Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2006
I bought this as a sampler of Bhangra music and I can't take the damned thing off my car CD player! It's impossible to listen to without smiling or jigging along which is very embarassing for a 50-something white male like me.
Why didn't we have this stuff in the 70's?!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2009
This is the first Bhangra CD I've ever bought and I'm glad I did. The two CDs contain such a wide variation of rhythms and beats that there's more than enough music to keep all your moods satisfied! It's addictive stuff!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Well, I can't help but agree it's a catchy good album, ***however*** when I ordered it I was after an example of traditional bhangra.

So as a bit of extra info for anyone else thinking of getting this album here's an excerpt from inside the cover:

"Bhangra has been evolving in the UK for over three decades now, and has become a pioneering and exciting new style of music.

Whilst Bhangra is originally a form of folk music from Northern India, the new style of British Bhangra, which is what is represented on this album, is radical new sound which draws on a large spectrum of musical influences. Representing the breadth and depth of the genre, the tracks on Bhangra Fever " are certainly the most in-depth look at the world of Bhangra ever put on one album.

Tracks such as ........ are all fine examples of "traditional" in your face Bhangra dance tracks. Listen to these tracks and you'll discover a rhythm that's infectious and distinctive as reggae.

...... oush the genre towards Euro-Beat influences, whilst ..... and .... are magical collusions of Bhangra and Rap. ..... and .... take Bhangra firmly into the House arena. "

So as I said, good album, but anyone looking for folk music for reference or dancing and will find it VERY VERY clubby and western and modern in places. If you want your bhangra without clips and strong influences of british pop and club scene then you probably want to look elsewhere. If you are happy with fusion then it's great.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2004
But seriously folks this Cd is so infectious it should be illegal
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Service,delivery and price and quality were all excellent.
The cd was not as good as expected,but that was no reflection
on the supplier!
I guess my expectations were too high for the music,it was a bit
of a mish mash of what I though Bhangra may be-they mixed it
too much with r&b stylee.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2000
after taking a listen to this double cd package, i would recommend that you do buy it even though it's exactly like a normal bhangra cd, with some pretty hefty dhol beats on some of the phatt trax to just some plain songs that are nothing special, but the phatt trax completely cover up for the ordinary trax!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST BUY
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
I would recommed this for anyone who is confused about where to start to find a good introduction to Bhangra music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Nice compilation, worth its price. Speaking of the tracks, traditional flavor last fresher and more interesting than disco-like beat, that suffer for new trends and sounds in disco music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Specifically requested that this be delivered in time for a bollywood themed party, at least a week before - and it arrived 4 days too late. It's not very good anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Arrived quickly, just what I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)