Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2010
Caitlin Rose is a country girl.. but this album isn't as 'country' as the press will have you believe, to me its just a great pop album in the style of all those great 70's records by Fleetwood Mac, Jackson Browne or Emmylou Harris ...sure it has it roots in country but its crossed over into a bigger place.
its a whole album listen and gets better and better with every visit...
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
saw this girl last year and was blown away by her voice and her stories and spunky personality, then she was solo and raw but the songs were still touching and beautiful.
ive been really impressed with this album.. its really lush without being too sweet,the production is subtle and it lets the songs and voice really fly.
its all seem so effortless -the lyrics are just so brilliantly delivered- every listen gives up a new fantastic line to impress,love it, love it, love it
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Following hot on the heels of last years excellent Dead Flowers EP where Caitlin Rose a great new prospect from Nashville, Tennessee set out her stall, we now have her full blown debut album "Own side now" to contend with. The entirety of it can be heard in full streaming on her on MySpace page and what a gem it is. Rose cites as her influences some impeccable artists not least Linda Ronstadt, Gram Parsons, The Replacements, Johnny Cash, Joni Mitchell and Elliott Smith. Echoes of all of these can be found on "Own side now" indeed the title track would have fitted perfectly on Ronstadt's "Hasten down the wind" and indeed the album is as much about Laurel Canyon as it is Nashville in terms of its sources. "For the Rabbits" alternatively has a bluesy feel where Rose exhorts us to "Fall back into my desperate arms/Fall back into routine disaster/ Because its better than spending all your nights alone". Further highlights include the wistful "Sinful wishing well" where Rose summons up a Patti Page style heartbreaker. "That's alright" is not a cover of the great Elvis Sun recording but a track in the linage of the great Hank Williams and is totally effortless. Throughout the songwriting on the album is top notch and for a 23 year old shows a wisdom beyond her years and a real ability to vary her plays. Thus "Shanghai Cigarettes" is rockier, with wry lyrics, excellent backing vocals from Jordan Caress and inevitably reminds you of Lucinda Williams circa "Car wheels on a gravel road". Finally "Coming up" the brilliant closer on the album is a signal that when Rose can match a classic song with a brilliant lyric she is unstoppable. It is here that the comparisons to country greats like Loretta Lynn truly stack up and the second half of the song has a guitar feel reminiscent to Flying Burrito Brothers and you sense that Gram Parsons would have thoroughly approved.

In other reviews I have commented what a great year 2010 is for female artists. New singers like Laura Marling, Anais Mitchell and Lissie have all released inspirational albums which should be sought out by the discerning Amazon reader. To this list now please add "Own Side Now" by Caitlin Rose. Like the flower that is her surname the songs on this albums vary from wild to cultivated but all have a rich individual quality and sense of intimacy. It will be fascinating to see in future albums how she develops her distinctive music, but for now we have a visible result staring us in the face and its a winner.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2010
Caitlin Rose's Dead Flowers EP certainly generated a lot of "buzz" when it released; you might almost have thought we'd finally found the "new Patsy Cline". But whilst I personally enjoyed that release a HUGE amount I could fully appreciate that it's sparse Country sound wouldn't be for everyone.

Thankfully, Rose's first album, Own Side Now blows all that out of the water. Everything I loved about Dead Flowers remains but it's as if everything has been turned up a notch. The lyrical wit (dare I say genius) of Rose could keep me in Facebook status updates for the next year. Repeated listens seem to bring forward another gem of a line that you'd previously missed and they range from witty to clever via, at times, achingly heartbreaking.

The title track Own Side is so deftly realised that it can have me in tears, whilst the likes of New York and Shanghai Cigarettes hide their lyrical sadness in uplifting melodies that refuse to dislodge themselves from your brain. But this is an album I can listen to from start to finish without ever once wanting to reach for the skip button. It's been the only CD in my car stereo for the past three weeks.

People always say that they don't write them like they used to. Well Caitlin Rose has proved not only that they do, and to the same quality, but also that they can sound as thrilling and fresh as anything else around to day. Quite simply, if I hear a better album this year someone will have done very well indeed. This is almost perfection. Hell, s*d it. It IS perfection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
This is a remarkable debut album.the quality of the songwriting belies her tender age. The title track, Own Side, along with Shangai cigarettes, Things change and Sinful Wishing Well are particularly striking but the whole album is quite superb. Perhaps the finest release of the past 12 months
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
I came a bit late to Caitlin Rose but cant get enough now, she writes brilliant songs and has a lovely voice. What more can you ask for. Personally I prefer this to the excellent new album. If you like Emmylou style country/ folk then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
There can be no doubt that Caitlin Rose was the finest female voice to emerge in 2010.

To describe her as a country artist really does limit her, although technically speaking that is what she is. Her debut album "Own Side Now" was without question the best album by a new artist in 2010, a year in which Arcade Fire gained all the critical acclaim for "The Suburbs", and rightly so.

"Own Side Now" is comprised of eleven playful, country-rock songs which would not be out of place in Gram Parsons portfolio. It is Gram Parsons who I believe Rose resembles the most musically in both sound and being. Like Parsons, Rose's music is firmly rooted in country but forges its own unique identity, purely down to her own brilliance, which leaves it very difficult to label and at the same time, somewhat timeless.

The other great artist whom Rose is clearly influenced by is Linda Ronstadt. The cover version of Stevie Nicks' "That's Alright" on this record is incredibly reminiscent of Ronstadt's early records. Rose's style and vocal delivery is also very Ronstadt-esque. Her music possesses an effortless wit and charm that seduces the listener after just one listen.

Caitlin Rose is a fresh, breezy and very welcome addition to a long line of magnificent female Americana artists. Her album is a must have for any discerning music lover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
I bought this CD after listening to a track on line. It is a really good first "proper" CD by this singer whose talent belies her tender years. I hope it is the first of many - she deserves it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Bought her later album and was a little critical of obvious influences (Rolling Stones, Johnny Cash) but loved the songs, some sticking indelibly in the memory. This earlier CD is just as good, less sugary, and the tunes again are memorable - this is her point of distinction I feel - you can't help humming along. In both CDs she leads with particularly strong numbers, "Learning to ride" is a country delight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
I've had Own Side Now for 3 weeks but thought I would wait a while before reviewing. This is an incredible CD. Full of great songs and all from someone so young, the lyrics seem from someone who has lived a longer life. Haven't heard anything better in a few years. Dont usually do reviews so thats it....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)