Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
Love And Jealousy: The Deeper Side Of Southern Soul
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 February 2011
What a simply excellent compilation.

Mostly drawn from the Hi catalogue there are gems galore on this inexpensive compilation of no less than 24 terrific 60's and 70's Soul sides.

Worth anyone's three or four quid I'd say.

The Patterson Twins "Back in love again" is a brilliant peice of Muscle Shoals magic and just about my personal favourite, but there is plenty more to enjoy.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2011
This is an absolutely wonderful compilation of Southern Soul , mostly featuring relatively unknown artists. There are some exceptions of course , notably Syl Johnson , Al Green , Ann Peebles and OV Wright , all of whom well represented by sterling efforts . However , i have to tell you that this CD is worth the money for one outstanding track , I Die A Little Each Day by Otis Clay . It is superb and one of the finest examples of the genre you could ever hope to hear . At a budget price you really should snap this one up . Incidentally , ALL the other tracks are of a very high standard and the packaging is half decent as well , totally worth the money .
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2012
I bought this CD a while ago, largely out of curiosity. I'm a long time fan of mainstream soul (and much else musically), but with an interest in digging out stuff I'm unfamiliar with.

I played it a couple of times in the car, and thought it was ok, but no more.

However on further listens it gets better and better as the individual tracks start to stand out, and now I'm returning to it on a regular basis. There are some great individual tracks, but every listener will probably develop their own favourites so I won't single any out.

The main thing is, don't be disappointed if this compilation doesn't grab you immediately - stay with it for a few listens, and you'll be rewarded. It really is worth the wait, and at this price you can afford to wait!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2011
Quite simply a fantastic, slowburning southern soul collection. The music is as great as the cover! And what a price!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2012
The superb series called Backbeats has reached thirty titles and all are most excellent.
Love & Jealousy (The deeper side of southern soul) is clearly my personal favorite. I simply keep playing it more than any of the others.
There's great cuts by Syl Johnson, Otis Clay, Fontella Bass (r.i.p), O.V. Wright and Al Green.
The most pleasantly surprising are the two tracks by Quiet Elegance.
All the music is slow burning sensual soul perfect for an evening at home with a new lady.
A must buy for under £ 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2012
If you like soul music but dont understand the meaning of 'Deep Soul' buy this cd. I couldnt find a bad track on it. Many tracks come from the Hi Catalogue, so if you like the 'Al Green' sound you'll love this - The Otis Clay tracks being my personal favourites. Well worth the money from the first to the last track and a very enjoyable cd indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2013
Backbeats rarely disappoint, and this collection of Deep Soul music will twitch at the heart strings and leave you with a warm feeling. Buy and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2013
A stunning collection containing gems by Fontella Bass and Jean Plum. This cd provides an atmospheric charm and reveals some deep soul treasures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
This is a fabulous album, not one bad track on it. Great stuff, really easy listening. Highly recommended. **** **
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2013
I bought this as i love Otis,James Carr etc,really enjoyed this cd with a lot of new arsists/songs to discover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)