Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
Although the writer goes into a of of detail with the science descriptions the story is self was pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
I read this book in about a day because I couldn't put it down. Well written and fast paced and very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Loved every page. novel story line. interesting characters.
in my top 10 si-fi books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Dull, incredibly clunky, like a mash up of half a dozen hard science fiction writers. Thankfully this was a free offer. Having to pay for this would have been so dispiriting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
ok nothing to rave about passes the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
I enjoyed the book and felt that it was written in a 'Robert Heinlein' style - the characters, reasonably easy going storyline and the setting (The Moon is a Harsh Mistress/Podkayne of Mars/Have Spacesuit Will Travel).
Well worth the read and interesting (even if the idea of an element far heavier than current known elements (114) is a little hard to believe).
For Kindle readers - few if any typos and will allow Text to Voice.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
I wondered at the start if this book was targeted at younger readers. I don't think so now, but some aspects did make me feel that way initially. Nothing in the book would preclude younger readers but they will not be it's only audience.
The blending of traditional beliefs and modern thinking has been done before, and it can take many paths. This first book sets the scene and shows some of the costs when pushing against new frontiers, but it does not reveal the longer term consequences of interstellar travel.
I'll be reading the second book to find out whether the prophecies are fulfilled or perhaps reinterpreted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
This is pretty good easy reading SF, certainly enjoyable, and with a fairly well thought out background.

It traces the history of teenager Alex Manez who becomes accidentally involved in the discovery of a substance that has the potential to trigger huge social and economic changes for the human race.

Alex's adventures take him across the solar system, and culminate in a final confrontation with the people in power.

This is perfectly good SF. Although not quite as original as the classics, it's still engaging and thought-provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
I downloaded this as it was either free of very low price and I have run out of books on the "Rivers of London" series. On some of the review sites the pseuds have had a go a go at the science in the book, but I look more at the second word - fiction.

The basic story is well thought out and any possible plot holes and pages of waffle are filled with news report style mini-paragraphs. All in all a good read and I downloaded for minimal cost the other two books in the trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
Some interesting ideas obviously intended to lead the reader into buying the next book, but a bit too much jumping about the various plotlines for my taste. Instead of keeping me involved it tended to turn me off. And, as Mrs L. K. said, there are inconsistencies that take your mind off the story: if the crew wiped all the Orcus 1 programs before the “pirates” attacked, how did they then manage to control it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse