Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Barking
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 April 2017
Another excellent album from Underworld
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
Great price, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
First the good news, Scribble is a great track up their with Underworlds best, incredibly catchy tune with a pounding drum n bass backdrop. Sadly that's as good as it gets as the rest of Barking is far too poppy and mainstream and all rather forgettable. There is a reason why Scribble is the only track from this album to regularly feature in their live sets 6 years later. Thankfully Underworld returned to the band we know and love on the follow up 2016s Barbara Barbara , We face a shining future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2011
Who would think that so much harmony and rhythm could surge for decades out of two balding Welsh oldies?

Glimpse heaven, uncover new bass beats from the subconscious of you heart, and most importantly put masking tape on your replay button because Underworld, after a bit of swamp and marshes for almost a decade are back with a vengance! There is not a weak song on this entire album, it rocks you, charms you, harmonizes you, makes you deeply reflect and shows you that Beaucoup fish sunny sobriety that Underworld's one-of-a-kind dark beats can only achieve!

Underworld are a Genre... and this is one of those strange albums that breaks completely new ground, takes a while for the public to accept it, and then becomes a monument to the thought process we so lovingly call music!

If Rez/Cowgirl, King of Snake, Moaner, Born Slippy or the Atlantic Surf crashing against jagged rocks at midnight ever carried your soul buy this album...

If you love you car, buy this album....

This is an album every car must own!

Now for the review....

"Bird" 1 shows you a completely new dimension of upward-progressive-trance with a deep philosophical, mature chorus scintillating the nervous system

"Between the Stars" stands to be a new classic which TV advertisements will do vicious mud-battle for! The groove is completely unforgettable... in fact I can't get it to leave my head and everyone that I make it listen to says the same..... if you don't believe me go to youtube and get hooked... it is one of Underworld's most universal songs to date.

"Always loved a Film" is an anthem in the waking. The soulful beats that only underworld can shake up already getting heralled as a live-show favourite in their 2011 tours around Europe. Again off to youtube with you! "HEAVEN, heeavven, heavven cannn you feel it" .... this is your chance for a glimpse of it :D

You want vintage Underworld darkness and fog? "Hamburg Hotel" gives the loyals fans just that.

Underworld and Paul van Dyke compatible? Two greats in very different styles combine their art "Diamond Jigsaw" in a solid piece that deserves central airplay with is spacious airy rocking soul-lifting trance qualities... interesting but I end up replaying Between the Stars :D

Enjoy, I mean it.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2010
I've been listening to Barking now for the past couple of months..

The first couple of listens were a bit of a surprise - they've lightened up their music a lot . . not much brooding doom and gloom on this album . . Second listens made me think they'd been blatantly influenced by Chicane on "Always loved a film", and Susumu Yokota on "Hamburg hotel". Scribble seemed very uplifting and bright . . not usual words I'd use to describe a U-world album . .especially having known and collected all their works since Dubnobasswithmyheadman..Gone also are much of the U-world signatures . .the garbled chopped up tape loops and disjointed lyrics . . instead we have more clearly defined "songs" with Verses, Choruses and clearly interpretable meanings - most of which are highly upbeat and positive about life...

However, the album struck me as full and punchy from the outset - Bird1 hits hard from the very first listen - slick,robust and highly dance-able. The more I've listened to it, the more I've loved each and every track . .once I got over the initial shock of a "happy" Underworld, and settled down to listen to the depth and breadth of it, the more I've realised that it's still VERY much an Underworld Album . .it's still very much THEM - but with the emphasis seemingly to communicate a more positive and healthy mindset. With Barking they've unlocked a different outlook . . and when the anthemic and utterly addictive chorus on "always loved a film" kicks in, you'll eventually find yourself joyously bellowing "heaven" along with them in response to the sheer joy of life and love which they're communicating...

Buy it . . if you already loved Underworld, you'll still love it . . if you were previously put off by their slightly dark and downbeat approach, this album will definitely press some appealing buttons..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2017
Listened to underworld for years and always quality even when not outstanding. This isn't there best album but pretty good plus loved the drum and base twist mid album. Wasn't expecting that
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2011
What can I say, it appears that there are mixed feelings about this album. You either don't like it, or you're raving about it. My own personal feelings are that for anyone who is an Underworld fan, this is not going to let you down. I mention feelings, and without being too technical about the synths and lyrics, it is in essence an emotive album. It conjures the emotions to explore it. I feel it is more ambient than many of Underworlds productions but having said that, there is still that punch to it. For old time fans, there is the slight obvious in this fact. But overall it is an album well worth having. And whether you are listening to it at home in dimly lit light, or listening to it on your headphones on a train, you cannot if any ounce of music lover in you; not be stirred by this production. I have listened to it several times now, and there is still something new in all Underworld endeavour to do, even after all this time. Well worth having and a top rating, and without saying too much, I am disappointed in those that give this album a negative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2010
For me Underworld slipped up quite badly on Beaucoup Fish with only 2 or 3 stand out numbers. Since then they've got progressively better culimating with Barking, for me easily their best album, bar the truly excellent Dark & Long ( Swedish import). So maybe there aren't the 10 -20 minute long epics like Juanita/Kiteless, as on Barking the longer tracks clock in around the 7 minute mark. Apart from the downbeat Louisiana most of the tracks here are very club-floor friendly but that doesnt mean they're vacuous and throwaway like 99% of club tracks. With Dubno and 2nd Toughest there are a couple of fillers I tend to skip. I only bought Barking yesterday but have played it through four times and it gets better with each listening. Toppermost tunes here are the 3 openers 'Bird I', 'Always loved a film' and the drum n bass of 'Scribble' but best of all is the stonking 'Diamond Jigsaw'. Good to find that the dance vets have got back on form particularly as many other big names in electronica/dance have come out with disappointing stuff this year. If you mostly like the big multi-layered epics of the early years you might be disappointed with the shorter tunes here but they still contain the familiar build ups and breakdowns and Karl Hyde's distinctive vocals and off the wall lyrics. Good work fellas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2010
Wow! I just finsihed listening to 'Barking' and I must say I'm so happy. As a long term Underworld fan, I have been dying for a good album from them for nearly 8 years, since Hyde and Smith released 'A Hundred Days Off'. Since then they released an unnecessary Greatest Hits compilation, a disappointingly ambient soundtrack ('Breaking and Entering'), a host of sub-par rare material under the 'River-Run' project name and a totally mediocre comback album ('Oblivion With Bells'). In 'Barking', I feel that Underworld have finally come back strong and released an album full of top quality material.

