Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2013
i heard this book mentioned in a film as a risqué book of the 1920s, so decided to read it. i must say, this book can give mills&boon a run for their money! strong storyline (although, i did not care much about political discourses), more grounded romance of two people and tastefully written love scenes. d.h. lawrence did well describing human relationships without running away with the fairies and sending his readers on an emotional/hysterical/loves-me-loves-me-not roller-coaster ride. if you enjoy love stories, but cannot stand the saccharine taste of twee romantic novels, this one is a great reading experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
A must read for anyone who likes literature - a different world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
I'm old enough to remember the scandalous "Trial of Lady Chatterley" in or around 1960, when Penguin Books won the right to publish "Lady Chatterley's Lover" for sale to the general public. The bookshops (notably W H Smith's) were immediately piled high with the orange and white paperback, so that little else appeared to be on sale. Just afterwards I remember coming home from school to find my father (whom I had never known to read anything but the Daily Mirror) reading a paperback book encased in a brown paper cover! When asked what it was, he looked very sheepish and put it away hurriedly without comment! At around the same time an old lady in the village advised some of us pre-pubescent girls not to read it as it would "put you off getting married"! I very much doubt whether she had read it herself!

Despite more than 50 years having elapsed since its release to the public, I'd never bothered to read it. However, I noticed it when browsing the Kindle Store and downloaded it out of curiosity, only to find it to be one of the most beautiful, compelling and poignant love stories I have ever read. By today's standards the descriptions which caused all the furore are by no means shocking although, rather than the sex scenes, the descriptions of the class structure which existed in the early 20th century and the very liberal ideas on adultery and infidelity discussed by the "upper classes" would seem to be far more surprising.

I'm glad that I didn't read the book when it first became available as I think I wouldn't have had the maturity to appreciate the beauty of the language or to understand the insight the story gives into an age and a class structure that doesn't exist in such a defined manner any more. I have found the book a joy to read and am glad that I've got round to reading it at last.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
I can't believe I hadn't read this before, but now I am so glad I have. Lawrence's writing is so refreshing when one has been immersed in modern literature for some time. He tells us what he thinks, writes in immensley believeable detail about a woman's feelings, and the interplay of psychological, social and topographical detail in the novel is masterly. I wish more modern writers were capable of this.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Have never been a fan of what I call english literature books, prefer to read a fantasy or rom com kind of book, but spotted this whilst browsing and thought why not, and I couldnt put it down.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
It`s interesting to read this periodically to see how it holds up as its impact changes in the changing times.....but every time I read it I find something new and interesting.....well worth revisiting.It arrived very promptly and its condition was as expected and as described. Good value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is Lawrence as his very best. Yes, the book is a bit wordy and overblown but once you get into the story it really grips you. I recall at boarding school we came across a copy and all huddled under a blanket with a torch just to read the 'naughty' words. Now I am grown up, the 'naughty' words aren't so naughty anymore and are used in context so well that they don't offend the reader.

The story is basically about an upper class couple...........he is crippled and she is bored so her boredom takes her to a place that she would erstwhile never have thought of going.

This is a book that I believe should be on everyone's 'to read' list before they shuffle off this mortal coil.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I bought this book to read on my Kindle. The formatting was fine and the chapter bookmarking made it easy to navigate around the book. 5 stars relates to use on the Kindle. As for the novel itself, I found it rather sad but would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
I can't believe I haven't read this book before! It's not quite what I was expecting, it is so much more. It's beautifully written, I just want to keep reading but I don't want to finish it - yet!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Although I'd read other works by Lawrence, this one had passed me by, but due to the wonders of the kindle, I am able to revisit many classics and fill in the gaps.

The first thing to say is that it isn't worth reading if you're after porn. Moreover, Like most novels of it's time, don't expect a modern style racy thrill-a-page novel. They just didn't do that then really y'know. I see the odd criticism because it's a slow burner, But you may as well criticise Mario Puzo's "The Godfather" for it's lack of humour.

Having said that, you do get 12% of the way through the book really just setting the scene before there's even any direct speech. But from those beginnings this slow burner smoulders allright.

The central character isn't the lover, as the title leads you to believe, but Lady Chatterley. Imprisoned in a marriage without love, physical or otherwise, she seeks fulfilment and finds it with the gamekeeper. Her, in some ways pitiful husband desperately seeks to hold on to her, whilst being unable to show real affection. His physical disability is an outward manifestation of his inability to love. The well drawn gamekeeper strangely has similar problems, living a hermit's existence stuck between two classes with a wife that has left him for another.

You are drawn into the plot and you want to know how it ends. Frustratingly there isn't a complete tidying up of the plot at the end, much is left to the reader's imagination as to how things eventually are resolved. In fact, reflecting on this after the last page, The Italian Job movie sprang to mind.

This book is certainly a window into the 1920's and how lives were led, so I believe it's historically significant. But you have to be aware that Lawrence often uses his characters to give voice to his opinions and thoughts. Rather than a complete work of fiction, you can see that there's certainly a degree of autobiographical content here, but then again, I'd argue that's when Lawrence is at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here