Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2011
Why this remarkable little-known series barely saw light of day on the box I will never understand. In my view this is one of the best comedy series ever made and if you even remotely like Joanna Lumley you'll love this. The witty script and superb casting make for a hilarious series that is hard to beat. It's such a tonic in these days of dreary television, the only problem is...I wish there was more of it.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Bought as a present, so can't comment on the content. I can vaguely remember watching it on TV yonks ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Found this a little dated beyond its real age. JL is splendid as she would be in any production and without her this would fall into clumsy farce. Really surprised it is rated so highly in many reviews. Having said that it is worthy of note that it did have a short run as a series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
The comedic chemistry between the three leads is delightful to watch, it's snappily written and well acted. The plots can be a little ridiculous sometimes, but you're so wrapped up in the fun that it really doesn't matter that much. All in all a thoroughly entertaining series, it's a real shame that there's only fourteen episode. If you're a fan of Joanna Lumley, this is essential viewing.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2015
Class Act is enormously good fun, with gorgeous Joanna Lumley playing Kate Swift, a deliciously sharp-tongued aristocrat who finds herself down on her luck after her husband vanishes with their entire fortune. The show essentially sees her getting into all kinds of scrapes - mostly preposterous and delightfully far-fetched - with her peasant sidekicks; crumpled, drunken journalist Jack Booker, who ends up living in her shed ("the staff quarters") and Gloria, a young Australian cat burglar. Kate's slightly pervy elderly father is also a joy. It only lasted for two series but I bloody loved it - I was a teenager when I first saw it in the 90s. When I am feeling ill and having a sofa-day, this is the series I always reach for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
"Absolutely Brilliant"
Would definately buy it again.
Pure entertainment.
BBC should put this back On Air.
Joanna Lumley and Co at their very best.
Hilarious and well written.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Having missed a lot of the episodes when it was first shown I bought it now from Amazon to relive the experience and it did not disappoint. The casting is great and all of them including the duck give a fine performance. British comedy at its best, and a shame that it finished abruptly before a final series was made. JL is my age, but looks a lot better than me...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
This is an absolute hoot of a series, a screwball comedy with plenty of laughs. I bought the DVD without having heard of it before or been in UK in the 90s to see the original broadcasts. JL is a penniless upper class snob of the first order and plays it superbly. Australian Nadine Garner is an ex-con who comes to work for her and John Bowe is a hapless clumsy journalist who usually gets the worst thrown at him by the end of the episode, either beaten up, wet, disrobed or otherwise. The late lovely Richard Vernon however steals the show as JL's slightly dotty Daddy whose one-liners are absolutely brilliant. Stands up well. The tribute of a good comedy series is that you can pick out just one episode and watch it over and over several times without tiring if it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Bought this because I am a Joanna Lumley fan and completely missed the original series. I was not disappointed - Joanna is 'fabulous' and in fact I wonder if she was inspired to base her Patsy character a little bit on this lady. (She is a 'posher' version of Patsy here). Very very funny series, scripts are excellent and supporting cast superb. Ridiculous stories of course, but then they are supposed to be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Angela Thirkell has been a favourite author for fifty years, and I am delighted to be able to buy reprints to replace, for reading use, not for shelf replacement, my old, tattered editions. I wish someone would reprint all of John Buchan ,too - I hate e-books, they have no soul....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)