The album starts off a tiny bit slow with the all-too-familiar track 'Bird 1', and at this point I feared the album might not amount to too much. However, soon enough I'm treated to the sounds of the epic single 'Scribble', which is an incredible, lush, synth-heavy drum and bass track. This song was a key factor in promoting the album too as it truly signalled their desire to branch out more into different genres. This attitude is evident as the album plays through as there are several tracks with a very club based feel to them including 'Between Stars' and 'Diamond Jigsaw', both of which are excellent. As usual, there are also a couple of light, airy, ambient numbers towards the end called 'Louisiana' and 'Simple Peal' (Hidden Track) which round the album off nicely. There is even a lovely little chilled out number named 'Moon In Water', overflowing with typically random Underworld samples.

I got to the end and I just had to listen to it again, straight away. There are very few electronic/dance albums these days which make me do that. In fact, the album is even more brilliant due to the recent abundance of truly disappointing albums from other renowned dance/electronic artists, including BT, Unkle, The Prodigy (Yes, 'Invaders Must Die'), Chicane and even The Chemical Brothers.

Some Underworld fans might question the clubby feel to the album, but it works perfectly for me. Their previous album ('Oblivion With Bells') was more comparable to their older material, but aside from a few tracks like 'Beautiful Burnout', 'Heal and Restore' and 'Best Magmu Ever' it got old very quickly and left me thinking 'Is that it Underworld? Is that the big come back?'. Even though they are still kicking ass in their tours, they really needed a strong album, and they've delivered with this one.

As a fan, I even feel quite confident in stating that this is their best album to date and I'll explain why. It has a stand out track in 'Scribble' which is easily as good as classics like 'Born Slippy', 'Pearl's Girl' and '2 Months Off'. However, unlike other albums there really are no weak tracks (with the possible exception of 'Hamburg Hotel') making it a very strong and consistent listen. Traditionally, a lot of Underworld's best material has popped up in soundtracks, EPs and as B sides and not necessarily on the albums themselves, however on this occasions their B-side material is available simply by buying the collector's edition of the album. The collaborations worked a lot better than I thought they would do and helped to strengthen the album in terms of it's diversity. Even the artwork is lovely and colourful, reflecting the mood of the album very well.

In conclusion, Underworld fans should be delighted with this album. Non-fans will probably like this it as well, certainly a lot more than some of their older albums. If you want to try a few tracks before you buy then you can't go too far wrong listening to 'Scribble', 'Diamond Jigsaw' and 'Moon In Water'. Happy listening!

PS: I've come back to this review to add a quick after thought. Since I wrote my review so many 'Underworld fans' have come on here and slated the album. It's always disheartening when a band tries something new (for them) and get so heavily criticised for it, but it happens every single time a band makes a more 'mainstream' album. People can't wait to say "Well, I loved Underworld since I was 4 years old, but they've sold out now so I don;t like them". Most of the newer reviews are saying that it's too mainstream, too full of 'catchy dance' and nothing like their classic material. I would like to add three points:

a: 'Second Toughest In The Intants' was 14 years ago and Underworld haven't made an album like that since then.

b: It's up to the band what they do. Maybe they wanted to spread their wings a bit more and try a few different things.

c: I remember watching an interview with Karl Kyde once. He was talking about how dance music is such an amazing industry because it's really a brotherhood where different artists admire and respect each other. Take rock music on the other hand, most indie fans wouldn't be seen dead at a Green Day concert, and heavy metal fans probably wouldn't be seen dead at Foo Fighhters gig. Dance groups like Underworld, Orbital, The Chemical Brothers and The Prodigy on the other hand, have always supported each other, remixed tracks, done live gigs together and generally worked well together. So, given Karl's philosophy, I was quite appreciative of the fact that Underworld had done some collaborations on 'Barking', and although I don't own any Paul Van Dyk music, I thought his co-production on 'Diamond Jigsaw' was great!

Please be open minded folks or they might not bother making another album, which would be a real shame.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2010
Jsut a quick note to say this is my first Underworld album since Toughest in Infants and I cannot stop playing it. Bird1 lifts you off your feet, and not until the heartbreaking piano of Louisiana are you placed gently back down again. The production is flawless, while the snatched stories from the lyrics are poetry. Bloody great. One of the albums of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)