Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
51
3.5 out of 5 stars


HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 September 2013
Matt Smith reads this story and that is basically the problem- it would have been so much better dramatized with a full cast like the generally excellent Big Finish.

Matt Smith reads the story well and tackles the American voices from the time of the American Civil War but you can always tell that it is Matt Smith reading this but he is adequate.

The story involves a branch of the Confederate Army who has discovered a strange object.

The Doctor needs to retrieve it before the end of the world comes- at about 9.01 that evening.

He has landed and met a motley bunch of misfits to help him.

There are a few clever twist but this is an average story read in an average way, indeed editions of this were issued free with the Daily Telegraph which gives you an idea of its worth.

Average in all respects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Matt Smith - The Doctor himself - reads this audio story, and as well as doing his character's voice, he plays three wild west types the Doctor has hired (or will hire, as at the start of the story it's just as much a surprise to him) to help him steal an alien device back from the Confederate Army. In fact he plays these three characters with such enthusiasm that they almost jump out the speakers at you. He's obviously not one for doing things subtly when he gets the chance to go free range on a character, and that makes the plot almost irrelevant as you also get caught up in how much fun he's having with the characters.

The plot is not much more than a set-up for The Doctor being on a runaway train. It's not the most original story anyone's ever come up with, and it's probably more suited for children who are new fans than long time Whovians.

I'm a bit puzzled why, having spent so much time with Karen Gillan, Matt Smith can't get her Scottish accent right - but to his credit he doesn't fall into the usual trap of putting on a stereotypical "scootish" drawl, as some English actors do - at least, I suppose, he tried his best. Not that Amy Pond really has a lot to do in this story.

Although the characters Matt Smith play in this are good value for money, story-wise I preferred The Ring of Steel, and would recommend that instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Runaway Train is a good, fast paced story, loosely constructed around the old Wild West theme of a runaway train. It stars Matt Smith as the narrator, and suffers slightly from the idea that the Doctor has pre-planned his adventures by taking the Tardis back to an earlier time to arrange for characters to be in the right place when needed. It suffers even more from Matt Smith's terrible attempts at an American accent, and his even worse efforts to imitate Karen Gillam as Amy Pond.

The solution to the story seemed a bit too easy to me - a magic fix with very few tools to hand. The setting is clearly not meant to be taken too seriously, starring a train crashing off the half built bridge of an unfinished railway line in the American mid-west, with the obligatory fight on the roof of the moving train. Plenty of action, and some amusing moments - if you're a fan of the 11th Doctor (I'm not!) you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 December 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Big Doctor Who fan, and have listened to quite a few of the other BBC audiobooks in the series. This one was ok, but a bit lightweight. Matt Smith did a perfectly serviceable job narrating, though his attempt at Amy's accent wandered about a bit.

It was also quite a short story - personally I prefer the two-disc stories which give the characters more time to get to grips with the story itself.

Enjoyable enough way of spending an hour or so though, but nothing outstanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've really enjoyed listening to many Doctor Who stories, and have always enjoyed listening to them. This has a good sound(!), Matt Smith reads the story well and makes a fun job of it. But the story is turgid and doesn't flow. I didn't particularly enjoy this. Choose another Doctor Who story if you are going to be new to the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am a big Doctor Who fan. This one is read by the new Doctor Matt Smith and other than Amy's scottish accent being a bit dodgy he does it really well. He is very good at creating an atmosphere and making things a little sinister.

It's a good Doctor Who story.
Alien technology lands on Earth during the American civil war and the bad guys think it might be a weapon when in actually fact it's a device for transferring a planet into a habitable one for another breed of aliens.

It's a little confusing as it seems to start part way through the story but once you get to the end it makes sense which is partly why I've only given it four stars the other reason why I've only given it four stars is because it is just too short. It is just over an hour long could have done with being a little bit longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am quite a fan of BBC Audio, and a long time fan of Doctor Who.

I was very disappointed when I listened to this very short story. There just isn't enough of it to make it worth the price to all but the very avid fan. The effects are average, and while Matt Smith makes a great Doctor, he sadly lacks the vocal skills to bring this average story to life. The cowboys all sound the same, and don't even get me started on Amy Pond's accent!

The story itself is very contrived. I was looking forward to the action and suspense that you would expect from a story with the Runaway Train title. But the train plays a very small part in the story, and the fact that it is running away seems to not matter at all. There isn't even much in the way of humour.

Hopefully the BBC will realise that bringing out these short below par stories will end up turning away fans who will only put up with this for so long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 23 October 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Runaway Train continues the rather disappointing run of recent audio adventures from the BBC, and like many recent Dr Who adventure it feels less like the kind of genuine attempt to keep the series alive before its TV resurrection than another rushed cash-in on its current popularity. It's not exactly bad, but it is rather forgettable and noticeably thin on ideas - this is really little more than a chase through the Civil War American West (or rather a very small part of it), and not a terribly original one: take away the alien terraforming device that threatens to destroy all life on Earth as we know it that everybody is after and you've just got a B-movie western. Writer Oli Smith throws in a neat opening riff on Once Upon a Time in the West - this time it's the TARDIS rather than Charles Bronson a bunch of mean hombres are waiting for at a rundown railway station - and has fun naming the odd character after members of the Magnificent Seven, but that's about as far as it goes for depth. Matt Smith's reading veers between good and bad - accents aren't his forte, which is a problem with a Scottish assistant and numerous cowboys populating the story - but generally makes the most of what he has to work with. Two stars does seem a rather mean rating (it's more two-and-a-half star material at best), but it's all too thin to really stick in the memory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
I have never been a big fan of westerns, but this story got me hooked right at the start when it is clear that the motley crew of men that meet the Doctor on this out-of-the-way railroad station in the middle of the `wild west' begin the tale by knowing more than the Doctor does at this point. The story moves along quickly with everything you want out of a Doctor Who tale, with danger and chases and aliens thrown in for good measure. At just over an hour in length it is disappointingly short. I was enjoying it so much I wanted it to continue!

Matt Smith is the narrator, and is thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. Amy Pond's scottish accent was extremely dodgy I have to say, but he did manage to make her sound feminine all the same which is quite an acheivement. His characterisation of the Doctor is, of course, spot on, and the American characters all sound (to me at least) genuine enough. The music and the sound effects are all well done and do not interfere with the storytelling in any way. Overall, I found The Runaway Train very easy to listen to, and it is a perfect way to overcome the irritation of a traffic-jam!!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 23 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This adventure runs for one hour and five minutes and is set amidst the American Civil War. The Doctor and Amy get a posse together to retrieve an alien gadget that's going to destroy the world, which has fallen into the clutches of the Confederate Army. This is my first Dr Who adventure and I expected it to be a dramatisation something like a radio play but it is actually a story narrated by the current Doctor Who namely Matt Smith. He does a fair job of narration attempting to effect different voices and accents as required. The story is pretty much straight out of Boys Own with a smattering of whimsy, and a little bit of introspection from the Doctor. This is great for 15 year-olds but adults may find it less appealing being pretty much on one level. The storyline retained my attention but didn't grip me. One criticism is that if you're listening to it at bedtime, one or two of the sound effects were a bit loud and made me jump. However, I have to say that I did successfully fall asleep to it -- you can make of that what you will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)