Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Very Best Of Arvo Part
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 4 June 2017
Very usefully, the jacket informs you about the life journey of this man and why he composed the pieces he did and what was influencing him at the time. This gave me so much understanding and comprehension of the context of the pieces which helped already brilliantly written pieces to come alive. The variety in his music ensures they are pieces of far greater substance than background on a summers evening. They make you stop and listen and consider. If you are new to him, this is the one to buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Most enjoyable. Didn't realise that it was a double CD until it came.
Quick prompt service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
As requested, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2017
I bought this after hearing cantus memeorium Benjamin Britain on radio 3. Not disappointed. Great CD with wonderful choral music. Great value and a double CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 September 2016
The elegant barren tree reflected in the water which graces the cover of the two - disc compilation resonates with the dark, melancholy mood of the music and all particularly with the minimalist of haunting beauty gem Spiegel im Spiegel (Mirror in Mirror). This piece seems deceptively simple but in reality it is highly and tightly structured. There are different versions of the work, in the compilation we listen to piano and violin but there are also versions of piano and viola and piano and cello.

The compilation was released on the occasion of the 75th birthday of the Estonian composer and includes instrumental and choral masterpieces inspired by the Eastern Orthodox Church while we are exposed to the particular idiom of the composer the 'tintinnabuli' ('little bells') style. The fact that both the instrumental and choral pieces are rendered to perfection impact to the listener a feeling approaching the divine.

Instrumental works include Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten among the earliest in the 'tintinnabuli' style; its sombre mood, reinforced by a tolling bell and the arch of a long descending melodic line is evocative of the deceased. Fratres and Tabula rasa are in the same vein.

Among choral works Missa syllabica, Summa and Cantate Domino are also written in the 'tintinnabuli' idiom. Other choral works in the compilation include Beatus Petronius, its material stripped of all embellishment to convey a heartfelt prayer; the transcendentally beautiful Seven Magnificat Antiphons and the increasingly tormented choral cries of De Profundis begin and end in the clearest expression of timeless texts; in the Beatitudes from the Sermon in the Mount, the composer confronts comfortable listeners with the stark reality of Jesus' blessings on the poor, the weak and the marginalized.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
this is not a review or critique of this particualr album. rather advise if one is thinking of buying a 2cd arvo part compilation album. currently there are 2 cds on the market. 'the very best' by EMI and 'portrait' by NAXOS. both are worthy buys with excellent renditions. but which to buy? this is released to mark the composers 75th birthday. 'portrait' was released to celebrate parts 70th birthday.
if one prefers parts choral music to his orchestral, then this is the one to buy. on the other hand if you, like i, prefer his orchestral over his choral then id recommend 'portrait' by NAXOS.
both albums have choral and orchestral pieces but are weighed for one or the other as i have explained above.
either way you will be listening to the late 20th centurys finest classical composer with the most heartfelt music you will ever hear, connecting us to the divinity within us all.
22 Comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I have not considered buying an Arvo Part CD before because the only piece that I have ever heard by him has been his Spiegal im
Spiegal, which although is a beautiful piece, I found it personally a little repetitive. I then heard one of his other works on the
radio and was astonished by it's complexity and beautiful harmonies. I immediately purchased this CD from Amazon which was an
excellent price and contains many of his other works and found a new world of wonderful music. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
It may sound strange but my hands go cold when I listen to this. When agitated my hands go warm . In other words, it is peace bringing to me. Christ centred music. Not like anything I have heard before but I ain't no expert. Well packaged .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Arrived quickly and exactly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Pärt: Spiegel im Spiegel
£3.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)