Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2017
4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Good film with a great story. Easy to watch, good cast and great drama. Really highlights how things can get out of hand by manipulation and a nightmare mother in law!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
I've read the book several times, and thoroughly enjoyed its sense of creeping menace and ambiguous characters. I always wondered what a filmed adaptation would be like, as it moves slowly and yet inexorably to the climactic twist.

Having been pleasantly surprised hearing it had been filmed, upon watching it I was bitterly disappointed.

The book, while not fleshing out many of the main characters to any great degree, nonetheless managed to give them depth, and avoid them behaving in simplistic or predictable ways. We are frequently unsure of their motivatIons, despite some awareness of their inner thoughts.

The filmed version was utterly banal: evil mother in law, deliberately and maliciously plotting to convince her daughter in law she is flirting with insanity. Poor innocent daughter in law being helplessly manipulated by husband and in-laws.

While the book is an easy read it nonetheless had some nuance.
The tv version sacrifices subtlety for melodrama. The book is almost believable, that discreet manipulation, much of which is never spelled out, can have a horribly negative effect on the target. While the reader may not know exactly why some characters behave the way they do, the behavior itself is plausible. One of my favorite things about the book was that so much was hinted but never explained.

The adaptation is so obvious, the characters might as well have 'goodie' and 'baddie' written on their foreheads.

The cast is rather impressive, so presumably they had school fees or a big tax bill to pay. This is such a remarkably poor drama I can't think why else they would participate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Fantastic drama which draws you in right from the start. francesca annis excels as the matriarch of the family and delivers a performance that makes this a must-see dvd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Francesca Annis is undoubtedly the finest actress on screen - bar none. I have already purchased most of her other work and in 'The Little House', which has a great cast, she demonstrates pure quality - brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
liked it but the alteration of the end did notdo the writer justice
it was much more satisfying to read what happened both to mother in law and daughter in law
still a nice fillm
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
was quite close to reality in my experience and very thought provoking so wanted to yell at the television and be interactive
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
I could not wait to buy this dvd after seeing it on the tv.Francesca Annis is brilliant as the manipulative and dare i say evil mother in law who is out to rid herself of her daughter in law by making her doubt her sanity,after the birth of her first baby.Annis plays the mother in law from hell,totally narcissistic,in her bid to keep her son and grandchild to herself.With a surprise ending ,this is top drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Quick delivery, excellent value, great quality & brill story. Excellent acting keeps you watching to the end. Watched on TV but missed some of it due to working shifts. Excellent film well worth a watch. Reliable supplier & great dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
the movie was good ,but the disc crasht at the end.That was very frustratingThen Iordered a new disc and this one alsa crasht at the end.So I spend my money for nothing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)