Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Zara Larsson Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2004
A truly wonderful book that had my full attention from start to finish, It brought tears of sadness to my eyes reading about the few minutes of young Freddy Greenwoods' life, but these were eventually replaced with tears of happiness with the birth of little Archie. A wonderful read for anyone who likes the guy, written quite frankly and with admiration for his family, his friends and his love for the sport.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
Will Greenwood is one of my favorite rugby players so I had to read this book even if I'd rather sports stars write once their careers are complete. Fair play to Will though--he and whatever ghost writer he used have done a good job writing a sports autobiography. Stories about pet turtles and the nice BMX bike they had at age 13 are left out to concentrate on rugby. Though Will mentions his parents and siblings, it's only the bare minimum. He knows you want to read about the rugby so it's the rugby he gives you. Greenwood concentrates most on the 1997 Lions Tour and the 2003 Rugby World Cup. He also writes about the tragic premature birth and death of his son Freddie, a very moving passage that had more than a few tears well up in my eye. Since we are STILL awaiting some kind of fly-on-the-wall documentary about the 2003 World Cup triumph, Greenwood's account about the aftermath of the win is very welcome. I certainly enjoyed his telling of the bus encounter with Wallaby supporters as they left Telstra Stadium. My only disappointment, was that after having watched the England's Story DVD, where Will set a world record in the use of the world "crikey," there's not one use of it in this book!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2005
As a sport-mad person, I read a lot of autobiographies, including Gazza, Matt Dawson, John McEnroe, Jonny Wilkinson, amongst others, and I've enjoyed them all, but Will is a step above the rest. He portrays himself as a regular person who in many ways has been exceptionally lucky, but in others has been very unlucky. He proves himself to be a very witty writer and a very good story-teller. Ok everyone knows how we won the world cup thanks to Jonny, but no-one had experienced the highs and lows of life during the tournament more than Will Greenwood, he had made a round the world trip to see his sick pregnant wife after scoring the winning try against the South-Africans. He gives a personal and thourough account of what he was going through. The book can make you cry in places, but it makes you laugh in more. A brilliant account of the world cup and how much effort and commitment is needed to achieve the triumph. YWhen you've read the book and it ends with the world cup win (sorry if I spoilt the end!!) and the birth of his son, you just get the overwhelming feeling that it couldn't have happened to a nicer guy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2005
Having read many sports autobiographies and biographies, this is out amongst the best,A very funny,sad and personal account of his rugby and personal life, i loved the little secrets and anecdotes, and descriptions of the players and the world of rugby, martin johnson may have been the captain, but I dont think the squad would have been as succesful without the likes of will and his personality.
Buy the book, you will laugh and cry, great read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
Will has saved us going over the stats of games which is good if like me you have read quite a few rugby books already. Instead we are left with accounts of his life as a player etc.
Its a casual read as he writes as if hes speaking to a mate down the pub. But, it is also funny, especially if you're a Tigers fan like me. The stories of Austin Healey alone make it worth reading! The guy's hilarious.
Will certainly doesn't hold back when talking about players and off the feild stories which is refreshing. Had he been a football player I doubt the book would survive in this edition.
He also puts rugby/sport into perspective when he tells us of the troubles with his wife and children. The only problem I have is the design of the cover. The type and imagery are so messy. Its trivial but im an art student so forgive me! Last thought: To be fair, I did read this book in about 4 hrs without puttin it down.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2006
Without a doubt one of the best autobiographies i have read, couldn't put it down!The book works because its open and honest,and i just didnt realise how funny Will Greenwood is!Its written in a laid back style, which means you don't have to concentrate too hard when your reading it, its almost like he's telling the story to a mate. I also thought it was good because it shows the highs and lows of being a professional rugby player, and it also gave me a new incite as to just how prepared the England team were for the World cup. The whole book just flowed and I was disappointed when it finished!great book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2005
Easily one of the best autobiographies i have read hands down. At times hilarious and at times desperatley sad. his account of his son Freddie's death always gets me down and nealry gets me crying(i'm a guy). his view on rugby on and off the pitch is fantastic and his stories on Austin Healey are some of the funniest you could find. Also when Lewis Moody(Mongo) told on of the most important people in Australia to f**k off, i almost fell out of my chair. what a book and what a guy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
As expected with Mr Greenwood - a suitably candid telling of life as an up and coming and then fully professional international rugby player. Be prepared to be shocked by his openness surrounding tragic (and near tragic) events in his own life, the non-politicized and often eye opening view of opponents and team mates alike and his unique insight into the events leading up to and including his career pinnacle in November 2003 in Sydney.
Honest at every turn - this isn't your run of the mill "I went to school, found I was quite good at rugby and then played it for a living" biography, its a roller coaster of emotion, personal slants on events and people that have been heavily documented previously - more often than not in a purely factual way.
It'll make you laugh out loud, it'll make you think and quite possibly it could make you cry.
Most of all it will make you understand Will Greenwood, the person, as much as Will Greenwood the rugby player.
And that's never a bad thing.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
I enjoyed this. A little repetitive at times but the emotions of Will Greenwood's of the field life is extremely honest and touching. Good insight into a professional rugby player at the start of the modern game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
Autobiographies of great rugby players inevitably tend to follow a similar pattern and, to some extent that is what the reader expects; he wants to know what actually happened, what the writer was thinking and feeling as events unfolded - to feel at the centre of the action - and, of course, he wants to know about the extras: the bits which never found their way into the media and the truth or otherwise of some that did. This is a well written book with a light touch which ticks all the above boxes. The narrative keeps moving, avoids getting bogged down in too much detail whilst providing enough of the background and there are some excellent touches of humour scattered throughout which help to maintain interest. The writer's tendency to ascribe much of his success to good fortune is as endearing as the manifestation of his northerner's forthrightness but, above all, his love of life and of rugby - despite setbacks and real traumas - is imbued within the pages and is what makes for a really enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)