Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2014
3 one hour look at lion and their enemies,elephants,each other and hyeenas.only thing in the first part is poems as you are trying to watch ,a man speaks out bits of poetry,apart from that a good dvd,not the british one I was /still am looking for,but good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
This dvd is one of my top 10. Three stories that will have you glued to the screen. Never seen it like this before, Raw and Exciting
Absolutely loved it !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 September 2011
This is a natural life documentary at its best. The quality of images is not fantastic but good enough and
it is absolutely fascinating to watch lions going around their "business" , without the
interference of a presenter trying to be funny, talking about their personal lives
and appearing more on screen than the real
subject of the documentary, as in many documentaries made in the last 5-8 years.

It is refreshing to watch this documentary about lions that is actually
about lions.

I watched it many years ago and asked for a friend to record it. She did, vhs, but she used
that 6 hours economy mode and the copy turned out to be unwatchable.

Now, finally, National Geographic is bringing this excellent series of documentaries to dvds.

One word of warning. Nature can be very cruel and many
scenes, such as lions eating a zebra alive, will be too uncomfortable for some to watch.
But, then again, there are far worse things on daily news.
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Saw the Lions v Hyenas about 15 years ago while on holiday in Italy, it is still the most amazing wildlife programme I have ever seen! I was moved to track down a copy of the dvd after reading the lion, He Who Brings Fire, can't remember his African name, had been shot by poachers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
The DVD contains 3 documentaries:
1) Ultimate enemies - run time: around 60 mins, about a pride of lions which preys on elephants, including mature ones.
2) Eternal enemies - run time: around 60 mins, about the conflict between lions and hyenas.
3) Relentless enemies - run time: around 90 mins, about a pride of lions in Okavango which specializes in preying on only one herd of buffaloes.
I find the 1st and 2nd ones informative and interesting. Apart from showing the relationship between the species they also shows how those animals socialize and cooperate, providing some soft moments among many violent scenes. The video quality is a bit low due to their ages, but that does not prevent me from enjoying them.
The 3rd one is less interesting with disjointed narrative. The script is sometimes exaggerated and contrived, for example when following a hunt there are phrases like "the setup is perfect", "this is exactly like the lions expected", etc., but then the lions failed. Overall, this is still a very worth seeing DVD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Actually, this DVD contains three movies in one disc.

1) Ultimate Enemies (Audio: English 2.0; Subtitles: English);
2) Eternal Enemies (Audio: English 2.0; Subtitles: English);
3) Relentless Enemies (Audio: English 2.0; Subtitles: English).

The best of them is Eternal Enemies (lions vs hyenas), that is a must see: see a lioness and her small cubs being attacked by a poisonous snake while hyena cubs fight to death (only one will survive). The lion's pride is attacked by another pride and the result may be death. The leader hyena annoys the dominat lion, that is much bigger than her. I am very glad that this DVD has been released. Although it is an old movie, it's really worth seeing.
review image
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This dvd is a must for lion lovers. My only complaint would be the commentary by Jeremy Irons on the 1st and 3rd disc.Personally I didn't think his poetic description suited the scenes unfolding.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Really enjoy this movie I think it's the best one I've seen yet.thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Bought for my grandson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here