Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Fantastic and romantic Brazilian songs by two masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Quality. Carlos at his best, ably backed up by ol' blue eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Fabulous Frank!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Why has the butchering mastering engineer responsible for this travesty, felt the need to radically alter the sound of these one-time beautifully balanced recordings? There is so much compression here, the original recordings are barely recognisable. This is simply insane. If ever there was a group of recordings that begged to be left alone and not boosted for loudness sake, then these surely must be them. These used to be quiet subtle recordings. Now even the "quiet" parts are competing with the rest in the mix. It's a loud brick-walled mess, utterly devoid of subtlety and dynamic range. The record company should be ashamed of itself

Definitely not recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Frank Sinatra's first collaboration with the gifted Brazilian composer/performer,Antonio Carlos Jobim (1967) was one his best albums of that period. Not as impressive vocally as "Sinatra and Strings," "the September of my Years" or "The Concert Sinatra" but stylistically very satisfying to those of us who wanted to hear the great man in a different setting. Jobim's sinuous melodies and Latin rhythms beautifully orchestrated by Claus Ogerman proved perfect fare for the great singer. The song selection also includes bossa nova-styled renditions of such standards as Irving Berlin's "Change Partners" and Cole Porter's "I Concentrate On You" making the album a triumph both critically and commercially.

This success called for a second outing with Jobim. This time the arranger was the equally-gifted Eumir Deodato. But, for various reasons, Sinatra was less than enchanted with the results and he cancelled the release. As it happened, he did agree to release seven of the tracks in a compilation album. But it was not until producer, Charles Pignone decided to re-constitute the entire Sinatra-Jobim output as a single CD that we were able to hear the full results of these sessions. Was it worth it? Yes. Is it a worthwhile investment? Again, the answer is yes. But be warned- not everything in the second set is top-notch Sinatra. Why he chose to sing the dreadful English lyric of "Desafinado" when there was a much better set of lyrics ( already recorded by Perry Come for instance) is something we'll never know. But,despite the few shortcomings of the second setq, this new CD is well purchasing. It deserves a place in any interesting collection.
Ken B.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
At last we have all the classic recordings of Frank Sinatra's collaboration with Carlos Jobim on one CD, 12 songs were previously issued on one complete album then the rest ended up on a compilation of recordings called 'Sinatra & Company' and a few others lay in the vault for many years until now, all the songs have been remixed from the original multi-track tapes by Larry Walsh an engineer known to Sinatra lovers for his excellent work and ear, they have never sounded so good, the original 60's mixes had too much echo and the sound was confused but the new mixes are much dryer and clearer and better for it, the CD sounds beautiful and I now wish Concord would remix many other Sinatra albums from the 60's. No home should be without this wonderful album.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
i am a big sinatra fan,especially from the late fifties to the seventies. but this left me cold. the whole thing was too morose for words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
I'm a bit torn after having read both earlier reviews as I agree in part with both. However, I'm awarding five subjective stars [how could they be anything else?] after playing this collection several times, and despite what is certainly a lessening of quality in the later sessions, it is still marvellous to hear all twenty tracks in succession without a break. The first ten are obviously the best. I noticed [did others?] that the remastering from original sources has extended the lengths of several of these 1967 tracks so that you hear extended codas at the end of some numbers and this gives them a more spontaneous quality as Sinatra and Jobim exchange little phrases and scats. Also, Sinatra's vocals are cleaner and clearer on this re-issue so that you can hear how softly he extends many phrases. It's an object lesson in hushed, romantic bossa nova. So well done Reprise. My favourites? Possibly '...Ipanema' and 'Dindi' but it's a close call. The remaining ten tracks {7 of which come from the 1971 'Sinatra and Company') are more of a mixed bag. The 7 are sung beautifully although I feel that Sinatra's phrasing is more 'poppy' rather than 'bossa nova' on these. Perhaps as a reaction to the fuller orchestrations as opposed to Ogermann's delicate backgrounds. Still, 'The Song of the Sabia' is a treat as is, to a lesser extent 'Bonita'. However, 'Off Key' ['Desafinado'} is a poor performance. It's virtually impossible to be objective when it comes to Sinatra because you have to judge him apart from other singers simply because he was the best.However, the total package deserves top stars - after all it is Sinatra.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
When I was a little boy in 1966/7 my father brought home the vinyl version of the first half of this. Instead of the Beatles I listened to this. He said "If you like classical then listen to this!".

I rediscovered this after a long absence when my son found a CD in my deceased mother's bits and pieces. My father passed away some years ago.

It is very "gratifying" to know that after 47 years I'm still hooked.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
On the original LP pressings that this CD is taken from, Sinatra insisted that a couple of tracks were removed, as he wasn't at his best on them. Luckily, they are restored on the CD version, and one of them, "Bonita" is a real gem. A beautiful orchestration, with some nice alto flutes. A treat for all bossa nova lovers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)