Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
The Very Best Of Ravi Shankar
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 13 July 2017
Absolutely wonderful music played by the Master Genius here .. This you must purchase very deep and Intense music for the Mind to digest..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
Lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2013
Good selection for someone wanting to introduce themselves to sitar based music from this master of the art. Extemely good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2011
I first heard Ravi Shankar playing the sitar, the traditional Indian guitar, in Singapore in 1967, when the multiracial audience, many of whom had never heard Indian music before, gave him a standing ovation for the haunting lyricism of his melodies, and the wit with which he and his tabla player (drummer) invented complicated rhythms and challenged each other to copy then. His influence on the Beatles is famous. I heard him play again this year (2011) when he is just as inventive and musically agile despite being 90 years old. This CD is a good introduction to his music.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I happened to hear some Sitar music recently, and learnt that with regret Ravi Shankar had passed away, and so I decided to seek out some of his work. I've always liked the Sitar, and found it's tones to be both relaxing and uplifting depending on the raga that is being played.

Shankar was probably to the Sitar what Jimi Hendrix was to the electric guitar, and so you are not going to be disappointed which any of his work, this included.

Pure Sitar playing at it's best; deep, and meaningful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2012
An outstanding CD which as the Title says is the very best of Ravi Shankar. If you enjoy this type of music then this is a must
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2013
I have left out one star-which represents my own inadequacy to fully appreciate (what to me) is a completely new form of music. I need to play it a few more times to appreciate the full genius of the master. Not to mention his wonderful associates. The 5th star is therefore a formality waiting for the music to shine in my brain receptor areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
Excellent playing and excellent recording giving enormous pleasure.The sitar is a difficult instrument but Ravi Shanker makes it sing .His music making has overcome all national boundaries and has become an enchanting experience for mankind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2013
Ravi Shankar is such a brilliant artist and musician and this cd does illustrate his excellence and skill. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
Hadn't heard this before, but really love it, an amazing blend of talents with awesome musical conversations. would recommend to any fan of of Ravi Shankar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Passages
£7.99
Traditional: The Spirit of India
£8.99
Traces Of You
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)