Cray's Smoking Gun is next, then Susan Tedeschi with her self-penned 'Just Won't Burn' from her debut album of 1999, sounding not unlike Janis Joplin. [In 2000 she opened for BB King's concerts]
An evil take on 'Little Red Rooster' from Luther Allinson [on the Motown label!] is followed by an early Buddy Guy version of Willie Dixon's 'Let Me Love You Baby' then on to the Allman Bros live 'Statesboro Blues' from the Fillmore.
Now it gets really interesting. The rest of the 11 tracks were recorded between 1952 and 1969 featuring the giants of the original blues artists. Howlin' Wolf/Spoonful, Muddy Waters/Hoochie Coochie Man, Freddie King/Have You Ever Loved a Woman, Big Mama Thornton/Hound Dog, Jimmy Reed/Big Boss Man, John Lee Hooker/One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer, Koko Taylor/Wang Dang Doodle, Albert King/Born Under A Bad Sign, Etta James/Tell Mama, Bobby 'Blue' Bland/Turn on Your Love Light, and last but in no way least BB King with the heart-breakingly beautiful 'The Thrill Is Gone.
A wonderful, wonderful album, full of surprises and a credit to all the artists on it. Buy with confidence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Fab CD if you like blues music i bought this in beal street memphis tennesee and and wasnt much difference in the price love this cd i had to buy another as mislaid the one i bought in memphis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2011
Absolutely pointless having an album of mixed songs for sale, but not telling you what is on it. It's a bit like buying vegetables for dinner, but you can't look in the bag to see what you've got. Poor way of selling by Amazon, from a company noted for how good it is at everything else.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
True blues, a real classic and I don't want to write anything else so please remove this stupid word limit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.39
£13.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)