Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2007
This book is an essential must-read for anyone who is a fan of Guns N' Roses.

At first I was highly sceptical, there have been some truly terrible books written about this band in the past, but this one proved to be the exception to the rule.

The book is 348 pages long, excellent quality and every page has something of interest to GNR fans, either pictures or stories about the bands formation, or both. Much of it you will not find anywhere else, either online, on TV or in other books (in some cases including Slash's autobiography). Like most GNR books it claims to have stories and interview sections with friends of the band, but unlike most GNR books the people interviewed here really did know the band, and in many cases still do. Many of them played with one or more band members as they were starting out, others were friends throughout the bands formative years. There are none of the typical dodgy interviews with someone who lived down the street from Axl for a month, or went to Slash's high school just 1 year after he left, it's all the real deal.
It also includes a lot of information from the band members themselves, some of it contributed specially for the book.

And the pictures are all up to the same high standard as the text. No fuzzy re-prints of magazine shots, nothing stolen from websites or videos, it's all excellent quality and predominantly from the personal collections of the same friends and band mates who contributed the text.

As if that's not enough the book also includes a code that gives you access to audio and video recordings and more photos via a website. Again it's all great quality and stuff you're extremely unlikely to have seen before.

In short this is the sort of book that most band biographers wish they could have written and a must have for all GNR fans. It's just a shame so many other people got there first and did such a bad job of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2008
What a fantastic book... I have to admit i haven't read it all yet cos i start reading and then get completely carried away by the pictures.

This book captures the band at its best and captures the most important time for Rock N' Roll.

Pictures, storys, scripts.. what more could you want..

Buy it... It's worth it, weither your a gnr fan or not your bound to love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
I bought this for my husband who is a mega gnr fan and i have read it too. It is brilliant and has some fab colour pictures of the boys. It is a great insight to the band. I think you have to be a fan to appreciate this stuff though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2007
i have to agree with the previous review of this book as this is the best thing to be written by somebody who knew the band from the beginning but wrote about them in the spirit of appetite for destruction thanks to being pals with Slash from his high school days and getting to know the rest of the band as the amazing photo's show which are not reprinted carbon copy's or cuttings from magazines this is the real deal.

This book is a perfect appetizer till Axl Rose give us fans a proper official release date for chinese democracy to hit the shelves hopefully next year if not after we all cease to exist!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
bought for my brother for christmas he saw it when he was in america but did not have enough money (end of holiday) so purchased it from amazon at a very good price and he was thrilled to bits with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
I just received this book and I can't keep reading every single detail and checking the exclusive pictures throughout its pages. I have followed GN'R since 1990 and I have all the books and magazines any fan can collect, but this book surprised me because of the age and good quality of the old pictures. Seeing a younger Slash, Duff or Axl using very '80's kinda clothes, it is quite funny....Together with the Slash's autobiography, I think it is the best GN'R book of the last years... Marc Canter did a great job collecting all the memorabilia, tickets, etc. of all the pre-Geffen era and I am thankful that he decided to put everything out (which I guess it was quite private stuff for him) to share it all with the true fans....Thanks Marc! I can certainly recommend it to all the first-hour fans as well as to the new fans who may realize where the true GN'R rock n'roll-spirit comes from. You won't regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
By looking at the backcover of this book you can see that the author Marc Canter is definitely a Guns n' Roses
inside man. There is a lot of great never before seen pictures of the band just moments before their big break.

You find a lot of poor, rip-off books about Guns N' Roses but this one is not one of those. Do yourself a favor and
order yours today. No GN'R fan should let this one pass.

Enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Really cool book worth buying in my opinion. Many pictures and a lot of detail of what was going on while the formation of Guns was taking place. Worth buying as a collectible item, I am sure I will re-read it again at some point, its quite pleasant and not tiring at all. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
As the title suggests. Great if you like lookin at pictures.
I had read reviews about this book online as well as in Classic Rock magazine and it had favourable reviews so i decided to buy it at £15 instead of waiting for the price to drop which generally happens. I now wish i had waited for the price to drop as i was expecting MORE.
The pictures are great if that's what you like but i was expecting more of an insight into the band, the fighting, drugs and booze stories which obviously happened but not talked about enough in this very book.
I recently have read Crue's The Dirt and Aerosmiths Walk This Way, i was expecting more of the same but am a little dissapointed. I would recommend you wait for the price to drop to under a tenner before purchasing, but obviously others disagree with me.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
Great book, apart for the typo errors throughout. I know it doesn't really matter, but come on, would employing a proof reader have been too much to ask?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)