Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
148
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2017
Excellent choice and great value for money would recommend to anyone to buy and listen to
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
The extras make this an essential buy.Still extraordinary to hear , as in 1967.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
brilliant. very fast safe service. thanx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
great box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Very Happy!! 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
This album remains the best for me from my childhood. Unique edition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although I am amazed at my own propensity to shell out my hard-earned on records that I have already got, I don't care, when the albums are as good as this. This nicely-packaged set contains a wonderful mono vinyl copy of The Doors' first album, as well as mono and stereo CD versions, and a good early club performance of the band from The Matrix back in the day.

'The Doors' is simply one of the finest debut albums of all time. Half a century on, the band's ethereal, genuinely spooky music still shimmers and surprises. One of the big revelations to me (and why this should be so, when I have been listening to them over forty years), is just how superbly good a drummer John Densmore is. His contributions are as vital as guitarist Robbie Kreiger and keyboard player Ray Manzarek - as essential, in fact, as Jim Morrison himself. In fact, The Doors were as much the ultimate Rock Band Ensemble as The Band. The mono version is bright, full-sounding and really immersive. Densmore's snare drum cracks, Kreiger's guitar stings, floats and stuns, and Manzarek's keyboards are sinuous and deeply groovy. The packaging - with a fine essay by Rolling Stone journalist David Fricke - is informative and engaging, and although this set ain't cheap, it is stunning, and I shall be returning to it many times over. Priceless music from a stellar band.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 April 2014
Doors were always aeons ahead of their time. That this album still sounds great, some 45 years after the vinyl version, is testament to the music, lyrics, sound engineers and, of course, the band.

There isn't a bum track on this album and for a debut, it's mind blowing. There's poetry in many of the lyrics and drug induced or not, their language is powerful and relevant. I love the album and can't believe it was only £1.99.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Great songs.
Both catchy, at least to my ears, and interestingly expressive.
Some really strong chord changes subtly used, where as lesser bands would have been using them over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Great new mastering, but the pressing is so noisy with crackles & pops. I will run it through my RC Machine to see if it improves, then maybe write back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)