Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 August 2010
I bought this book as I am a huge fan of Guild Wars.

To be honest I was not expecting it to be particularly good but I still had to have it. As it turned out, this was a surprisingly good read.

The story is a simple linear action driven plot that can be safely and easily read by the 12+ target age group of the Guild Wars games. In fact the authors have done a very nice job of making the book both accessible to the younger reader and still exciting enough for an adult.

Fans of the games will know that there is a gap of 250 years between the settings for the original Guild Wars game and Guild Wars 2.

This story is set in that inbetween period and does a very good job of filling in the lore that happens in this time. The original Guild Wars races are all featured, along with the new and enigmatic plant-like race known as the Sylvari. There are also plently of teasers about what we might see in Guild Wars 2.

Game lore is not important to everyone who plays the game, but for me the lore of Guild Wars is what makes the game special and this book adds to that lore very nicely.

I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
Great story within the guildwars lore, would highly recommend to anyone wanting to find out more of what happened before the events of guildwars 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2012
A worthy attempt at translating the Guild Wars setting into a narrative, but there's little to disguise the fact that you're reading the book of a video game rather than a commendable work of fiction in its own right. Certainly it's a good read for enthusiasts looking to build up a more comprehensive understanding of the lore but in truth the book's not much better than fan fiction in parts and it wouldn't be overly critical to say this doesn't belong among stand-alone fantasy as it really isn't something you'd read instead of more established fantasy writers' works.

Something to kill the hours until the game's release, at least, but don't expect anything more than that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2012
Although it is technically the first book in the series, the events it covers come after those in Edge of Destiny, and it does reference parts of that book at times. Plot wise I think that it is really quite solid, and by the end of the book I felt as if I had personally gone on the journey with the adventurers themselves. If action's more your thing I can say that this book has plenty in it through out, although, if you're here hoping for more Guild Wars 2 lore, you'll probably find yourself a bit disappointed.

All in all, a good book for the price, in my opinion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2013
If you look at my review of the next book it covers this book also, in short though, the story was great, but the writing was not amazing, a lot of the words used were overused and started to grate on my every time I read them, such as "despite himself".

I wanted the book to be well written, sadly it was sub par, but because of the context I was compelled to read it through, as a story it is a brilliant little read, but the authors/editors needed to look at their work more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2012
Arenanet announced that they were going to release three books to tie in events from Guild Wars and Guild Wars 2.
Ghosts of Ascalon follows Dougal Keane a human who is sent to retrieve the Claw of the Khan-Ur ( A Charr artifact which lies in the ruins of Ascalon City) The Charr want this returned to them before they will sign a treaty of truce between the two races. Dougal teams up with another human, a Sylvari, Charr, Norn and an Asura to find and retrieve the artifact.

Ghosts of Ascalon basically tells the story of how the Humans and the Charr becomes allies, while this book isn't action packed it contains a great insight into the relationship between Humans and Charr and the struggles they have in trusting one another.

I would recommend this for any GW fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
Love this book 5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2017
Disgusting. Book came bent, damaged and torn with stickers all over it. If I couldnt ha e got a refund I would have thrown it in the bin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2012
Its a good book if you want to understand the history of Guild wars, but I'm used to better quality novels. It feels like its been written by a games developer and then passed through a good editor. If you want a good novel then this isn't it, if you want to understand some of GW2 then this is an easy way to learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2014
Not finished yet but fantastic to read if you want a reminder or a teaching on lore....

I have played the games since 2005 and this book has made a few things link up that didn't before!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here