Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
42
4.8 out of 5 stars
Size: 30 cm|Change
Price:£124.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2013
The casserole was bought to replace a Tefal product when its non-stick coating had eventually given up. Although it was a nice pan the LeCreuset is in another class. It is beautifully made, feels like it will last forever with securely fitted handles and its shape has no sharp internal angles. This makes cooking in it and cleaning afterwards much easier. It does cook extremely well and I would certainly recommend following the advice to use only low to mid temperatures as heat transfer seems very efficient.
In summary; well designed, well made and a pleasure to use. I love it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 January 2012
Probably paying a premium for the name here, but it is worth it. This is exactly the kind of pan we were looking for, and it more than matches our requirements and expectations. It is beautifully made. The heat is transferred throughout the pan extremely evenly. On some designs of pan there is a very thick sandwich base which also does this well, but because the base stops before the edge of the pan, it is easy to get severe hot spots just off the edge of the base where the pan is much thinner, leading to sticking and burning even on moderate heat. That just does not happen with this pan, because the material is the same all the way up to the rim.

Another pet hate of mine which this avoids is the prevalence of glass lids on pans now. They look nice and certainly let you see some of what is going on underneath, but the design of the rim which seems common to pretty much every such pan lid now means that water gets inside the rim when it is washed, and will not come out unless left to dry for days, or (as I do with one that we have) if you put it in a warm oven for 10 minutes after washing/drying. If you don't do this, you can often end up with soapy greasy water bubbling and seeping out of the rim and in to the pan when it is next used. Yuk.

It is also a very good size, so you can fry and brown a good amount of food in it without overcrowding leading to steaming/boiling as mentioned by the first review here.

It cleans up very easily. As long as it is not abused, this pan should give years and years of good service.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
This item is quite expensive, but then you also are paying for the brand name behind the item. Visually, it seems well made straight out of the box, nicely polished with no sharp or loose ends.

I was thinking of buying the 'ProCook Professional' casserole dish given its thick and heavier encapsulated sandwich base. It also looked more solid than others out there. Eventually, I decided to go with this Le Creuset casserole. It's considerably lighter than the same-brand cast iron frying pans and casserole dishes. I knew this would be the case but I was surprised at how light it actually is. I'm probably too used to cast iron products, but it would be interesting to know the grade of steel used in this product.

Anyway, I tried it for the first time yesterday. I followed instructions on initial preparation (wash/dry/oil) and kept in mind that it should not be used on a high heat. I did add some balsamic vinegar and tomatoes to the dish, so a certain amount of acidity was involved in the cooking. The food came out nice; no problems on that front. The next day I washed it and let it dry naturally in the heat. When I went to put it away, I noticed blotches on the surface of the dish (faint golden-yellow and blue mostly). Wiping with a clean cloth didn't remove the stains, so I'll have to clean (possibly with vinegar and bicarbonate of soda or Jif/Cif cream), rewash, rinse thoroughly and dry immediately. Some pictures are attached.
review image review image review image
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Sad though it is, I love my new pan! I spent ages looking online and in shops, trying to find a stainless steel casserole pan, and the Le Creuset seemed to be the best. It's well made, no non-stick coating, no holes in the lid, no screws to come undone, no glass lid to scratch. But best of all, it cooks like a dream; you only need to use low to medium heat with it - something clever to do with the way it's constructed - cleans up fabulously in the dishwasher, and best of all, looks beautiful. In fact it's so lovely, I bought another one, the 24 cm one for smaller dishes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I have this item, and the larger 30cm version, and the same comments apply to both sizes.

My girlfriend has the cast iron equivalent of the 30cm casserole, and, functionally at least, the stainless version is superior in every way. Deeper, lighter, easier to clean, appears to heat more evenly and, imho, the stainless looks better. Ok, the cast iron stuff is very nice to look at, but for the business of actually cooking something, Le Creuset's stainless 3-ply range is the best.

Cast iron for a lifestyle statement, stainless to cook on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I am so pleased with my Le Creuset shallow casserole pan. It is a pleasure to use, and cleans up really well. Great for on the hob and in the oven. Lovely curves so food doesn't stick around the edges, and nicely finished with no sharp joins.A well fitting lid so you can cook with a minimum of liquid. Heavy gauge so it doesn't need a high heat either. The handles stay cool enough to hold even when in "mid-cooking" mode.
All and all an excellent item, you really do get what you pay for.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This is a beautifully designed piece of equipment. Good for two or four at a squeeze, hob to oven to table, with less of the weight normally associated with Le Creuset.. Cleans like a dream so stays looking posh. A flatter top handle would save oven space but that is a minor quibble. Generally this a joy to use.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
I decided to go back to stainless steel after two hard anodised shallow casserole pans rusted. My other stainless steel pans have lasted for 30 years and are still going strong and hopefully this casserole will last the same. I already have lots of the Le Creuset cast iron saucepans and casseroles which are great to look at and cook with, although heavy. The stainless steel also looks good, cooks well but has the advantage of being lighter to lift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Excellent quality, as always from Le Creuset. This is quite small. I use it for stir frying small quantities of food, which it does perfectly...without any non stick coating. Much healthier, and no problem to clean. Great for curries and bolognese too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I love to cook and I love Le Creuset stainless steel pans. A very versatile piece of equipment. Thank you LeCruset and Amazon, good service all round not to mention excellent price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)