Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
22
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2011
I was quite disappointed when I listened to this recording. There was no information on the cover about which artists were performing or when it was recorded. The sound quality is poor with a lot of background noise. I won't be buying any more of these recordings.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This review is not only about 'The Pirates of Penzance' but of the entire 'Golden Legacy' d'Oyly Carte Operas offering.

However important the D'Oyly Carte recordings may be - and they _are_ important, given they are the closest that we may have of the original performances - it is inadmissible at any price that the entirety of this collection on the 'Golden Legacy' label is merely a sloppy direct transfer of (much used!) vinyls, including hiss, ticks, scratches and record player rumble - not to mention the occasional high pitch sound distortion.

No work of any kind has been done to go back to the original tape recordings or to remaster the sound. In short, a complete disaster. I had these recordings on cassettes, and they sound better than these so-called CDs. Don't let me get started on the presentation, which is even sloppier than the rest: perfunctory to put it charitably, illegible at times, contents of disk 1 followed by contents of... disk 1 within the same set, no separate tracks, but just the bulk of each act at once, etc...

Except if you're nostalgic in a perverted way, and wish to hear how a worn long-play record sounds on a cheap phonograph attached to an even cheaper audio system, don't buy any items of this collection!

Unfortunately, lured by the relatively cheap price of each opera, I did not look further than these versions - while there exist remastered, much better recordings of the complete G&S d'Oyly Carte operas, judging from the user critics. One on the Avid label with a 1950s mono complete operas version, which at £20 is cheaper than the embarrassingly awful 'Golden Legacy' collection. It's a historical recording, apparently, including hoity-toity British accents, but excellent sound quality given its age. The other is of course the glorious (but relatively dear) Decca stereo version of the 1960s. So, go for one of these.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
This is an historical recording made sometime in the 1950's. As such it is a valuable document of the work of the D'Oyly Carte Company from that period. It is not a modern stereo recording nor does it pretend to be. Two things in particular occur to me:
1) It would have been helpful perhaps if some of your other reviewers had read the description of the product before commenting so harshly on the recording quality. Actually, it is, in my opinion, of good average quality for its vintage.
2) How much can we really demand of a double album costing £3.50!

It is a bargain
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Good recording of D'Oyly Carte but I didn't realise that you can't select individual tracks. Disappointed. Will be more careful next time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
Very bad quality, some of it sounds like a pirated copy, no information about the cd on the wrapping, if I hadn't urgently needed to hear some of the songs, I would undoubtedly returned it. I suppose as it was so cheap, I shouldn't have been surprised,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Learning it for a concert in July, bought on CD with a free MP3 download included. Great as a MP3, but only thing stopping it getting 5 stars is the lack of individual tracks on the CD, they are woven together, which is a pain in the butt if you want one particular bit!! x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Okay so the recording is historic, but, the quality is poor to the extent that I will not listen to it a great deal and will probably purchase a different recording at some point in time. My own view is that some people hold too much value in the 'historic' side of things, I much prefer a cleaner recording. Yes I do understand that is all a matter of personal taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Not very impressed with the sound quality. The overture appears on track 1 and track 2! No good if you want to listen to individual tracks. Won't buy this type again. Maybe cheap, but not very good

Keith Newport
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
again like the last one very poor digital re mix I know that the original recording was a long time ago but still poor
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
This CD has been imperfectly converted from the original recordings. I only plays intermittently and where a track plays it is slow and thus in the wrong key. Your suppliers should aware of the unacceptable standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.56

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)