Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Senior
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 May 2013
Well, where do I begin...this album is just like a fine wine (cheesy to say, but ever so true)! As the title suggests "Senior" demands a certain type of respect, as with age comes knowledge and a wisdom that can only be gained by experience! The album itself commands attention, seduces and soothes the senses, whilst tempting one to delve into a psychological state and traverse a journey of memories past and present. It's laid back rhythmic nature encompasses the emotions and shakes of the shackles of the harsh reality of life's encounters...a truly relaxing and chilled out album!!! A must have for any enthusiast of quality laid back tunes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2015
Brilliant album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
If you are like me you cut you first experienced and got into Royksopp in the late 90s/early 00s on their tracks that went into Melody AM. Since then they have (obviously) done quite a bit since then, and tried out very different feels to their albums, but I think this represents a great return to their early style. Thats not to say that it is the same, Senior actually feels quite a bit darker and colder than their early days but it works and certainly feels like Royksopp. So if you like their early work I would certainly recommend this for a nice ambient CD for relaxing to. Additionally, there is absolutely no words to any of these tracks, which means it is great to have while studying/working if you are anything like me and get distracted far too easily!

I know music ultimately comes down to personal taste, but if you like early Royksopp and/or want some great shill out music then I would say this is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2015
You can tell it's Royksopp but I am not sure what to say as It's one of those weird ones for me! I am confused. On the one hand its like 'minimal electronica', and very nice on the ear but on the other it's like an un-finished version of Royksopp production to me. Their first two albums had distinct and complicated sounds. It's dark, slow and fast and well basic electronica but it's not really going anywhere for me. I haven't heard Junior but I am intrigued now to have a listen. I don't really understand why there are so many 5 stars for this to be honest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2010
When Junior came out, there were some Röyksopp fans of old who complained vociferously that this wasn't the laid back trippy sound of Melody A.M. they expected from the duo and had been waiting for since The Understanding. I loved their third album and still listen to the tracks and the official and unofficial remixes often, as indeed I do with their other two albums. There are some fans like me, who have loved every album so far, and others who only really liked one or two and complain that the others are not exactly the same as them. I like it best when bands move on, as sticking to one sound for too long can ruin their credibility and freshness.

So now we have Senior, which I wouldn't be surprised if many Röyksopp fans had believed was going to be Melody A.M. 2.0. It's not that much like it, which is a relief to be honest - Melody A.M. was a record of its time, and I'm glad they haven't exploited it by mining that sound to recycle it - instead they have made a very introspective and often experimental album that lives up to their promise of a record that works best when you listen to it as a whole.

Unlike Junior it is an instrumental album, though there are occasionally some faint and indistinct vocals floating around in the background, and occasionally voices come out into the foreground to jolt you out of whatever trance the record may have put you in. Fall asleep with this record on and near the end you will be woken into an anxious state by some weird and disturbing noises.

If you're in two minds about getting this album, listen to Tricky Two, The Drug and Forsaken Cowboy. The other tracks are great too, but these three will sell it to you. Tricky Two, as you could probably guess, takes the main hook and some other elements from its hyperactive `younger' sibling Tricky Tricky and mixes it all into an ever building powerhouse of a track that somehow manages to keep a laid back feel throughout. To describe the other tracks - the ones you don't already know some element of - would run the risk of not doing them justice.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2012
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing at all, but the melodies are exquisite; dreamy, dark and secret. It's Röyksopp's most private, introspective record. The album sleeve, inky blackness with the hint of something in the shadows, describes it well. This is an album of secrets.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 September 2010
Having been listening to Royksopp Senior for the last week mostly on repeat the album is finally released a long time after the thunderous Junior. Recorded at the same time as Junior the second album in the pair - Senior - which Royksopp would like you to see as the other side to their personality. Whilst Junior is full of energy; Senior is much more relaxed and apart from some brief electronic voices mostly vocal free. Overall it sounding halfway between Vangelis and Jean Michel Jarre - it has the variety of instruments of Jarre but without the energy of his more epic sounds.

At the end of the day or night Senior is very calming and sonically very interesting and in a room with the lights off sounds great coming from your hi-fi; its also great when listening to a book as you can stop listening to it and still have it in the background.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Now! It seems to me Royksopp went back to their original style of Melody A.M. when the sequel to Junior was made. Again, this is another brilliant piece of work, artistry in this case. It reminds me of Melody A.M. to an extent yet obviously more upto date. Tracks like "forbidden cowboy" are superb. Tricky Two (follow fro Tricky Tricky) is a lot better and makes cool dance record for the clubs without sounding particularly commercial. This is a nice ambient and, erm... obviously grown up feel to it. Must be something to do with the title of this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2011
I've been hooked on Royksopp since a lucky channel-hop moment where I caught "Poor Leno" on MTV. I had to investigate this tune, and went on to fall in love with the output from this team.

And I've continued to derive great musical pleasure from "Senior". Its pace ebbs and flows, from the dreamy "Senior Living" to the mellow "The Drug" to jumpy "Tricky Two" - all of which smack of Royksopp. If you appreciated previous material, you'll appreciate "Senior" as a maturing of their style and music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2011
this album might be what some of röyksopp's fans have been waiting since their debut album melody a.m. the band has expressed their feelings by saying thay this is something that their new listeners might find a little hard to accept but once you get into it, you'll probably have it on the loop for quite a time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)