Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
49
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2012
I have been a great fan of F.E.A.R eversince I played FEAR 2 on PS3 and that's when I decided to play FEAR 1 as most people were saying that FEAR 1 was the best of the series.. and they were RIGHT!!. But still, I enjoyed FEAR 2 (I completed it on PC and PS3). Having completed FEAR 3, I can rate it as follows:
Story: 2/5 (Linear, short, no twists or progression)
Graphics: 5/5 (Outstanding)
Gameplay: 3/5 (Same as before but slightly changed)
Horror/Fear element: 2/5
Overall: 3/5
The game is so predictable, linear story unlike FEAR 1; they rushed with releasing this one.. No more log/phonecalls/messages to listen to. No characters or team mates that you can relate to (unlike FEAR 1); and its definitely not a horror game anymore.. doesn't feel like the original FEAR. The only thing that might be new and good about it is probably playing the game with Fettel character but I wonder if I can play it again! its mainly just a shooter em all game now. I loved FEAR for the PC to be honest.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
The third instalment of the Fear series released on this generation of consoles and it appears that the game has rediscovered a small percentage of the magic that made the first game a classic in my opinion.
The premise is the same as the previous games - shoot loads of bad guys and monsters while on your way to see Alma. Nothing new here then for fans of the previous games apart from the fact that the horror element has actually been turned up a notch from the second game which for all intense purposes lost the horror in the FPS horror genre label associated with the first game.
As a horror title it is still lacking but there are a few moments which will send a cold shiver down your back rather than make you jump out of your seat.
The FPS aspect of the game is fairly solid and although it will not win any awards for originality at least it does the job that it sets out to which is supplying a high amount of carnage with a paltry selection of weapons.
Graphically and sonically Fear 3 is fairly solid with some fairly impressive lighting effects and of course the sound effects add a lot to making the few horror moments stand out.
Unfortunately though due to the fact that the horror element is so limited and the fps aspect of the game is soo generic means that this is probably a game for fans of the series only. However, it is quite a harmless shoot em up which will be completed fairly quickly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
The game is very interesting. The gamplay is as you would expect and the fear "scary" atmosphere lives on. Took around 5 hours to complete which is disappointing. I did enjoy this game until the very ending scene. Not to spoil anything but be prepared for a disappointing ending; The creators of F.E.A.R could have rounded off the game very well - But because the franchise is not interested in good reviews it puts in a crappy "cliff hanger" in the plot to set the scene for another game. The on-line features are a bit of a laugh but don't expect to be able to find a host for the games. To conclude: Good play, Crap ending, okay online features.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
The least scary and most accessible of the FEAR games. I personally really enjoyed it and have played it through a couple of times now. Once on my own and once in co-op. Co-op works great with both characters complimenting each other if you work together, but at the same time they have enough unique ways to kill that you can both just do your own thing and get by fine. So if you have a less experienced co-op buddy you should be fine.

It does stray from the FEAR formula a lot. It is an FPS with horror elements but that is pretty much where the similarities end. Because of this you might feel a bit cheated if you loved the previous games but what you are left with is a solid, arcadey shooter with a silly but fun story and an abrupt end. Both characters are fun to play and it still feels good shooting arms and legs off with a shotgun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
As a fan of FPS's and Survival Horror's, I'm also a fan of F.E.A.R. franchise. I've waited a long time for this third part of the franchise, mostly because the possibility of playing with the "ghost" version of Paxton Fettel, but I will get to that later.
Visualy, nothing new in the graphics, looking a bit out dated actually, but continues to deliver the signature atmosphere of the F.E.A.R. series and the cutscenes are awesome.
In the gameplay as a FPS, it delivers what you expect from a FPS having a great cover system, but it's while playing as Fettel that some "news" are added to the experience since being a "ghost" you can't pick guns but you can possess enemies and use their guns and then explode them from the inside, suspend enemies in the air and throw a "paranormal" (or whatever) projectile. The core of F.E.A.R. series is the scary moments, and they're still present in F.3.A.R., not as good as F.E.A.R. 1/2, but it still had moments that made me jump!
The sound in F.3.A.R. is very good with very good sound effects and the voice of Paxton Fettel is AWESOME!

You have the possibillity of experience all of this in Co-Op, and if you finish the game with the same person, you will have a good surprise in the end.
I hadn't the chance of trying F.3.A.R.'s multiplayer since the online features code doesn't work and I'm still waiting for WB to give me a new one since I bought a brand new version of the product.

Overall, F.3.A.R. is a good game that fits well on the franchise, but if you're looking for a pure FPS it's not the best choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
In a nutshell, The game is much better than the originals. The hole gameplay has improved, so advanced and the story | cutscenes are movie like. Really fun game, sniper moments is amazing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
Great fun. Once I started playing it, I was excited to continue. Handy 2 controller co op mode too, but I recommend you play it first time single player for the full experience.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
When i heard it was not the original creators of the first two games making F.3.A.R i was very dissapointed and did not expect much from this titles developers day1 studios.They previously handled console ports of the first game but thats it-no ps3 first person shooter history.
They have exceeded in delivering the best game of 2011 for me.
The graphics are nothing special but the gameplay is as solid as the best shooters like killzone3 or crysis2.Your character moves and controls well,gunfights are exciting and they have captured the sinister atmosphere of this franchise perfectly.
Multiplayer provides some fun modes-a call of duty zombies style called contractions where you must survive waves of enemies in a group of up to 4,Soulking is a deathmatch style game with a twist-you need to possess bodies to fight with,and a very original one where you are running head on into enemies while a fog of death creeps up behind you!(again up to a group of 4).
The publisher WB games have a lot of money to throw around according to an article i read last year and they use some of it here by having horror icon director John Carpenter direct live action sequences for cut scenes.I'm not sure it was necessary or that it works that well but i guess it is fresh.
My only other gripe is if you are skilled at shooters,playing on hard mode i didnt find it that challenging,but thats a personal thing and i dont find many shooters do provide a challenge(plus there is a harder difficulty to unlock so i think it addresses that).
If you are a first person shooter fan,a thrills fan or a f.e.a.r fan i recommend this game to you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
F.E.A.R. 2 was probably THE best fps horror games ever to exist. F.E.A.R. 3 is a good sequel, but it could have been great. The biggest flaws are in it loosing much of it's horror element to a point-driven action game. In F2 you play right through the entire game with the equipment you accumulate, right to the very end, whereas in every level in F3 you lose it, and not only that, you are put into random scenarios which are very poorly thought-through. Some of the enemies in F3 have such a ridiculous amount of health it just becomes stupid; the bright blue glowing 'commander' troopers can survive multiple direct hits from a rocket launcher (on hard mode, which is realistic on F2), eventually forcing the player to resort to using the riot shield to melee them to death slowly. Apart from this, i still consider the game 4/5 star, whereas F2 is definitely 5/5! Haven't played the 1st one though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Can't help but feel the developers may have missed the point about what made FEAR 2 so much fun for a lot of us with this somewhat watered down threequel. What we have here is still definitely a really good game, but I found everything feels a bit... smaller... less coherent than the previous game, with the only real change being in the fun, but perhaps-too-central co-op features.

Picking up some months after the end of FEAR 2. "F.3.A.R"(Guuuuuh!) begins with you in control of the first FEAR game's central character, the always silent 'Pointman', as he breaks out of a prison under the control of soldiers working for bad guys Pharmacam. Helping Pointman is original FEAR central bad guy and Pointman's brother Paxton Fettel, a 'Psychic ghost' of sorts who has the ability to possess the living who follows Pointman throughout the game, serving as a second controllable character for the campaign's co-op mode. Outside of co-op though, you only see Fettel during cutscenes, or you can unlock him to use in single player after finishing each level as Pointman. Anyway... the two of them escape and decide to go and find their mother Alma, the super powerful psychic psychotic little girl/haggard naked woman from the first two games who continues to randomly pop up throughout levels just to go 'BOO' at you as before. Also, Alma is heavily pregnant after raping the main character in the second game... and the world is seemingly tearing itself apart in the build up to her giving birth. It's an odd plot, and not necessarily a good one. The narrative is badly handled, with the cutscenes that bookend each level feeling quite boring to watch and seem to consist of nothing more than Fettel spouting meaningless bad guy rhetoric about power in a Christian Bale Batman voice at Pointman, who never does anything except silently stare ahead. Considering John Carpenter had some involvement in this story being put together I expected something a little better... but hey, at least we get Pointman now looking like 'The Thing' era Kurt Russell, which is awesome.

The game does play much like FEAR 2 for the most part, but there have been a number of tweaks to the game at the same time that kind of dilute the gameplay a bit for my liking. One major change of note is that the game has adopted a number of elements from Killzone 2 and 3, most notably the ability to 'attach' to surfaces to use them as cover in a manner most commonly seen in third person shooters. The gameplay also feels considerably more 'weighted', with much toning down feeling like it has been done with regard to the superhuman reflexes of Pointman. You can still slow down time and such though, so it isn't a complete overhaul. Levels also feel much more linear and narrow and the scale in their design feels a lot smaller... like, remember those sequences in FEAR 2 where you were running down ruined city streets getting into pitched battles with huge mechs while using a mech of your own to tear through the walls of collapsing skyscrapers? There's nothing nearly so grand in FEAR 3. Sure the mechs are still here, but they are a lot less common, and the rare sequences where you get to pilot one yourself are pretty much just brief, linear shooting galleries. As I said, it feels 'smaller'. A lot is the same, I mean, all the guns from the last game are here (Though I wasn't best pleased by how rare the hilariously fun to use bolt gun was) and the gore is as OTT as always, but I found it just didn't 'feel' like FEAR anymore. Saying that, the gameplay mechanics are definitely still very solid and the whole thing is incredibly polished, with some surprisingly sharp AI on enemies and an extremely satisfying new 'challenges' feature that keeps a constantly running tally of how you are doing with regard to a large series of set challenges that are constantly active and function on a level by level basis. These consist of both fairly basic challenges like 'Kill 30 soldiers with the shotgun' and more challenging reflex testing affairs like 'get three headshots in a row during a single use of reflexes'. There are a lot of them and completion of each one earns points towards your 'ranking', which is kind of a levelling up system that runs through all the game modes and determines which gameplay perks and enhancements you have access to (eg. extra ammo/grenade carry capacity, longer reflex meter, etc). It's a system that really provides great incentives for replaying levels and for going out of your way to maximise your performance. It really does make the game in my opinion, and it's something I'd very much like to see used in more first person shooters in future. The game is also a lot more fun in co-op mode I found, with the story seemingly designed with the idea you'll be playing it in co-op being at the forefront of the developers' minds as this is very much a two man tale and the whole thing does play very differently depending on which character you play as, given Fettel's very different ability set compared to Pointman, with Fettel only having psychic blasts to use as weapons as he can't carry guns, but he can temporarily possess any standard enemy when his reflex meter is full in order to use any weapons around. It's a fun mechanic and is a welcome departure from co-op shooters where what character you play as is completely incidental. The competitive multiplayer I only tried very briefly, but from what I could tell it wasn't a whole lot different from FEAR 2, despite some... 'interesting' new modes in addition to the new cover system... which nobody seemed to be bothering to use.

Graphically the game is of a very high quality. It looks great, it runs great and has some really impressive physics and lighting effects at play. Besides some infrequent frame rate dips I've no real complaints on that front. The soundtrack is good, with suitably moody music in addition to a couple of 80s synth sounding numbers which I assume are some sort of homage to John Carpenter. The voice acting though is pretty weak. I mean, bad enough Pointman doesn't talk ever, but when next to that the most prominent voice you hear is Fettel's constant drawl it gets kind of annoying.

This isn't a perfect game by any means... I have some concerns about the longevity, as the campaign is extremely short, but at the same time is designed to encourage replays and has a genuinely fun co-op mode. However the gameplay and game structure changes are likely to polarise many who enjoyed the last game... plus the story is just laughable.

Even with the concerns though, there's no denying this is still a well put together, satisfying to play shooter that has some really great ideas and I would gladly recommend it to anyone who likes such games. Just be aware that it may not last you too long... especially if you're only going to be playing by yourself, so you may wish to wait for a price drop.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)