Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2010
So it's been 15 years since the launch of Ministry Of Sound's flagship compilation 'The Annual'. During this time the club has grown from its origins in East London into a huge global force to be reckoned with. The sheer popularity and reputation of The Annual series has played a big part in this growth, regularly topping yearly best-selling album charts in the UK alone.

So 15 years of an impressive back catalogue of dance anthems should be something special? Well, unfortunately, this album shamefully doesn't quite hit the spot. They could have lifted any of the fantastic tracks this series has uncovered, but by picking only the most obvious tunes, only very casual newcomers to dance music will find something worth listening to...the rest of us will have to listen to 'Bonkers', 'Call On Me', '9pm (Til I Come)' and 'Put Your Hands Up For Detroit' for the 10-millionth time on a Ministry compilation. Yes these tracks have appeared on the Annuals, yes they are massive dance anthems, but do we really have to hear them yet again?

Further to this, the album is presented like a random hit parade: absolutely no context by era, genre or chronology. As a result you get the likes of The Prodigy sitting uncomfortably next to some Funky House anthems on CD3, and the late 90's cheese of Alice Deejay mentioned in the same breath as legendary trance producer Paul van Dyk on CD2. The mixing doesn't help either, occasionally it's not too bad in places, but in others, the tracks sound like they've been 'smashed' together: not a great listening experience. It all feels like it was rushed together with very little thought.

Oddly enough, the saving grace is the handful of new tracks that make up the first half of the first disc, particularly the new tracks 'Believer' by Freemasons and 'I Think I Like It' by Fake Blood, which are superb. Also the write up inside the booklet is excellent, talking about each past edition of The Annual and putting it into the context of each year.

It's been said many times before, but if you've got any of the original Annuals from 1995 to 2000, hold on to them dearly for this new offering is a very pale imitation by comparison.

A bit of quality control on the mixing and track selection on this album would have gone a long way to making this something special. Unfortunately this is just yet another random collection of exhausted dance anthems. Shame.
44 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
After having seen this advertised on TV and listening to a few samples of the listed tracks I thought this may be worth purchasing. Was I right to do so?

Yes I was. If you love your dance/trance/'typical club music' and a few others and want the very best selection over the past 15 years then this is the album for you.


There are 60 tracks in total plus three 1.25 hour mixes. The three mixes are simply tracks 1-20/21-40/41-60 played together. A nice touch and one track flows into the next rather well, however, in the days of iTunes and people wanting to choose which song they want to play and in what order this may not be for everyone. They are great if you just wish to play 20 tracks all at once though. The final three mixes may take a long time to download depending on your download speed and Amazon's servers.

As for the main 60 tracks there is a fair mix of great tunes from the past 15 years. You can see what the exact tracks are from the track listing. In my opinion, if you like this genre of music, you will easily instantly recognise - and love - at least 70-80% of the 60 tracks.

The versions of the tracks on the album are mainly the full versions. However, there are a few radio edits and selected mixes. The mixes chosen are (mainly) the more 'dancy' mixes which is usually the case with this kind of album anyway. I believe that the versions of the tracks have been well selected and thought through and the vast majority of them are the best versions of the tracks.


Some of the track versions may not be to everyone's taste, as well as a few of the tracks themselves. I haven't even heard of a few of the tracks on the album and wasn't that keen on them either.


A great album for those of you who want to experience many of the great dance/trance tracks that have been enjoyed by millions over the past 15 years. A highly recommended purchase if you don't already own most of these tracks!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Not great. I have a lot of the tunes already. But it always sounds better in the trailer on TV - you think you don't have many of the tunes being advertised, which is why I bought it. And now I wish I hadn't. I wouldn't purchase The Annual again, because they all seem full of repeats. There are some tunes/songs I don't have, and for that I have to hang on to it. But those extra few tunes aren't worth £15 and the hassle of carrying them around on three full CDs. Could have had a lot more dancey, base tunes in it, instead of the more popular "pop" ones so common nowadays in even the most devoted of Clubs' CDs. Spoils it. They have to choose more carefully in future. Bonkers by Dizzee Rascal is good, but others spoil the true meaning of the words "club anthems". So in my opinion a bit of a sellout. Too like the "NOW" compilations. Pity. Could have been good. Disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I was looking for an original version of Paul Van Dyk's "For an Angel". I saw there were plenty of other classics on this set, and the price was good so I bought it.

Unfortunately the CD version I bought has all the tracks mixed into each other, so I had to buy seperately any track I wanted myself for DJ'ing. This was not made clear in the blurb on Amazon, or even on the product packaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Yep, some good old favourites on this CD. Have I really been listen to Ministry of Sound for all those years. If you like club you'll like this and it's certainly good to listen to when working out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Amazing Box Set with all the great tunes from MOS.
I specially own every Box Set from MOS, Anthems, Annual, Back To The Mix...

15 Years in 3 CD's, what else?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Not for me. All the songs I like are there ,it's just there on different disks, which is not a problem as I usually make a compilation anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
This is a great album and would recommed to any one who loves great sounds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Great cd. Splendid tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Nice music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)