Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 5 July 2014
I own a well aged paperback copy of Doctor's Orders and for a reasonable price was happy to double dip and have the novel on my kindle. While the story style reflects the era in which it was written it holds up very well, when an author gets the characters right then they become timeless regardless of the setting. That aside how could you not like Bones having to deal with command of the Enterprise, grumpy Admirals, Klingons, Orions and of course the three sentient races on the planet below. Diane Duane has written some of my favourite original series Star Trek, this is more light hearted but equally as enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2018
A great insight into the workings of command and its effects on Dr McCoy. Storyline is not too heavy or philosophical but makes for an interesting read to plough through. Some good humour, too, between Spock and McCoy but best if you read the book yourself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2014
This book was well written and featured a lot of intrigue.This book was published in 1990 and it still continued to be exciting and entertaining to read. It didn't seem to be outraged at all. The original plot kept the story together and it proved to be thrilling to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2013
It's a shame that this story was never made into a movie or double episode in STAR TREK proper. Thrown in the deep end, Dr McCoy has been given command of the Enterprise, after he nags Kirk about his job. Enemies start coming at him & by his wits he has to survive. THAT is the basis of a good story, & that's why I was giddy with glee that I could have an e-book version to read after thumbing through my print copy so much that it stated to fall apart. That said the ONLY criticism I can find is, THE STORY WAS TOO SHORT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2014
When Kirk goes on a diplomatic mission, he puts McCoy in charge of the Enterprise and chaos ensues. This is a fascinating look at the characters and their interaction with each other which is tested when they all end up with unexpected roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
kirk tired of mcoys bitching about the handling of the ship puts mcoy in command when kirk and spock gp on an away mission
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
I lost this book years ago, so to say I am happy to find it on kindle is an understatement. It is still a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
Quite quaint in the plot. McCoys left in charge and fun n games ensue. Read it, its def worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
cover slightly tatty but the book itself proved satisfactory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse