Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2012
Bought this as a crimbo gift to myself. Seen the movies before but on BLU-RAY they are better than ever before. The picture and sound is so much clearer than the dvds I watched in the past. 1080p resolution has done wonders for these pictures especially for good, bad and the ugly. One of my favourite westerns and the stand off at the grave is classic, love it!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
Arrived on time and in excellent condition. Good value for money. I already have these classics on DVD, but found it a great pleasure watching them all again on Blu.ray. No words could do the films justice. You have got to watch them for yourselves. Excellent dialogue, brilliant cinematography and a legendary music score. Lots of extra features and background information/interviews. Definitely recommend this purchase. Even if you don't normally like Westerns you will love these films for their style and theatricality.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 January 2012
Of this quartet three are Spaghetti Westerns and one is an actual Western. I'll review them individually.

A Fistful of Dollars (1964)

It's strange to think that there's never been an honest film adaptation of Dashiell Hammett's 1929 novel Red Harvest. There was an adaptation in 1930 called Roadhouse Nights, however 1961's Yojimbo by Akira Kurosawa was more significant, and subsequently inspired this 1963 Western incarnation (as well as 1996's Last Man Standing).

Clint plays his signature man-with-no-name character, who rides into a lonely town where he finds two gangs at war with each other. Feeling that there might be some fistfuls of money to be made from the situation he plays both sides while reaping the benefits and rewards.

Since I have seen Last Man Standing many times much of this film was already familiar to me (the similarities are numerous) and therefor didn't draw me in, but I can certainly see the appeal. The dark humor transcends the time period and it's straight-forward enough to not alienate those who are not fans of spaghetti-westerns.

For a Few Dollars More (1965)

Life is cheap out in the Old West, unless you're a bounty hunter, in which case it's a profitable way to make a living. With so many roustabouts getting up to no good it was inevitable that Indio, the biggest and baddest of all, would attract the attention of two men with very different motives.

Colonel Mortimer (Lee Van Cleef) and Monco (Eastwood) eventually cross paths and form a tenuous partnership to catch Indio, who has just been broken out of jail by his loyal men and is planning a big bank robbery. Mortimer and Monco work together, and against each other, in order to bring him in, and all his men, to maximize their rewards.

It's a long film, but it has enough time to indulge in over-the-top moments. I especially like Clint and Van Cleef squaring up to each other by shooting hats. It's ridiculous, but good. Some of the widescreen photography is particularly memorable. It's all grainy, gritty stuff but it's a rough edge you just don't get anymore, which is a loss to modern movie which all just look too slick.

Ennio Morricone also provides a wonderful score that's utterly timeless and turns many scenes into an overblown opera.

The Good, The Bad and the Ugly (1966)

In the last of the so-called 'Dollars' trilogy Eastwood now plays a man called Blondie (despite clearly having brown hair) who has hooked up with Tuco, a bandit with an amusingly long list of crimes, to run a reward-and-release scam with various towns and cities across the Old West. Soon tiring of Tuco's behavior, Blondie ends their volatile partnership and heads off on his own.

Angered by the double-cross, Tuco exacts a laborious revenge on Blondie, but just as the punishment reaches its zenith under a burning hot sun in a remote part of the desert a wagon carrying dead Confederate soldiers interrupts. With his last breath, the sole surviving Rebel tells Tuco of a stash of treasure buried in a cemetery, and, while Tuco is distracted, tells Blondie what grave it is buried under. Their difficult partnership is quickly restored as they trek across the West, through Civil War conflicts, towards the treasure.

So far I've only covered the Good and Ugly. The Bad just so happens to be Angel Eyes (Lee Van Cleef), a ruthless mercenary who has also learned of the hidden loot and eventually crosses paths with his rivals. He has the least screen time, but is necessary as a pure villain to lessen the crude vulgarity of Tuco.

It's a long film. But it's not about the destination, it's about the journey, and Sergio Leone allows himself plenty of time and space to indulge in quirky idiosyncrasies. I especially like Tuco having a bubble bath in the midst of his current location being blown to smithereens.

