Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2011
What a lovely selection of music ideal for adults as well as children 'Young persons guide to the orchestra, Brittain; Carnival of the animals, Saint-Saens;The Sorcerers Apprentice, Dukas to name a few. Two CDs, good value for money. Arrived very promptly and in good condition.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
I bought this as a stocking filler for my four year old, principally because it includes Peter and the Wolf. He loves it! The fact that the disc contains most of the classical music I remember loving as a child is a bonus. Value for money, good enough quality of recording, and a great selection of music for kids of all ages.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
The recordings found on this disc are some of the best available (...in fact, the Britten conducting Britten is the Gramophone's Recommended Recording!). Add to that the most delightful account of Schumann's "Scenes from Childhood", and you find a fantastic disc. Then look at the price! 5 stars for a well rounded CD, which wont break the bank.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2001
This CD has a wide range of music for children and adults a like. It nicely balanced with orchestral works and solo piano works. It's only fault, some very bad recordings. This CD contains some masterpieces, it's just a shame the orchestra's haven't done them justice.
22 Comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Have been trying to find a replacement for a yonks old cassette I used for our children and this fills the void perfectly. An excellent recording with a very good selection of tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
A great collection of recordings all 'classics' themselves. I bought it particularly for the Sir Ralph Richardson/Sir Malcolm Sargent 'Peter and the Wolf' and I wasn't disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
A good range of similarly themed music and a knock-down price. This is an excellent buy for those extending their classical music collection or indeed for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
A great cd for introducing children to classical music. I had a copy before and lost it so just had to replace it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
This was for my nephew. Seemed a good cd for young to learn & appreciate classical music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Although this has an excellent selection of classical music for children, I expected the Young Persons Guide to be the version with the narrative, which it isn't, and I also expected each piece to be properly introduced by title and composer.
It's supposed to be for children... it's got the great music selection; but I didn't feel that it was presented properly for the target audience.
I was disappointed; overall it's just another classical compilation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)