Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Bella
  • Customer reviews

Bella
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 December 2013
This album is my favourite and I have all Teddy's releases,not a single track that's not good. Here's looking forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2011
Bella is filled with some beautiful tracks typical of the usual standard of Teddy Thompson. I would recommend it to any country fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2015
What can you say about this guy he's got the best voice going he writes great and choose's great covers, gets into your soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2015
Teddy Thompson delivers yet again. Magnificent vocal performances on well crafted songs with a terrific band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2017
Love this as I am a big fan of Teddy, and now have all his cds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2014
Love Teddy Thompson what excellent music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 February 2011
This is an album of mostly uptempo, catchy pop songs, with country and rock'n'roll overtones. It's a bit retro in places, with Roy Orbison style strings and bits of quasi film music backing up the songs.
There are some pretty good songs, like the single, Looking For A Girl, which is a pretty straightforward track. Delilah is along similar lines, but with a distinctive violin (or viola perhaps) streak running through the chorus, and quite big orchestration. Teddy takes things up a notch with Take Me Back Again, where he stretches his vocals a bit. This is quite a strong and distinctive song. He stretches his vocals even further on Take Care Of Yourself, moving right into Roy Orbison territory with a soaring falsetto. The One I Can't Have is a very typical, very catchy TT song with a good lyric and rhythm.
And he rounds off the album with the best song: Gotta Have Someone. This is a slow, country-tinged and, for Teddy Thompson, moderately positive song.
So it's all very nice. If you like radio-friendly three-minute pop songs that sound a bit retro.
The trouble is, that TT's previous album created a huge expectation that Bella can't live up to. It just isn't as confident, as interesting, as solid, or as well produced.
In fact, it's the production of Bella (or perhaps that should be the over production) that bothers me most. It sounds compressed, muddy, thin, un-dynamic... well, not all of those things all of the time, but too often, and it can be wearing to listen to. Some of the songs escalate into a wall of sound that's a bit hard on the ears. Interestingly, it sounds better on a portable than on your hi-fi.
There are a few songs that won't make it onto my iPod. Home is my least favourite: this doesn't have enough bite or irony or poetry in to lift it above the banal. It seems out of place here. Over and Over is a bit of a dirge that TT sings in a virtual monotone to a slightly weird string backing. Again, the lyrics can't lift this track above its rather dour musical setting. Tell Me What You Want could have been a good duet, if he hadn't chosen someone with a comedy singing voice to be his singing partner. It's a very hard track to listen to for that reason, and a shame.
So, on the whole, I'm a bit disappointed. I think there are some decent songs lurking here amongst some pretty average ones. With better production it could have been a better album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2015
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2011
I have loved Teddy Thompson from the first album and every release is a must buy for me (something reserved for Kate Bush, Richard Thompson , Steely Dan and Joni Mitchell only). He has a great voice and the songs are intelligent, tuneful and well constructed. Bella continues in that tradition. "A Piece of What You Need" was played to death by my wife and myself and we are still not tired of it. I think Bella will be like that for us ( I have only had it a couple of days).
TT needs to be better known and would be a good substitute for the talentless "stars" that frequent the TV and radio these days. I came to him first simply because he was Richard's son but he is very much his own man and his output is very different to his parent's music. Give it a whirl, you will not be sorry-all the talk of over production may be valid for the acoustic diehards but personally I like it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Separate Ways
£9.20
Teddy Thompson
£15.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)