Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 September 2015
This is the second book in a trilogy of stories which features a number of Star Trek entities, from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’ and ‘Voyager’ worlds. The story (and the trilogy) were written by David Mack, a prolific author in the Star Trek universe. So you know you’re in safe hands here, for continuity, characterisation and the whole Star Trek experience.

In this second book of the trilogy the action continues direct from the end of the first book, ‘Gods of Night’. The main narrative takes place in February 2381. The flashback portions tell the story of Erika Hernandez, the captain of the starship Columbia, the fate of which we saw in the first book. Hernandez’ life has taken a turn nobody could have imagined, and she is now living out the years from 1519 until she again catches up with the present day narrative of 2381. That may sound odd, but it makes sense in the context of the environment of which she has now become a part.

About two-thirds of the book seem to offer little in the way of forward motion of the narrative, with the Enterprise, Aventine and Titan starships making their own way to where they must face the biggest threat ever known – not only to the Federation, but to the Cardassians, Romulans, Klingons – every race is under direct threat from a danger that nobody really has any idea how to face. Each of the starship captains is also facing their own personal dilemmas – Picard is under threat from his past, Riker’s wife Troi is facing life and death decisions, and Dax has her own personal past to catch up with. These very personal stories, and the personal stories of the other personnel that we get to see within the Federation and with their allies, give a very ‘immediate’ emotional impact to this much larger and broader story, which is nicely balanced. It’s in the last third of the book that the action really ramps up – and what action there is. It’s all there, and I can’t imagine how all these threads can be resolved without some serious consequences in the third and final book of the trilogy, ‘Lost Souls’. I have really enjoyed this trilogy so far, and I look forward to reading the third book.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Loved it, you have to buy all three books to understand it. Loved how it had TNG cast and Voyager cast in it, deffo one of the best points, gets confusing sometimes jumping back and forth between times but i really enjoyed this book.

Ps you will need tissues, couple of teary moments there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
A good follow-up to the first part, and quite an engrossing read.
It is sometimes slightly confusing as it jumps around between 2 time-lines, but you soon get used to it and get engrossed in the story.
Another thread to the story is introduced in this book, and it is not yet clear how they all come together, including one from the first book that seems to have been forgotten (the old starship on the planet), but hopefully all will become clear in the final part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
The second book of a trilogy is almost always the hardest read, the main thrust of the story is made here and frequently they lack the action of the opener or closer.

However, Part 2 of the Destiny trilogy strikes the balance very well. It does lay down most of the ground work for the final part, but it also stands up itself, with its own action and intrigue. The excellent characters hold through from the first book and it's a compelling read.

The overall stroy remains strong, which is a highlight of the entire series.

Most of all it makes you want to carry on through and read the third book, which I did straight after!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
I am not very good at explaining things or writing reviews but this one carries on from the first book and is just as good I only wish they made this trilogy into films or they could bring back Enterprise with more of the crew of the Columbia covering the start of the Romulan war and finishing of with a few movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
This author is one of the good ones, having just finished the previous book in this series with a nice cliff-hanger I eagerly opened this book and wasn't disappointed- i'm reading these books at dinnertime at work and i'm ended up taking more than the half hour that i'm allowed because the book is a great read. Don't tell my boss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Book 2 really gets you wondering if the Federation have met their match. The Enterprise and Aventine begin to work together and the plot just keeps deepening. I loved this book and would be happy to read it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
The second novel served as a good continuation of the story - although it still had a little of the second novel in a trilogy feel to it.

The action has focused more on two of the four crews that featured in the first novel, and on one character in particular, and starts to join together the different plotlines into one.

I don't have a lot to say about this novel - it was good, kept up the pace and kept me attached. The mixture of flashback and present day scenes was well done, each in turn revealing just the right amount to keep the reader interested.

My only criticism of the series so far is its' fleeting use of the starship Voyager in both novels, which seems to be there just as a tip of the hat. There's plenty of opportunity for some emotional focus on those characters here but they only appear for a couple of scenes - hardly enough to warrant their inclusion - unless it's building up to something bigger in the finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
the destiny series, which im still reading - im half way through 'Lost souls', is excellent. David Mack is a brilliant author and has got every last detail of the star trek world in the book. the story line includes all of the major ships and captains, as well as various other characters, including their development and relevant promotions from the last time we saw them in their respective series.
the story line i wont spoil by telling you, but it is brilliant. however I'm stuck in realizing that the three books are only a small part of a larger story line, as there are references to other story lines in other books that i have yet to read.
the trilogy itself is a master work. a must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
If you're a fan of Star Trek and like reading the novels that have carried on from Nemesis, Titan series etc, then you'll like the Destiny Trilogy, of which this is Book 2. Taken as a whole, none of the books stand alone, the series is a really imaginative resolution to a problem that Picard, Janeway and others have had. It brings together TNG, DS9 and Voyager characters and brings to an end a story line that really could have run and run and would have been unsustainble and ridiculous. Well done David Mack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse