Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Oldies but goldies Very very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Simply one of the best Caravan album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2005
I came across this after reading the reviews on Amazon. My only regret is the years I've missed without it! There is a pastoral, autumny feel with Caravan, which can at only moment transcend into any given season. This album has it all, superb musicianship, great hooks, and sensitivity in abundance. Once in every few years an album grabs my attention. In this case it has, and won't let go! I couldn't recommend it enough....enjoy!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2008
Although its follow-up '...Grey and Pink' is more frequently hailed as the best Caravan album, I personally prefer this, their second effort. Though I'm not too well-versed in their mid-1970s period (my preference seems to have wandered off towards Hatfield & The North with Richard Sinclair and his bass guitar) I still say this with some confidence. '...Grey and Pink' is more streamlined and features a more mature approach to constructing the pop hooks that never fail to reel people in, but '...Do It All Over Again' has a far better structure and flow to it, faring much better as a listening experience and unhindered by the logistical difficulties of trying to tastefully dump a vast, side-long epic into its duration.

The melodies and chord progressions are light years away from the jazzy complexities the Canterbury scene had to offer by 1974 and beyond, but many are sweet and beautiful in their own right and instantly memorable. They are easily traceable to the simple, naive charms of the psychedelic pop scene that Caravan themselves began as part of. Jimmy Hastings again makes his presence felt on the classic 'For Richard' suite, providing the excellent brass & woodwind touches that livened up several excellent albums of the era. Elsewhere, the pairing of Pye Hastings and Richard Sinclair was never more equal and more sensitive to each other's vocal and compositional strengths than herein, making this arguably the most balanced album ever to feature these two distinctive musicians.

It's a very breezy listen, full of excellent musicianship and still rooted in the late 60s British psych-pop scene, making it a decent companion piece to an album like Soft Machine's 'Volume Two'. The genre, along with the bands themselves, grew upwards and outwards at an alarming rate after 1970, and while there's certainly a great deal of value in the complexities and jazzy intimidation of later-period bands like National Health, this album has a charming and well-balanced nature that you'd be hard pushed to find an equal to.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Like Jethro Tull, Caravan didn't want us to take the progressive rock phenomenon in a dour, cerebral way like King Crimson and their ilk. Caravan's track titles tell you that their music is tongue-in-jckeek and is meant for pure enjoyment. Again, you get all the bandwidth and dynamics on a record (using Class A amplification of course) that CDs lack even on the highest spec CD-based Class B, C or D systems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've been exploring the realms of Prog Rock for a few years now, King Crimson, Coliseum and the like. I'm also a bit of a folkie, with a lot of Pentangle and Fairport in my CD collection. Someone suggested I try this as something that would fit in with both genres.

This is a great album. The feel is very pastoral English, and makes me think of autumn evenings, picnics by the river, walks through the forest and the like. Very much like The Kinks 'Village Green Preservation Society'. The tracks are often quite long and loose, typical prog rock style, but never seem to outstay their welcome. They aren't 'rockers' though, musically this sounds like folk blended with 60's pop. There are some odd combinations going on here, but the whole thing works, through strong song writing, excellent musicianship, very nice vocals, and a good 'feel' for what the next logical step should be in a track.

To sum up - A very folky feeling album with a fair bit of experimentalism going on, which works really well. Laid back, relaxing, and note perfect. Recommended to anyone who likes Fairport, Steeleye Span, pastoral era Kinks, and 'Songs from the Wood' era Jethro Tull.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2006
In my opinion a vastly overlooked album.It has a very warm, far away feel all the way through.Superb keyboards from David Sinclair and excellent additional sax and flute by Jimmy Hastings a player who contributes greatly to Caravan's sound. Not a duff track here. This is English pastoral prog at its best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Basically, it's all been said in the other (more expert) reviews.
You will not understand why you hadn't heard about this album before, and you will be sorry for the lost time (but happy like the day you bought your very first album).
To those who've heard other pieces of Caravan, without being fully convinced, let's put it this way. "If I Could" just rocks in a different category. Not as psychedelic as their first album, not as soft as "Land of Grey", way more elaborate than all the other ones, "If I could" blends a unique mixture of pop, folk and rock in a sophisticated, yet energetic and very entertaining prog frame.
The closest albums "If I could" comes to are maybe the early King Crimsons, or Pink Floyd's Atom Heart Mother. As for quality, it ranks on a par with them, if not above.
To cut it short, it is the best Caravan album, the best Canterbury scene album, one of the best prog rock albums, and one of the top 10 albums all genres, all centuries.
So if you're deported to a desert island and are allowed one album, make sure to take "If I could" with you. If you're allowed a second album, you might well consider taking another copy of "If I Could", in case something happen to the first one.
PS I have one of the first CD editions. My comment does not specifically relate to this one.
55 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
Having been a big fan of Caravan in the 70's through listening To the Land of Grey and Pink, I finally got around to buying this a few weeks ago, it reminded me why I liked Caravan all those years ago, great songwriting and superb muscianship. It is a great album and I wish I hadn't waited nearly 30 years to listen to it. Still all good things come to those who wait.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Following on from their promising debut album in 1968, Caravan moved to Decca records for their 1970 follow-up and produced this lovely offering. There is little to quibble about here material-wise; there are 3 lengthy excursions, including 'And I Wish I Were Stoned/Don't Worry' and the superb jazz-rock track 'Can't Be Long Now/Francoise/For Richard/Warlock', which are outstanding whilst the catchy title track and the quirky 'Hello Hello' sit nicely in this varied set list. If you enjoy progressive music with lashings of Hammond organ solos, flute, saxophone and interesting guitar licks, then prepare yourself for satisfaction in spades. The major quibble lies in the mixing of the album - the vocals are very hard to pick out at times and the overall balance between loud and quiet passages is poor. Even so, this is still a 5 star performance and ranks 3rd in my list of favourite Caravan albums.

Also highly recommended are two subsequent releases, 'In The Land Of Grey And Pink (1971), and 'For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night' (1973), which are both classic albums in my opinion and further demonstrate the great Caravan tradition of English eccentricity produced by this talented band of musicians.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)