Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Dummy
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
137
4.7 out of 5 stars
Dummy
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 13 September 2017
GREAT ALBUM UNMISSABLE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2017
Wrong disc second one deliverd very poor condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Timeless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Recommended by a friend does not disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Brilliant album, brilliant blue colour, brilliant pressing. Hunt it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
awesome album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
How any sane and rational thinking person can say this album has dated, even after 20 or so years, is beyond me!
No other album on Earth sounds anything like this album. It was, and still is, a genre defining, unique masterclass of pop art.
All other albums / artists in this genre were the rocks clinging and climbing up to this wondrous beacon of light that shone from way on high.
Nothing came close then, nor does it now. There hasn't been an album since this ( in this genre ) to surpass it! Not even their own.
Classics dont date, they mature. And this album remains a must have album in anyones collection.
I only wish Portishead themselves could top it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
NEVER FORGET FIRST HEARING THIS! Back in the early nineties I was coming back from London with my pal after a heavy private party where he DJed and I beat boxed and it was a loft party such a great time. Anyways, coming back he said wack that cd on, so I did. I was blown away by the vulnerable, dark, mysterious lyrics and well produced back beats and sounds that were fresh and unique. I never tired of the album and it still is one of the best albums to come out of Bristol. Being from Bristol I have seen many changes in the music including Portishead these days and so, although things always change and develop some things are best left alone, this album is one of those timeless classics. I never loved any of there stuff AS MUCH as this after. Its a bit like when Blue Lines came out from Massive Attack or Tricky's Maxinquaye or Zero 7's Simple Things these are Albums that will always stand the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 April 2014
Dummy is the debut album of the Bristol-based group Portishead. Dummy is one of those CDs that still sounds as fresh as the day that it was released. So what's all the fuss about? Well basically, it's one of those exceptional albums where almost every single beat seems to be in place, every single little record scratch and sample fits into the mix and provides even more atmosphere, and lyrics that just melt in your mind. Each track really does create a new atmosphere of its very own that runs the range of emotions. Beth Gibbons is one of the main reasons this album truly comes to the fore. Gibbons effortlessly creates mood on every track, whether she's crooning on "It Could Be Sweet" or strutting it out to full effect on "Glory Box." Overall, if you're into trip-hop even the slightest and don't own this album, you should probably drop whatever you're doing and go out and buy it right now.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Mezzanine
£6.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)