Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
157
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2010
I viewed this using the Samsung LE40C750 and Samsung blu-ray player. It is the first 3D title I've watched where things really do come "out" of the screen causing you to duck or try and reach out to grab. The best example happening within the first 4 minutes where some 3D animation is compostied with the 3D footage. There are a few other sections with a nice white water boat section where the water splashes appears like they are on the lens of your specs.

The movie itself is basically a personal journey with Robert Reddford down the Colorado river with a warning to viewers about the importance of preservation and reducing water consumption. To be honest although the message is truely valid it is not really the reason you'll buy this. As I have said the 3D imagery is amazing and will show your TV of to the iMax ;).

As far as a documentary this doesn't really do much and there are better information sources out there.

Overall this is a good example of 3D in the home but doesn't have much replay value. You will put it on for anyone that hasn't seen 3D TV in action and that is about it. Watch it once and you are unlikely to watch it again. It has made me consider other IMax titles with more focus on the subject as opposed to the narrator that may have a little more lasting appeal. It would be probably safe to say that most IMax credited titles have similar levels of 3D effects so I'd advise you to pick one of those based on your prefered topic and get that as your demo disc.

For those that haven't ventured into the 3D market yet avoid this one until you do. There are much better documentaries out there with stunning visuals without getting what is basically a lengthy 3D tech demo.

Now if only the BBC had done Planet Earth in 3D.
11 comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
First 3D experience on my brand new telly was Monsters VS Aliens and i was left not impressed. One moment i even thought that 3D really is nothing great... but when i saw Grand Canyon in 3D me and my wife were left speechless. This is the way forward in home cinema. Absolutely stunning scenery and 3D is working as good as i was imagining in my wildest dreams. haha, sounds like cheap poetry but all i said is true.
Highly recommend to watch this if you have one of those 3D sets at home. Now cant wait for more IMAX movies!!!! Thumbs up!!!
77 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
It was like a real jurney to Grand Canyon. The 3D effects are so amazing that you almost feel the water spashing on your face! Beautiful colours, 1080p 3D picture and great soundtrack. The moment when you are flying above Las Vegas is breathtaking. Watched it on Samsung 3D TV and Playstation 3.
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
I visited the Grand Canyon not long ago, and took lots of picture, but pictures can't quite capture the real experience. I thought that this film is the closest to capturing this experience. The panoramic takes are breathtaking, and the rafting scenes are quite cool too.
I must warn you that although it is an interesting documentary, it does not have thrilling action scenes or 3D stunts designed to make you jump out of your seat.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
Great 3D film to show off your 3D TV, but also a really interesting and informative film about the grand canyon. Great scenary - well worth buying, I can't wait until other Imax 3D films are released!
55 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
If like me you've bought your 3D TV, and now you want to watch something in 3D, but not another cartoon, this is for you.
it's a serious documentary/expedition following the river through the Grand Canyon. You get to ride the rapids, roll with the crew as they battle the currents, and see the evidence of the disappearing watermark from the cliff faces, from a closer viewpoint.
The photography is amazing, with the 3D giving depth to the pictures of scenery and ancient places, even comparing old origional 3D taken photos to present Day scenes.
The Disc will work as a 2D Blue Ray,on a normal TV. but to see it at its best then try it on a 3D TV (a 3D Blue Ray Player is also needed)

stevansam
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
Just watched this for the first time tonight.I watched it on my own, then luckily my wife came in an I had the chance to watch it all over again.it really is beautiful to watch ( Sony bravia) and what impressed me was the music score.at times the hairs on the back of my neck would stand up. The 3D itself is first class.
The actual documentary was really enjoyable can't wait for more. I also thought Robert Redford narration added to the documentary
Could do with more 3d films/documentaries like this.
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
Just to let everyone know I purchased a copy of this Blu Ray Film, the scenery and details are really worth seeing, I can not wait to get some more of these IMAX Adventure style Blu Ray Movies
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have become a bit of a 3D addict, i think it really enhances my viewing pleasure and have
consequently built up a decent library of 3D blu-rays.
This is amongst my top 5.
It has an interesting and informative commentary by Robert Redford, but the real prize winner is
the photography.
the Grand Canyon is one of the true wonders of this world. I have been lucky enough to see it for real.
This 3D IMAX is the next best thing. Vibrant, colourful well edited and interesting. The photography is stunning.
this makes a fantastic show on conventional T.V. but in 3D it will blow you away.
Simply incredible, brilliant 3D. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
IMAX 3D: GRAND CANYON ADVENTURE: RIVER AT RISK [2008] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] Originally Created For Exhibition in IMAX Theatres!

From the makers of ‘EVEREST' comes a powerful and cautionary film about the threat to one of America's most iconic landscapes. Follow the great Colorado River as it reveals the most pressing environmental story of our time, the world's growing shortage of fresh water. Join environmental advocates Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. and Wade Davis as they travel deep into the Grand Canyon on a thrilling ride through raging rapids and breath-taking canyons. With stunning photography and sweeping aerial shots with the renowned filmmakers capture all the majesty of the Colorado and The Grand Canyon in the largest film format ever made.

Narrated by Academy Award® winning filmmaker, actor and noted environmentalist Robert Redford and Wade Davis. Featuring the songs and music from the GRAMMY Award-winning Dave Matthews Band. This film will leave you with a deeper respect for rivers and water everywhere and the realization of how ordinary people can make a difference for our parched planet.

Originally conceived, photographed and released in ultra-high-resolution IMAX® 3D process. The 3D image is optimised for home viewing by scanning the original 15/70 image at an 8K resolution for this 3D Blu-ray release. This 3D Blu-ray will play on a standard Blu-ray player.

FILM FACT: The film won Best Cinematography of the Year and a Special Achievement in Filmmaking Award for the opening 3D title sequence from the Giant Screen Cinema Association. It also won a Golden Reel Award for Best Sound Editing by the Motion Picture Sound Editors USA and was nominated for a VES Award for Outstanding Visual Effects by the Visual Effects Society.

Cast: Tara Davis, Wade Davis, Steve Fisher, Nikki Kelly, Robert Kennedy Jr., Kick Kennedy, Kristin Kuckelman, Dale Regan, Tanya Shuman, Shana Watahomigie, Anthony Yap, Robert Redford (Narrator) and Flo Di Re (Additional narration)

Director: Greg MacGillivray

Producers: Anne Marie Hammers, Basil Moore, Chat Reynders, Christopher N. Palmer, Kathy Almon, Greg MacGillivray, Harrison Smith, Mark Krenzien and Shaun Macgillivray

Screenplay: Jack Stephens and Stephen Judson

Composers: Dave Matthews Band, Stefan Lessard and Steve Wood

Cinematography: Brad Ohlund, Greg MacGillivray, Jack Tankard and Ron Goodman (Ariel Photography)

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio. English: 2.0 Dolby Digital Stereo and French: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English

Running Time: 45 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT / MacGillivray Freeman Films

Andrew's 3D Blu-ray Review: ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River At Risk' combines exhilarating river-rafting action on America's most iconic river with and the grandeur of the Grand Canyon to tell an engaging story of how ordinary people can make a difference for our parched planet, one that is running out of clean, fresh water. Taking audiences on this illuminating rafting trip are two environmental heroes: world-renowned river advocate Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and author, anthropologist and explorer Wade Davis, accompanied by their daughters Kick Kennedy and Tara Davis. They are guided by Shana Watahomigie, a member of the Havasupai tribe and the first Native American to become a National Park Ranger and river guide.

IMAX 3D, when used appropriately, can be as dynamic a visual experience as one can hope to witness. In ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk,’ this is proven from the moment go. Rushing down the rapids of the Colorado River, the film's credit sequence appears on drops of water that spray towards you. The Dave Matthews Band, a well-chosen source for the movie's soundtrack, keeps the mood upbeat, and, like the kayaks and rafts that we follow through the movie's journey, propelling forward. This IMAX film is a gorgeous stunning film and you can be assured, it looks totally spectacular, but the films topic is quite grave, especially on the impending environmental issue as well. The truth is that the Colorado River, like so many rivers around the world, is experiencing a drought that literally threatens its total existence, unless the world wakes up.

The film follows anthropologist Wade Davis and his daughter, Tara Davis, as they photograph and follow the river through the Grand Canyon. Also along for the trip are Robert Kennedy, Jr., son of the senator and a long-time environmental activist, and his daughter Kathleen Kennedy. Early in the film, Robert Kennedy, Jr. reflects on how meaningful it is to share this particular adventure with his daughter, who is just preparing to leave for college. Footage of his father taking him to the Grand Canyon when he was roughly the same age makes this moment more resonant.

The crew has as its river guide Shana Watahomigie, the first Native American to become a National Park Service river guide and ranger in the Grand Canyon, and whose ancestors have lived along the Colorado River for centuries. Her knowledge of the river at every turn is impressive. At the beginning of the film, Shana must leave her daughter, too young to make the trip, behind. However, showing these cross-generational relationships in the context of this adventure delivers a clear message: we owe it to our children to insure their access to our natural resources. Clearly, so much is in the balance. A stirring score, featuring songs and music from the Grammy Award® winning Dave Matthews Band, sets the mood for this adventure that explores the issues, presents real solutions, and delivers an uplifting message of hope for future generations.

The film is just one in a series of 10 IMAX films regarding our planet's water like `The Living Sea' and `Dolphins' are two others, and produced by the MacGillivray Freeman Films, a production company committed to its environmentalist message as well as to excellence in IMAX film making. In addition to the film's beautiful cinematography, its adroit editing, and the aforementioned soundtrack, Robert Redford's exceptional narration is also worth mentioning. In addition to the expertise of both Wade Davis and Robert Kennedy Jr., Robert Redford, like Al Gore, gives the film a an authenticity that can only come from someone with his level of commitment to environmentalism.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River At Risk' on this Blu-ray Disc certainly benefits from having gone through the process of being scanned at 8k before any blow-ups or processing was done for this awesome aspect ratio 1.78:1 high definition transfer. The results here are truly breath-taking, with an extremely high level of perceived resolution at Blu-ray's standard 2k depth. The pixels seem denser, the source looks immaculately clean, sharp and detailed, and the colour reproduction is so vibrant it is almost like looking through a window. This presentation is evidence that the best 70mm film handled well rivals or even exceeds the best high definition recording techniques available today in terms of resolution. What really gets you in the mood before the film starts is the impressive ‘Grand Canyon Adventure' Titles before you start the film.

3D Blu-ray Audio Quality – With its awesome 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River At Risk' is very engaging for an IMAX feature from the MacGillivray Freeman Films. The surround mix is filled with the thunderous sounds of rushing rapids throughout the soundstage and the lively music of the Dave Matthews Band mixed discretely into the five main channels is used effectively to give weight to the sound effects when necessary, and dialogue is clear and cleanly balanced in the centre channel. What is also very impressive is the female narrator at the start of the film gives you a fantastic surround audio adventure with all your speakers being used.

3D Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature Documentary: The Making of Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk [2008] [480i] [4:3] [33:40] This is an in-depth look at the behind-the-scenes look at the making of this awesome IMAX 3D film. But of course it explains the thinking behind this spectacular film, and we get contributions from people like Greg MacGillivray [Director/Producer]; Stephen Judson [Editor/Co-writer]; Wade Davis [Author/Anthropologist]; Tara Davis [Wade's Daughter]; Robert F. Kennedy Jr. [Environmentalist Activist]; Brad Ohlund [Director of Photography]; Rob Walker [Assistant Cameraman]; Mark Krenzien [Producer]; Stefan Lessard [Bassist, Dave Mathews Band]; Steve Wood [Composer]; Alan Markowitz [Visual Effects Producer]. What comes out of this brilliant documentary, is the reason why they decided to make this IMAX 3D film and it is to promote the environmental impact that humans are causing on a grand scale in depleting the Colorado River, especially the ever growing population of Las Vegas and surrounding area, where people do not realise what dangers are before them by 2020, as there could be an environmental disastrous bombshell. So to highlight the problems, Greg MacGillivray though that the IMAX 3D would be the ideal film format to show people what humans are causing so many problems and to hopefully save the Colorado River. You also get to hear about the awesome logistics in filming in the IMAX 3D format, especially how big and heavy the cameras are and how they were able to film the trip down the dangerous rapids. We also hear why Greg MacGillivray decided to use the Dave Mathews Band that features the songs and music throughout the film. So all in all this is a totally brilliant documentary and must watch. The only shame that they could not of been able to film it is the 1080p encoded image and also the 1.78:1 aspect ratio.

Special Feature: A Message From TEVA [2008] [1080p] [1.78:1] 5:56] The TEVA company is proud to support this conservation environmental film and a company to raising awareness and stewardship of our world's natural places and have included this series "The Naturist," for your amusement and they warn you not to try this where you live. What you get to see is this guy wandering around a woodland area, who is not given any credit, shows you what not to do when it comes to enjoying the nature environment, like taking some honey from a bees hive, but gets badly stung profusely, so to counteract this he shows you how to eat poison ivy and how to apply it to your face to counteract the stings, but you get to see his face becomes a right old mess, so tells you not to try this. But you also get 2 other short films, on how to survive with nature, but as you will see this guy gets into more serious troubles, so again the message becomes very clear, do not copy what you view on how to survive the same sort of environment.

Special Feature: Water Saving Tips from KOHLER! [2008] [1080p] [1.78:1] [2:50] This is more like an info advert, and is introduced by David Kohler, who is the Executive Vice President informs us the best ways on saving water and that the Company has been in business for 135 years.

Special Feature: Tara's Music Video: Water [2008] [480i] [4:3] [4:06] Tara Davis appears in the film with her father, but we are informed that she is wonderful vocalist/songwriter [you must be joking] Tara along with her band "The Engine Room" create the song title "Water" for the ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure' 3D Blu-ray. Sadly Tara Davis is so out of tune and flat as a pancake and I cannot understand how they allowed her into the recording studio, but the only bonus is that you clips from the IMAX 3D film and also some behind-the-scenes you don't get to see elsewhere and on top of all that, the sound is totally atrocious. Definite thumbs down verdict for me and should have been left out of the extras.

Special Feature: Sample The Film Soundtrack: Once Greg MacGillivray began shooting ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk' he knew that the film would need some special and evocative music, music that could stand up to the excitement of the white-water action and convey the vital importance of the worldwide water crisis. When the Dave Mathews Band, with their indelible melodies, propulsive rhythms and moving lyrics, agreed to use some of their hits for the film, the film producers were thrilled. The Dave Mathews Band bassist Stefan Lessard and composer Steve Wood recruited Carter Beauford and Boyd Tinsley, as well as frequent collaborator Tim Reynolds, long time Dave Mathews Band friend Richard hardy, who plays the Native American flute, legendary steel guitar player Greg Leisz and guitarist Michael Hamilton. Stefan Lessard and Steve Wood play bass and keyboards, guitar and harmonica respectively. Steve Wood, who has worked on many IMAX® Theatre musical scores for film director Greg MacGillivray, and Stefan Lessard arranged and recorded variations of six Dave Mathews Band songs and together created new compositions for the film. The CD soundtrack is also available for purchase at selected IMAX® Theatres and online at www.amazon.com and they have included two audio tracks only for your listening pleasure, which are entitled "Grand Canyon Railway" and "Lava Falls."

Special Feature: About The Director Greg MacGillivray: Greg MacGillivray film career spans more than 40 years. As a cinematographer, he has shot more 70mm films than anyone else in history, and more than two million feet in length. Greg MacGillivray has directed and produced many of the most successful large format films of all time, including `Everest,' the highest grossing film in the giant screen industry, ‘Dolphins,' `The Living Sea' and `Coral Reef Adventure.' Greg MacGillivray has received two Academy Award® nominations and the highest honour bestowed by the Museum of Science, Boston, the Bradford Washburn Award, for his contribution to science education. In 2001, `To Fly!' was inducted into the IMAX hall of Fame, followed by `The Living Sea' six years later. To learn more about the director and MacGillivray Freeman Films, then please visit www.macgillivrayfreemanfilms.com and you will get to view a very nice web site. What you also get with “About The Director Greg MacGillivray” is the Greg MacGillivray Filmography List and the films he has been involved with, and you start with ‘Arabia' [2010] and go through to the start of his career with ‘A Cool Wave of Color' [1964] and there are a total of 32 film titles listed.

Trailer Show: Here we get to view 16 Spectacular IMAX Theatrical Trailers and they are as follows:

The Alps [2007] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:30]

Dinosaurs Live [2007] 1080p] [1.78:1] [1:20]

Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk [2008] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:42]

Hurricane on the Bayou [2006] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:33]

Journey Into Amazing Caves [2001] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:24]

Mummies: Secrets of the Pharaohs [2007] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:52]

Ride Around The World [2006] [480i] [4:3] [2:08]

Volcanoes of the Deep Sea [2003] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:48]

Super Speedway [2000] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:42]

Fighter Pilot: Operation Red Flag [2004] [1080p] [1.78:1] [00:40]

Amazon [1997] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:48]

The Living Sea [1995] [1080p] [1.78:1] [2:10]

Dolphins [2000] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:54]

Coral Reef Adventure [2004] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:44]

The Magic of Flight [1996] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:32]

Van Gogh [2009] [1080p] [1.78:1] [1:34]

Finally, ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk' is a breathtakingly-filmed IMAX 3D presentation that abounds with gorgeous photography of some of the Earth's most precious natural resources. Though the message sometimes overwhelms the imagery, and especially reinforces the film's profound message and seems to make it all the more timely, particularly considering that the 3D imagery and especially the latest high definition technology only further enhances our natural wonders of the area and deliver the next-best sensation to actually being there. This 3D Blu-ray release of `Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk' looks totally fantastic and is also an equally awesome sensation with the raft ride down the Colorado River and definitely this Blu-ray release deserves to be included in everyone's 3D Blu-ray collection. ‘IMAX 3D: Grand Canyon: River at Risk' is one of several IMAX 3D titles now making its way to 3D Blu-ray releases from the folks at IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT, and it is also one of the best. And it is also "the most pressing environmental story of our time" as the Blu-ray Cover informs us, especially maintaining our planet's fresh water supply is an important issue and it's one we should all be more mindful of. And with this disc's impressive 3D visuals, I find myself for the first time eager to see where the 3D Blu-ray discs might go from here. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)