Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 27 April 2016
Definitely one of the best Classic Star Trek books. A bit plus for me is that the scientists actually sound like real scientists and do research that makes sense. Even linguistics is treated seriously. The result is to make the planetary survey far more interesting and believable.

A planet with three intelligent races, all interesting and original, is visited by the Enterprise. They have orders to see if the natives wish to join the Federation, but interpreting the language is difficult owing to different concepts. When Kirk makes McCoy take the helm to force him to take a break from madly studying alien biology, he has no idea that he is about to vanish and leave McCoy in charge and having to deal with everything from Klingons to Orion Pirates.

With the help of the Enterprise crew and his own knowledge of various subjects, Bones does his best to make intelligent decisions.

A must-read for McCoy fans - I love the relationship of grudging mutual respect that develops between him and the Klingon commander and also the McCoy/Spock banter which is a delight in itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
I own a well aged paperback copy of Doctor's Orders and for a reasonable price was happy to double dip and have the novel on my kindle. While the story style reflects the era in which it was written it holds up very well, when an author gets the characters right then they become timeless regardless of the setting. That aside how could you not like Bones having to deal with command of the Enterprise, grumpy Admirals, Klingons, Orions and of course the three sentient races on the planet below. Diane Duane has written some of my favourite original series Star Trek, this is more light hearted but equally as enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
It's a shame that this story was never made into a movie or double episode in STAR TREK proper. Thrown in the deep end, Dr McCoy has been given command of the Enterprise, after he nags Kirk about his job. Enemies start coming at him & by his wits he has to survive. THAT is the basis of a good story, & that's why I was giddy with glee that I could have an e-book version to read after thumbing through my print copy so much that it stated to fall apart. That said the ONLY criticism I can find is, THE STORY WAS TOO SHORT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Quite quaint in the plot. McCoys left in charge and fun n games ensue. Read it, its def worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
This book was well written and featured a lot of intrigue.This book was published in 1990 and it still continued to be exciting and entertaining to read. It didn't seem to be outraged at all. The original plot kept the story together and it proved to be thrilling to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
When Kirk goes on a diplomatic mission, he puts McCoy in charge of the Enterprise and chaos ensues. This is a fascinating look at the characters and their interaction with each other which is tested when they all end up with unexpected roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
kirk tired of mcoys bitching about the handling of the ship puts mcoy in command when kirk and spock gp on an away mission
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
It's a great idea that McCoy is left in charge in the captain's seat. I liked how the different characters were explored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I super enjoyed this book, Dr McCoy is my favourite Star Trek character and I enjoyed that the story revolved around him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I loved this book and would definitely recommend it as it was entertaining, funny and keeps up with the themes of TOS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse