Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2010
It's hard to define the best thing about Grandma's House. I can understand how not everyone has love for it, but I guess 'haters gonna hate'. The scriptwriting is quick, yet not needing for silly puns or naff sitcom-style laughter tracks. Much like Curb Your Enthusiasm, The Office or The Thick of It, it works of awkward wit and communication between stereotype characters. The character's would be nothing without some great performances (namely co-writer Amstell's, and the late Geoffrey Hutchings who gives a level-headed approach. In many ways he is the 'chorus' of the piece.) and the characters are created so well you could believe every second of it is written on Amstell's real life experiences.

To sum up, an excellent comedy-drama (where the drama is made easier to approach due to the comedy around it) and Amstell and Swimer should recieve many accolades for some of the best writing in recent years.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
Ive read some less than positive reviews about this and I really cannot understand why. Its fabulous - It is definately more subtle than alot of comedy/tv these days. Less frenetic, more thoughtful and in a lot of ways quite old fashioned but the script is excellent, sharp, almost much more like a piece of theatre than a modern sitcom.

Although it touches on older sitcoms in many ways - its stylings, location etc it is also slyly subversive. Simons Grandad passing him a book on good oral sex for men that he picked up from the library "because they were worried he wasnt happy" would not be in Terry and June. It does touch subtly on Jewish humour often, again subtly but brilliantly - It is not a replica of curb or the office or any of those sitcoms, it is very much its own beast. It improves with a second viewing and certainly rewards more with time. I think it will only go from strength to strength with such solid writing.

Its a brave move to go from making such bombastic television as popworld etc to something in a much quieter vein and in these days of "celebs" only being allowed to have one facet of there personality on show at any one time it was always going to upset people who just want to see mr Amstell call someone an idiot. And perhaps that is very much the point of this whole show.

Its excellent. Gets better as the series continues and stays with you in a way most more transient flash bang wallop comedies dont.
I wish all reinvention was as good as this.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2016
I watched this when it was first broadcast on the BBC back in 2010. Although, in many people's opinion, this followed the same trope as Channel 4's 'Friday Night Dinner', in reality it's more of a cerebal 'Curb Your Enthusiasm' show then anything else. Playing a fictional version of himself, Amstell aims to explain his career choices to his cloying mother and the rest of his dysfunctional family.

Particular note must be given to the sheer quality of the cast, who excel. Simon himself is more wooden than a forest, but who cares? James Smith's portrayal of the mercurial Clive is of particular note.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Well I know some of the acting was a tad ham at first but actually only in the first episode, and some of the women were hilarious.
I found the whole thing superb, realistic and a great relief from the usual drivel that passes as comic sit coms on TV. Razer sharp wit, fantastic characterization and so fresh and alive.
Simon is really himself and as entertainingly brilliant as ever. I think some people just don't get how talented and intelligent he and his writing is.
I hope there is more to come, have not enjoyed anything so much since Roger and Val have just got in, this is what we need more of, believable sit coms not cheesy formulaic drivel with canned laughter to indicate where the so called funny lines are.
More Simon, more!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Hilarious! I loved this when it was first televised and I still love it just as much now. It's one of those shows you'll never get bored of and always find funny. The fact that Simon is so awkward adds to the humour and although at times, I found myself cringing, it's a great series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Very enjoyable, have ordered series 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
great quality product and great customer service, great quality product and great customer service, i would shop again without hesitation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2010
Simon Amstell is like Marmite you either love him or you don't. If you get his humour which is ultimately about him being ill at ease with celebrity egos then you will appreciate Grandma's house. Each episode takes place around a family visit to Grandma's House. Simon battles with his demons': not having a boyfriend, feeling guilty about slagging of popstars on Buzzcocks (although that it is Buzzcocks is only infered), hating his Mum's new boyfriend. His family brilliantly cast (Rebecca Fron, Linda Basset) and played, offer encouragment, warmth and criticism. They also bicker. The intimacy relies on you the viewer being in on the joke. None of it is really true Simon Amstell isn't really saying he is like this but it is very, very clever. Episode 5 where he invites his Dad round for a group therapy session to excorcise old resentments is especially funny. There is no laughter track and it does require getting beyond episode 1 to really 'get' what is going on. It's not Terry and June or The Royale Family or even The Kumars. I thought it was more like Roseanne at it's peak. I also loved how matter of fact everybody was about him trying to flirt with a potential boyfriend in the front room. I hope there is a second series!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
The secret of enjoying Grandma's House is to let it wash over you. Every couple of minutes in the manic conversation someone, usually Liz, will come out with something that has you rolling on the floor.

And Granny - I love her to bits:

Liz: "Dad's got cancer."

Grandma: "Would anyone like a banana?"

The people who complain about Simon Amstell's acting are missing the point - he is a painful actor making a virtue out of being a painful actor.

This is great stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I'm loving this - surprisingly feelgood despite its sometimes sad plotlines and gallows humour. I've been laughing out loud at it. Also love the v subtle - and realistic - Jewish references - not too in-your-face, just authentic. I'm just over half-way through series 1 and looking forward to the other half plus series 2 I was given. May have to buy series 3 myself, now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)