Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2012
Having watched and enjoyed SOA, I was intrigued about the prospect of reading about Biker Gangs here in the UK. I enjoy crime novels and the low Kindle price made this a no-brainer of a purchase. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, learned a little more of the biker culture and found the biographical/documentary style fun - made me feel more involved. Damage becomes an anti-hero but by the time he has gone 'too far' you remain rooting for him.

For a few quid to bung on your kindle for a holiday read you can't do better.

Would make an excellent TV mini-series ait even has the vintage 80's/90's setting that seems popular for dramas these days.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
the 3 book s are okay for a wet uk weekend, when you want a quick read to fill your time, instead of riding your bike.
do a Kindle buy, and you don't even have to get cold toes going to the door for the post.
If I was 18 again I would get the rags on, ring the lads up, score a bag of herbs and few cans, pack the old lady on the bitch pad and go out for a run... but i'm not 18, i'm 56 the diabetes won't let me drink. the doc says the herb will send me madder than I am.
And any how she's 16 stone now not 16 years old, the bikes out of petrol and I have to get a 2nd mortgage to fill him up.
my water proofs are a bit tight round the middle. (very tight says a voice from the kitchen)
AKA ' Old beetroot belly' like the mere cat on TV.
so I will sit in and look at the nasty weather the UK has to offer....
And dream about a well spent youth.
Doris wheres my skins. nope the king sized Iv'e made me sen reet fed up.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A gritty tale with none of that Sons of Apathy crap. Respect to all those who ride free and live their lives the way they want to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
All good no problems great read.Keeps you guessing right to the last page I put it down and had a log think about what I just read.All credit to the author had I known before what the book was I wouldnt have bought it give it a go youll enjoy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Read it in one sitting. Couldn't put it down. Parke writes with an actual understanding and seeming empathy for the world and lifestyle he is describing. Refreshingly. The characters are believable and well drawn and the detail well observed, In fact, there are a couple of real life incidents threaded into the narrative. Club structure and geography make sense and there is a feeling the people could exist and do what they do in the actual real world. Yes, it is a crime thriller - but it is far superior to the usual hysterical rubbish masquerading as fact but cobbled together from sensationalised newspaper articles.
Good that it is set in Blighty as well.
Only complaint is that the cover does not reflect the depth and subtlety of the writing.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
A really good book and a great page turner,recommend this for anyone with an ok interest in MC lifestyle ect

Would of been a 5 star but thought the ending was cuttcut short ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Having read the trilogy, i've got to say that these books are refreshing to read, seeing as they've been written by a biker who knows the scene! Worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Reasonably well written with good characterisation and what appears to be good inside knowledge of this type of mc. Can't seem to make up it's mind whether it wants to be purely fiction or thinly disguised fact to reveal the workings/events of a real club. Enjoyable read nevertheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
I bought this when first out, loved it and the series. Reviewing now as just ordered the latest, and re reading the whole set again! If you were into bikes and a biker in the 80's you'll love it, if you weren't around then you'll learn a lot. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
wow Heavy Duty People a great book,
i got lost in this book just could not stop reading a very good book for bikers & none bikers,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse