Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
181
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2015
I bought Speak Now not as a new Taylor Swift fan looking for more music but as a longstanding fan who was only buying it to round out my collection - but I was pleasantly surprised. In typical Taylor fashion, many of the songs on here sing from the heart (such as Enchanted and Mine) but there are also more biting songs such as Mean which challenge the listener to ignore their critics and to carry on being the best person they can be.

Admittedly not every song on here is fantastic. Specifically, I was put off by the lyrics of Better Than Revenge which seemed to insult a woman for her dating habits and her sexual promiscuity, a stance that isn't in line with Taylor's new found respect for women (regardless of who or how much they date).

Overall, Speak Now is a good album and it's her final 'full country' release before 2012's Red album. So if that's the sort of Taylor music you're after, you should certainly buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
This album as a whole is entertaining, however if you are buying the album retrospectively as a recent Taylor fan (red onwards), you will find the album has a more country-pop feel and there are not many individual hits on it (only two really well known).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
the lyrics in the 'Deluxe' booklet are really hard to read, I suppose I will have to download them, but I shouldn't have to !

So we have 1.5mm text in a pastel font colour over a photograph background, VERY difficult to read for older 'fans', oh and random capital letters, so cool... NOT. Really people you must be able to do better than this for an artist this good. If Miss Swift was responsible then I will soak my head in a bucket in embarrassment and confusion.

Back to the reading glasses and strong light...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
My favourite Taylor Swift album, with my favourite track of hers - Enchanted. Chock full of Taylor story-songs, shot through with humour and some really quite brilliant lyrics. Anyone who doesn't like Taylor Swift should pull their head out of their behind and enjoy some perfect pop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
This album contains 2 cd's, and disc 2 includes a documentary and music video. The first disc has 14 tracks on it, while the second disc has 8 songs; 2 of which are acoustic tracks, 3 are U.S. versions of other tracks, and there is also a 30 minute documentary showing 'behind the scenes' of the making of the 'Mine' Video, plus the video of Mine itself.

Over all, it is well worth the purchase if you like Taylor Swift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Taylor Swift has a fine voice. She writes great songs too.
Ms Swift also fills a gap. For those of us who loved and
still wish that Shania Twain was active in the listening
world Ms Swift slips into the gap where pop and country
hold hands with admirable ease and skill. 'Speak Now is
a splendid album. There are a generous fourteen tracks in
the collection and I wouldn't want to lose one of them
(even the decidedly dodgy acoustic guitar tuning on 'Dear John'
can be forgiven because it's such a cracking composition!).

Producer Nathan Chapman takes care of the proceedings with
a light touch and a good sense of musical judgement about
what to keep in and what to leave out. Ms Swift's voice is
always well-forward in the mix where it belongs and she is
ably assisted by a top-notch bunch of supporting players.

Whether in the stripped-down playful bluegrass magic of a
simple song like 'Mean'; the rock 'n' rolling powerhouse
treatment of 'Sparks Fly'; the string-soaked epic treatment
of 'Haunted', or the raucous mayhem of 'Better Than Revenge'
(a nicely brash and bitter little piece of spite!) Ms Swift
delivers the goods effortlessly and with convincing chutzpah!

The album's quieter moments, however, are the key to what makes
this young performer particularly special. Ms Swift knows exactly
how to dish out a good ballad and there are more than a few here
to bring a lump to our throats and a tear or two to our eyes.
In the "Kleenex" moments she unerringly ensures that we are on her
side and rooting for her! The aforementioned 'Dear John' is a
particularly good example of how to manage a break-up song without
resorting to cheap effects and hollow emotion. It's a stunner!
'Innocent' and 'Last Kiss' both tug at the heartstrings too.
The former is one of the finest and darkest songs of her career so-far;
the latter a composition which manages to generate a surprisingly mature
sense of pathos and an honest articulation of longing and regret.

The unaffected pleasure and naive vision of 'Never Grow Up' is the
icing on the cake. It is a loving and truly beautiful performance.

Despite the glamour, the gloss and the glittering prizes let
us not be in any doubt that Taylor Swift is the real deal.
'Speak Now' is one of the most solidly enjoyable albums of the year.

Highly Recommended.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
OMG............
THis album is one of her best yet....every song is fantastic.
the best has to be 'better than revenge'
taylor has outdone herself with this album can't stop listening to it!!!!
10/10 for this one!!!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Taylor is tops for angst ridden songs of past conquests, loves and failures.
She sure has packed a lot in her first 20 years.

A little more country than her later albums but still great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I came across Taylor Swift one day while my parents are on holiday. I was totally surprised, kind of expecting her to be another one of the same rubbish old 'pop artists', but she is absolutely brilliant. I could listen to her voice all day and the songs on this album really show it off as well. Impressive album. There aren't any songs that I don't like, I definitely have not started skipping any yet. Stand out tracks for me are 'Sparks Fly' 'Speak Now' and 'Long Live'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2010
Non "Country" critics may decry Taylor Swift; it may be that her lyrics rarely seem to stray from the stereotypical country topics, or if they do they are chiefly concerned with the latest boy who is giving her trouble; it may be that people feel her music is designed for and marketed to teenage girls; it maybe just the feeling that the modern day Nashville conveyer belt of Country music can't possibly be conducive to producing anything with heart or soul. Well, I don't know about that. All I know is that once again Taylor Swift has delivered a winning album.

It's true, mind you, that you would be hard pressed to find anything on Speak Now that couldn't have come from her previous album Fearless but as the old adage goes, if it isn't broke don't fix it. There's an extra heavy guitar edge applied to a couple of tracks but that's about it as far as "differences" go.

Yet whilst watching Swift in concert might still lead to despair - nothing to do with her excellent singing, but rather the melodramatic introductions to songs and the constant "boys can be bad" message - when her songs are listened to in isolation they can be genuinely affecting. I wouldn't say I was crying at any point but if it was the end of a depressing day and I was drowning my sorrows over a beer or two, it wouldn't be beyond the realms of possibility.

At her best Swift parlays genuine emotion into touching songs about love, and lost love. If you haven't "got" Taylor Swift before this point, Speak Now is not going to suddenly make you change you mind. If however, like me, you are not adverse to a slice of "modern country" and have found much to enjoy on Swift's previous efforts you will once again find much to enjoy here.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.00
£3.00
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)