Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2011
Other reviewers have highlighted the negatives that this unit has rather than look on the positive side. No it isn't going to compete with specialist lenses that cost upwards of £400, but that isn't a fair comparison so why make it?

How easy is it to use?
Very - just screw it on to the front of the cameras lens and away you go.

How good is it?
Depends on how you use it - at it's widest you can definitely see the edge of the lens encroaching in to the frame, easily cured by zooming in fractionally.

I did a shoot inside a hotels guestrooms and corridors: yes the walls were bent, but most wide angle lenses have the same problem. You could use a Lens Baby, but that is more expense. I used Photoshop Elements 8 to change the perspective and no-one that has seen the results has commented that there is any problem.

The resulting photographs have been printed up to A3 and they look absolutely fine.

Camera used: Canon 400D with standard 18-55mm lens and the wide angle attachment. Exposure varied between 3 and 30 seconds so the camera was firmly fixed to a tripod and a wireless shutter release was used.
0Comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
You get what you pay for! I regretted this purchase. You get wide angle images and macro images out of this, but DONT expect results similar to what you get from actual lenses. As I said, its cheap, so you get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
The wide angle lens was very easy to put on to the camera. It does as it says, and works very well for its purpose. However, the downfall of this lens, is taking it off. I found it very difficult to detach it from my 18 - 55mm , and have still not got it off. I plan on taking it to a photography store for them to try and get it off. this wouldn't be a problem if the product came with instructions, but it doesn't.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Good value for money does what it says on the tin. Instructions were concise and to the point - have used it and it does the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Excellent product, excellent price - exactly as described! Not quite as wide an angle as I'd hoped, (not a 'fisheye' lens), but still great when zoomed out to it's maximum.
It does shorten the focal length of your camera somewhat (which is how it manages to 'cram' everything into the frame), but this isn't a problems as long as you expect it!
I left my superwide lens attached to my Canon 1100D for a while and there was no degradation in quality of pictures at all - it just gave me the flexibility to zoom right out and fit a wider shot into the frame.
To attach to the lens is simple, just (carefully!) screw in front of your lens (works perfectly with my 18-55mm kit lens) and away you go!
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I have a Canon EOS 60D with a 18mm - 55mm EFS Canon lens. I purchased this item after reading reviews and new that it was a very cheap alternative to buying a true wide angled lens. The item arrived promptly and was well packed. The lens case was decent quality. The lens attached without any issues. However, the first thing I did was take two internal photos (from the corner of a small room) and two outdoor landscape shots - one with the 18mm - 55mm and one with the Digiflex 58MM Wide Angle Lens. As I had read other reviews I was expecting vignetting to occur with the Digiflex lens and it this did happen. In order to remove the vignetting I zoomed out a little and was able to remove the dark corners from the photo. I then compared the photos (2 internal and 2 external) and ultimately the different between the 18mm - 55mm Canon lens and the 18mm - 55mm Canon lens with the Digiflex 58MM Wide Angle Lens (zoomed through the vignetting) was negligible. If you don't mind having blackened corners to your wide angle photos caused by vignetting then the Digiflex lens does allow for a wider more expansive shot. However, if you already have a 18mm - 55mm Canon lens and intent to zoom through the vignetting then my advice is not to bother - the Digiflex lens will not make any difference to your photos.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
There are a few things to note about this product.

1. It will fit any 58mm thread not just the camera models listed in the title.

2. As you'd expect, it does not compare to a real wide angle lens, it has serious barrel distortion, and is generally optically poor. You will struggle to get a good photo with this. However it is a fun piece of kit for an amateur photographer such as myself to mess around with.

3. With a kit lens on a canon body, you can get an 0.45 x 18mm wide angle, which is about a 13mm equivalent on a full frame camera if you consider the crop factor on an eos 550d etc. This is as wide as you'd expect to get from a real wide angle lens, for a 20th of the price.

Really its a good bit of fun, but don't expect fantastic results.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
The information on this item coud be more substantial. The thing with this 58mm wide angle lens is that you screw this device into the front of your existing lens, using the filter thread. The list of cameras in the description is misleading, as it will fit any lens with a 58mm filter thread.

You need to check what size you have,however other sizes are available. They basically half the focal length of the lens attached, so you get a wider angle. This cheap item loses a star in this review because of various optical effects- distortions, 'softness', and chromatic aberrations are common with this type of device.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
As an amateur, as I am, it is excellent to play around with, but would only use it to get more experience before investing in a more expensive lens. (I suspect most people would have guessed this anyway.) It is an excellent way of learning how best to use this type of lens. I also advise investing in a lens hood too, so that you make the most of this learning aid and avoid some side flare. Would definiately recommend this lens for this purpose - but spend more if you expect more.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Excellent, vignette does appear on widest possible shot. However, on some of the photos it looks great, vignette is easily removed with a slight adjustment to the zoom. Superwide angle with vignette or still great wide angle views at just less than the maximum. I would highly recommend this item to anybody wanting to trial wide angle, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)