Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
221
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2012
in sickness.. is a truly classic comedy up there with steptoe, rising damp, one foot.. e.t.c was like watchin for 1st time its been that long. shame it doesn't get repeated for new viewers - probably p.c reasons but like rigsby in rising damp, alf garnet is shown 2 be a fool and u laugh at him rather than with him when it comes 2 his outspoken views. overall great series, great box-set and great service from amazon. highly recommend.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
The first thing I need to clear up is this show is NOT racist but IS about bigoted characters and as such is not very polically correct. Alf Garnett was created Johnny Speight to show how some people can be so bigotted, He was not intended to be likeable and in fact overall in the show he comes off worse through the whole series. Warren Mitchell who played Alf has always said it annoyed him when people came to him and said how great Alf was saying what he did, he said they were not getting the joke and in effect the joke was on them.

Now to the series itself, for me the show is made by the characters around him in particular his gay Lodger Winston(Marigold) played by Eamonn Walker who is just superb, and also Carmel McSharry as Mrs Hollingbery who has a love hate relationship with Alf and Arthur English who appear's as Alfs best mate in the first 5 series. Alfs wife Else played by Dandy nichols appears in first series, But sadly Dandy died at end of the first run. This changed the dynamic of the future series but did allow for characters such as Marigold and Mrs Hollingbery to shine through.

You will not see this show much on the TV and yes its very policically incorrect, But its also a shining light in comedy and shows how people can be so bigotted because they lack some of knowledge or abilty to understand how wrong they are.

Enjoy
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
Firstly comedy today is dead! Why? It is all about sex as comedians have nothing to say for fear that their scripts will offend someone thus political correctness has killed natural human curiosity. I have the whole collection also of rising damp! I must admit it made me cringe but then I watched the whole box set twice now I loved it and hated it at the same time! It is a love and hate relationships I have with these old racist comedies lol You knew where you stood then not like now.

Alf Garnet you find even today but it is all hushed away. The jokes are below the belt but then if you are easily offended don't buy it! I like freedom and enjoy freedom of expression and opinion and would never dream of censoring entertainment no matter who it offends just don't watch it.

Why I love this dvd so much is the fact that everything was so in the open and so brutally honest! the gay social workers plays his part so well! He also appears in Othello I think ITV version such a wonderful actor! If you are easily offended don't buy! You have been warned! But if you love honesty and hate what society is today which is a superficial smile to your face; heirs and graces polite words then get this dvd you will laugh, cringe, be shocked, but it is honest and what people felt at the time
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
A wonderful set of DVD's, and at least it is something better to watch on TV than the programmes they put on now
I would reccoment it to anyone who likes decent comedy certainly 5 stars
delivery absolutely perfect
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Wonderful,wonderful show.Will never be shown on TV again,sadly.So i suggest you snap up this boxset ASAP.

And as far as i can tell,nothing has been cut out either (unlike many BBC DVDs - Fools & Horses & Some Mothers Do Ave Em,for example).

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
Brilliant Alf at his best not for the PC police, but taken in the right context it will make the most serious of people laugh.
You'll never see this type of comedy again, sadly missed
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
Bought this as nostalgia, not meant as offensive material, good old fun before everything became political. Have watched this with friends from several different countries and we have laughed together, pleased that things have moved on and progressed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
An excellent comedy series featuring character Alf Garnett as a cantankerous old man. You either like him or loathe him as a character. Alf Garnett is certainly not to be taken seriously and only as comedy, due to his views on life,right across the board. There are good points and bad points with Alf Garnett, but on the whole, good comedy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Great funny can be slightly abusive in langue issues but funny a old classic my dad loves watching them nice to hear him laughthing again a great gift for those who remember these classic couch shows I got them for a gift for my dad and there a bargain at the price a great way to celebrate his life since his passing at 89 great actor
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My husband is so very pleased with this set. Its a long time ago he used to watch these, I remember my dad watching them, I think classics like this never dies.

Hes working his way through them all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse