Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Union
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 November 2010
As others have said, the CD is fantastic. Wonderful to see Leon Russell still knocking it out so well. But don't waste your money on the so-called "deluxe edition". The DVD content is all interviews, and lasts barely 15 minutes. I feel it is a total rip off, and adds absolutely nothing to the overall package. I feel completely cheated out of several quid. Stick with the standard issue. You're missing nothing - not even if you atre a dyed in the wool Elton or Leon fan. This would have been a 5 star review, but I can't bring myself to do it, as a result.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2018
Excellent collaboration album between Elton and Leon. Generally with the exception of perhaps a couple all songs are good. As for vinyl sound quality not the best I am afraid. Sound appears to be compressed and is probably no better than cd. This USA release is on the Decca label not 180gm and not EMI Virgin as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2010
Make no mistake this is a fine fine album.when two giants collide like this the results can be questionable,but Elton and Leon have created an album that will be a milestone in both their careers.
In short the album sounds like a perfect partner to Eltons "Tumbleweed Connection""HOnky Chateau"and "Madman across the water"albums.
Leons southern rock roots come to the fore in this album,aand the plaudits must be shared equallyand with the addition of Neil Young this album cannot fail to impresss,although the DVD included us unecessary as it is only 6 minues long,however insert the cd into your pc and dicover a cornucopia of delights.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
This pairing between Elton and the musican who inspired him, features some great new songs, notably "The Best Part Of The Day".It also provided a fitting swansong for the legendary Leon Russell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2011
Damn good, rich and soulful. Just about hits every button I've got. I do like Elton John anyway, but my bias has wavered somewhat in recent years, with exception to one or two things, but this album, and I mean the WHOLE album, a complete body of work, is like a lightning bolt to the chest. Didn't know of Leon Russell prior to this work, and the idea of a duet Album didn't much appeal when I first heard about it, I was however quite blown away when I finally came to hear it. It's truly stunning, and admittedly unexpected, in terms of how great it was, is rather!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2010
All of Elton's albums of the 2000s were brilliant and rank among his best. This one joins that hallowed company.

Who expected him to go back and duet with Leon? Who expected it to be of such a high grade? The older, experienced dudes are simply so much better than the younger, diluted pretenders going around today.

Serious fans of the 'Madman' and 'Tumbleweed' LPs should not miss this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2011
If you are a fan of Willie Nelson you will like this CD. Close your eyes and it could be Willie himself singing with a touch of Elton thrown in. The upbeat ones could have been missed out, but the melancholy ones are ideal, as long are you are not feeling melancholy, or they may tip you over the edge!!!
Peaceful music to listen to in the car or with a glass of something good, maybe a good ole bourbon or rye whiskey!!!! Rockabilly at its best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
On the face of it an unlikely combination,but it really works

Excellent songs,excellent production and some handy guest artists

Standout for me is Gone to Shiloh

A vast improvement for Elton after the uninspired Captain and the Kid and Peachtree Road
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2010
I've been a big fan of Leon Russell for a long time and was thrilled that Elton John tracked him down and created this work of art with him. Absolutely fantastic. Every track is stunning. My two favourite albums are Captain Fantastic and Leon Russell and the Shelter People. To combine the two talents is a dream come true. Thank you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2016
I can listen to this every day and not tired of it. The Union meaning the Union Army during the Civil War of 1861-1865 and the song Shiloh is extremely moving. Beautiful duets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)