Villains always interest me, and actors mostly choose villains over heroes as they make for better characters. Blondie may comfort dying soldiers and play with kittens, but he's just too bland. Angel Eyes, is hardcore, and a better character, but he's nothing compared to Tuco. Eli Wallach owns this film, and takes most of the screen time away from Eastwood and Van Cleef. The scene where he searches the cemetery, as the camera spins around and around and around has such a beautiful innocence to it. Even though Tuco may have killed and robbed many this scene makes him seem like an easily excitable child at heart. It's absolutely wonderful.

If you've got an evening free, and just don't know how to spend 3 otherwise empty hours, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly is a fine way to spend them.

Hang 'Em High (1968)

Clint plays Jed Cooper, a cowpoke who is escorting his new herd across a river when he is ambushed by a posse who accuse him of being a murdering rustler. Satisfied with hanging him on the spot, they take off, leaving him there. But Cooper ain't quite dead yet, and after being acquitted by a hardcore Judge (Pat Hingle) he's recruited as a lawman to go after the men who saw fit to hang him without fair trial.

I suppose it's a western Death Wish, but it has a strong anti-capital punishment theme. Cooper may be out for revenge, but he still believes in a fair trial and stands up for those who deserve leniency. It's also the first time I've really seen Clint in a vulnerable role, and Dirty Harry director Ted Post manages the lengthy, and well-written dialogue scenes well. I just wish he shot the film in a scope aspect ratio as the flat-shot photography often makes it look like an old TV movie.

Not a classic, but it does have some powerful scenes that will stay with you and really make you think about taking a life for taking a life.


All four movies are presented in 1080p in their OAR (the first in 2.40:1 and the last in 1.85:1) with appropriately grainy transfers and minimal print damage and DTS HD-MA sound. A fair amount of extras are included.
review image
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Seriously, this set gets a 10/10 +. I was expecting a DVD transfer to Blu Ray. It most certainly is not. The set contains all the faults of the original films, sound, lip sync and dubbing . But that is what made these films when they were first released. They are just as good now as then, but with a brilliant picture , cracking sound and pure magic to watch. This set is a faultless buy if you were a Sergio Leone fan and such great value for money. I all expected to send this set back after reading some of the reviews, but obviously some people need glasses. I am a fan of Blu Ray and expect BETTER then DVD by a long way, this set delivers.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Come on people 4 Blueray movies of this quality in a box set for a few pound. These look stunning in Blueray and with the sound enhancement you have a great box set of some of the greatest westerns ever made. I choose this set for Hang em High added for the other were around the same price but just 3 discs in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
Whilst the movies are classics, unfortunately the Blu-ray transfer was not. The picture and sound quality were not even up to a good DVD. It actually looked like they were simply copied from some old TV recording, with scratches and pin-prick holes in the film!

The people who released these Blu-rays did not put in the time, effort and money that was invested in the "Zulu" Blu-ray release. Do yourself a favor and buy the DVD, it is much cheaper and provides the same picture and sound quality as this Blu-ray (I know because I have both formats and compared them to each other).
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
I am sick of reading people's film reviews of their purchases instead of the bluray product itself. So I won't bore you with my useless opinion on that.

All you need to know is that they just copied the DVD versions on to Bluray disc. I had all of them on DVD and am sorely disappointed. They haven't cleaned up any of the scratches, the voices don't sync with the picture, there is no additional detail in the video.

OTOH if you don't have the DVD's then you might as well get the Bluray as the price ain't that different.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
4 classic films on blu ray , superb picture quality and sound , great purchase
10/10. if you're thinking of buying it, just get it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
This review is for the blu ray Clint Eastwood 4 film collection . Containing A FISTFUL OF DOLLARS / FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE / THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY / HANG EM HIGH . The print on these is far superior to the dvds on all 4 films . The sound is great too . I cannot believe some reviews of these films . Of course these films are dubbed the first 3 are " SPAGHETTI WESTERNS " . In the good the bad and the ugly blu ray is a version I had not seen before with a extra 15 mins ish put back into it .The best film in this box set for me by far . Loads of extras on first 3 films . No extras on 4 th . Im glad I got it .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brilliant all three original spagetti western films in one you also get a extra film in the set hang ' em high so at this price four bluray films is execlant these films have all been digitally restored but they take away none of the nostalgic value from the films this collection is a must for any fan of these films highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)