Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
28
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2014
I decided to pick this book up because I found that the BBC Books' scarcely seem to publish a Cyberman story. So I was thankful of this addition to the line up, even if the book is a "Quick Read" book.
I was also happy to learn that Terrance Dicks has returned to writing Doctor Who stories, as he is a big name in the classic series and wrote the brilliant 20th Anniversary story "The Five Doctors"

This book deals with the after-effects of the 2006 story "Doomsday". Only a small group of Cybermen remain on Earth. They are trying to bring themselves back to power by stealing technology from the Earth's military forces. It's the job of the 10th Doctor and Martha to stop them.
Firstly, the good points. Devoted fans of Doctor Who will know that in the TV series, Martha never met the Cybermen. It is therefore nice to see how she interacts with them in this book. It is also nice to see how people reacted to her vanishing from the Royal Hope hospital and left her friends questioning where she had gone.
Terrance Dicks has also introduced a couple of new characters that the Doctor interacts with. The military have two main characters. Whilst we don't explore them in great depth, they help to keep the pace and story going.
Now on to the bad points, the reason I picked this story up was because of the Cybermen being incorporated into the BBC Books range. Whilst it is great to see them here, they are largely kept in the background in this book. Due to this, I felt no sense of urgency or danger coming from them. The Cybermen are also portrayed as scavengers here, having to scrimp and scrape from Earth's technology. Whilst this is an essential plot-point and key to the story, it makes them appear weaker and it is difficult to believe that they were all over the Earth upgrading humanity, only a few stories ago.

In conclusion, I would say this book isn't bad but it isn't brilliant. The story remains balanced on both good and negative points. It is good to see more of Martha's friends and how they reacted to her leaving but the central threat that the story presents is a weak one and it's sad to see the Cybermen so underused, especially when BBC Books rarely do a story with the Cybermen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Before marking any reviews as 'unhelpful', note that an Amazon error means that this page is for both 'Made of Steel' and 'Revenge of the Judoon'. To circumnavigate the problem I'll include reviews for both books here.

As an English teacher I am well aware of the barrage of criticism aimed at the literacy levels of many of today's children. What you have here is a superb range of stories that waste little time on preamble but plunge the reader instantly into the story and then keep them hooked right to the end; ideal for kids with short attention spans and those who struggle to wade through a full-length novel.
The new series of Doctor Who has thrown up a range of publications that even rival the golden era of the Target novelisations; the 'Quick Reads' range are just one example of these. Following on from 'I am a Dalek' these two entries in the series once again pit The Doctor and Martha against the remorseless men from Mondas, and the brutal space police with rhinocerid heads. Both novellas deliver fast-paced yet intelligent tales that reflect the current TV series and which are perfect for people who 'don't really like reading'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This was a very quick read. I'm an adult and love Doctor Who, but unfortunately this book is written for younger children so I didn't enjoy it. I'll be handing it over to my kids to read; reckon they would enjoy it more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2007
'Made of Steel' is the 2nd novel in the Doctor Who Quick Reads series, featuring a very brisk story (100 pages of large type) ideally aimed either at children or adult non-readers. This story is a direct sequel to the Cyberman/Dalek war that climaxed the 2nd series of the revived Doctor Who on television, with the handful of remaining Cybermen who are trapped on Earth hunting the Doctor to force him to re-open the Void. A decent mix of light humour from the 10th Doctor and action as the Cybermen take on the army ensues, and while this doesn't quite match 'I Am A Dalek' in terms of new ideas this is still a fair facimilie of a 45-minute TV story. Author Terrance Dicks introduced a whole legion of children to the pleasures of reading with his Target Doctor Who novelisations of the 1970's, hopefully 'Made of Steel' will help some of the youth of today along the same road...
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
The Characters of The Doctor and Martha wee spot on..The energy in the story was fully felt..I loved the links to Torchwood Tower and the stories..Army Of Ghosts..Doomsday and Smith and Jones..The Doctor cleaverly takes control of the situation once he realises that The Cybermen have once again returned. There are some great comedy moments with The Doctor which you match with David Tennants portrail..As useual The Doctor used very great and cleaver skill against The Cybermen and saves Martha in the bargin..I must that this short Doctor Who story was excellent...Good and gritty and very much recommended to all fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
I think it's worth remembering that this is a 'quick read' which is generally aimed at encouraging kids to read or a few adults when they have the time. For example, I read half of this book in bed last night and I'll no doubt read the other half tonight. For £1.99, you can't really fault that.

With that in mind, yes it is short, but then it is meant to be and i felt that I was reading a 10th Doctor and Martha story. It reminded me somewhat of the 'Short Trips' books that have previously been published for the preceding Doctors. The author has clearly watched enough of Tennant's episodes to know who he's writing about and how to write him.

So far, I've found the story easy to follow, easy to read and it has left me wanting to know what's about to happen.. and that in my mind, is a brilliant foundation for a good book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2008
Barcode: 9781846073724

In 2007 Terrance Dicks provided us Who fans with the ace 'Made Of Steel' - it was well paced, fun and exciting - everything a good Doctor Who story should be. And now we have 'Revenge of the Judoon', which if anything, is even better!

Set in 1902 at the dawn of the 20th century the Doctor and Martha get to meet King Edward VII in the form of a ace adventure taking the form of the classic Who scenario - psuedo-historical setting where advanced technology is being involved way before its time.

It's a great idea updated very well. Martha is utilised well and Terrance Dicks has toned down the slight cheesiness of the 10th Doctor found in 'Made of Steel' and he now comes across as a far more serious character, befitting of his title as a Time Lord. The supporting roles are really well done too, Captain Harry Carruthers, a man in the employ of the King stepping in to fill one of those crucial 'one-off-companion-esque' roles.

This is a very fast story, taking place on an epic global scale going from Scotland to London to the Middle East all in the space of a day. But where Dicks succeeds is boiling this epic scale down to tightly paced dialogue and snappy action scenes where we see our heroes forced to make fast decisions in order to save the day.

My only criticisms would be in the title of the book itself. The Judoon are neither the main 'villains' in this story and while their upwards-rain-building-transport technology appears early on, they themselves don't appear till much later. For a story called 'Revenge of the Judoon', they neither do much revenge or even feature in the story that much.

That said though, it's only a minor quibble and on the whole this is a fantastic book, quick to read and at a great price too. Well worth getting!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Almost written as an introduction to the Doctor, even listing the full text on the TARDIS door. It is very short with a handful of scenes. They do tie in nicely with the series and what happened to the cybermen at the void, but it is over very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Since its return to the screen in 2005, masterminded by Russell T Davies, Doctor Who has become a genuine phenomenon picking up countless awards, attracting huge audiences and selling lots and lots of books - over half a million so far.

This thrilling adventure sees the Doctor pitted against one of his most famous adversaries - the deadly Cybermen. The first book to feature the Doctor's companion Martha Jones, it is sure to be snapped up by all fans of the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Delivered quickly and in good condition. I bought because I am fan of Doctor Who books. They are easy, fun reads and this was exactly that. Would recommend for Doctor Who fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse