Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
73
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2010
When I first heard about this album, my reaction was probably the same as yours: 2 live albums from the same tour is milking it a bit.

And then I listened to it: wow.

For starters, most of the material on here is different from that on Live in London. And second, there are some really terrific versions on here, including some surprises. It's great to hear Avalanche again, for example; and the full band version of Chelsea hotel works surprisingly well. Other old favourites such as Lover Lover and the Partisan are really beautifully interpreted, too - there is no going through the motions here: this is a band at the top of its game.

This, then, it not a money-making exercise; but a really carefully compiled and wonderfully performed recording. If you saw the shows or heard Live in London, you know how good Leonard and his band are live. But this album will still surprise and delight you.

The DVD is great, and includes some backstage snippets; but some of Leonard backstage would have been nice.

This is Len's 6th live album by my reckoning, and it's up there with the best.
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
After listening to the album twice I can only give it the highest possible rating. What a privilege to hear this artist in his mid 70's sing his classic songs with such passion, tenderness and in an atmosphere of graciousness, always humble and grateful for the overwhelming love he receives from his audience wherever he performs. Yes, the voice isn't that of thirty years ago, but we have the warmth of his personality, the wisdom of the lyrics, the extraordinary band and female background singers, each song lovingly hand picked from different shows by producer Ed Sanders and cleverly put together to give us this beautiful album.

My favourites are Lover,Lover,Lover, Famous Blue Raincoat and Hallelujah. The inclusion of That Don't Make It Junk and Waiting For The Miracle came as a surprise; I would've loved to hear Alexandra Leaving live. Most songs were performed slightly different from the studio versions, even the lyrics differ from the original, which I find interesting.

All Leonard Cohen fans should own this album together with the DVD to enjoy and to complete their collection. While listening to these well-known, beloved songs and watching him perform, I experienced a feeling of loss, of someone very precious who is now leaving us. Hopefully this is not his last live album; I guess quite a few more could come out of his 247 shows from the past three years.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
If you have "Live in London", you might wonder whether you should be buying this. Don't think for too long - just go and buy it.

There are 12 songs on the CD; these 12 songs are also on the DVD and there is a 20 minute documentary devoted to LC and filmed by his daughter Lorca, but from the viewpoints of his backing band members, the tour management and technicians. The 12 songs are beautifully sung and played, the DVD highlights the gentle intensity of the musicians and their remarkable skill at transforming each of LC's masterpieces into something even better, more special.

No track is better than any other - each is just fantastic. LC's vocals, for someone in his mid-70's, are exceptional - he is in great form - and the musicians add panache. He is humble, gentle, generous and obviously enjoying himself - and the musicians are given the opportunity to shine, as each do. If this was an album of a single concert, all of us fans would be commenting on what a scintillating show we had just witnessed.

Also, a word for the three lady backing singers - the excellent British sisters Charley and Hattie Webb and, the incomparable; Sharon Robinson. Ms Robinson has been working with LC off and on for 30-odd years, has co-written and co-produced a lot of his more recent music, and is an understated and wonderful individual. The Financial Times did a piece on her and her collaboration with LC which you can find if you either read her Wikipedia bio or go straight to her website - a very interesting read.

I have to admit to being biased about LC. I love his work. As someone says in the little film, he is neither selling anything nor promoting a new album; he is just touring and giving his fans a chance to see him. I know that LC was swindled out of millions by his long-time manager (a figure of $50m has been bandied around), so maybe he was trying to make a little money. Frankly, I don't care what the reasons for touring and releasing live albums are, I'm just glad he did - because they are wonderful and I'm actually waiting for the next release ....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
Quite a fan of the great Cohen, and have most of his stuff, but not this and his newest. Not disapointed, and an excellent listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
This one is quite exceptional with it being live love it x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
100%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
A great selection from his later live shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Great. I can't stop playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
Have listened to this three or four times now. Slightly disappointing, after Live in London, which was a fantastic record - I think perhaps my main feeling is that the format of taking one song from ten or eleven different concerts doesn't really work for a Cohen live album at this stage in his career, where the cumulative rapport / connection he builds with his audience adds so much to the music. Its like finding a collection of technically accomplished sketches, but lacking a narrative.

Thats not to say that there is nothing worth listening to on this record - the opening track, a slightly slower tempo "Lover Lover Lover" was my highlight; its good to have a studio recorded live version of "Waiting for the Miracle", and "Famous Blue Raincoat" was another obvious high point - but the latest versions of many classics (which already have several live avatars) - Hallelujah, Suzanne, Bird on a Wire - all fell well short of the same songs in London versions, in my opinion.

One other comment, apart from the musician on winds, the band seem to feature less prominently. In particular, while you can still here the strings of the exceptionally talented Javier Mas, they seem to have been mixed more into the background.

Overall, worth buying to add to the collection, but not his best. I haven't seen the DVD, though, thats one caveat.
66 Comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)