Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
I'll Play The Blues For You
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 18 July 2014
Another Big Al Stax classic beautifully remastered. Blues as smooth as velvet slightly reminiscent of BB Kings polished "There is always one more time".One thing you can always rely on with an Albert King cd is wonderful driving funky base lines and this cd is full of them. The whole cd is beautifully put together. Its blues but with all musicians bang on the nail. Blues for the upmarket lounges rather than the bars on the chittlin circuit. After all Big Al has paid his dues.

This cd includes four of my all time King favourites the smooth slinky "I'll play the blues for you", the deeply menacing "Breaking up somebody's home" , the hard driving "High cost of loving" and the funky "Dont burn down the bridge". And two of those reappear as bonus alternate takes. What's not to like!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
Great album by a great artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2016
Great tracks to play along to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2016
Great CD and excellent price. Came wrapped, as new. My father was delighted with it (Christmas present).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2016
THE KING !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2015
super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2013
I already knew of this album but wanted it on my iPod player. If you don't know Albert's music this is a good place to start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2015
I had to get it for the improved sound quality. It is, in my opinion, the best album by Albert due the strong 'Stax-sound' with the horn section etc. You get a wider choice on his greatest hits album ( or whatever it's called ) but this album is a must-have classic like Etta James' ' Muscle shoals sessions' and other pieces of inspired magic from the Southern States of Georgia, Alabama, etc. It must have something to do with the water.

Eamonn
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2012
I'd imagine a lot of people share my experience - I bought Born Under a Bad Sign and then spent a lot more money chasing another AK album that was even half as good. I thought I'd found it with The Lost Session, but that hasn't stood the test of time.

But this is really terrific. Albert has another great band behind him, just like with Booker T, and possibly the best guitar tone he ever had. This just absolutely floats into your soul. And the extra tracks are better than some of the stuff on the original album. For once he gets the right blend of funk, soul, and blues.

I have about 10 AK CDs now, and this is one of the very best.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2015
This CD has no right to sound this good! The remastering is superb - the rhythm section beats you in the chest while AK's guitar tone stings your ears. After "Born Under A Bad Sign" with all the classic blues tracks, this is a great second buy - my favourite track is "Little Brother" purely for the sublime bassline. Buy it now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)