Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Georgia Warhorse
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 4 June 2011
Once again Paul Jones on the Blues show on Radio 2 has turned me onto an artist of whom I had no prior knowledge of. (The last one was Joanne Shaw Taylor). During a studio interview with JJ Grey, I was taken with the quality of the tracks being selected and the stories behind some of which were intriguing. What struck me first was the vocal style. It initially put me in mind of Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes, particularly on the song King Hummingbird. Only after the interview was over did I get the name of the artist and up to that point I had convinced myself that this was a Chris Robinson solo outing. Having pulled the car over at the end of the interview awaiting the album and artist title, I promptly ordered this recording on arrival home. Not only did the album delight in its entirety, but a number of musical and vocal styles became apparent. The opening song Diyo Dayo was reminiscent of Lee Brilleaux of Dr Feelgood fame; there is the strong flavour of The Black Crowes throughout several songs and also a very strong Southern Soul feel. A genuinely good album of a late sixties blues / soul / rock flavour. If this style is your thing I cannot recommend this highly enough. One thing for certain, I shall be seeking out further recordings by JJ Grey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 September 2010
And what pray tell is a Georgia Warhorse? Well, let Mr Grey tell you all about the Southern lubber grasshopper. "Yellow and black, and tough like an old-school Tonka toy," says JJ. "They seem so at ease with the world". And certainly Mofro seem at ease with themselves on this, their fifth album.

In their current incarnation as a soulful rhythm and blues band, it seems a long way from their early days as a staple of the jam band world, but it's less than ten years since their debut. Which just goes to show how far they've come in a short time. Singer Jj Grey is in particularly fine form as they amble through the worlds of blues, soul and even a few doses of the funk.

You'll find the funk in fine fettle on 'Slow, Hot & Sweaty', Toots Hibbert from the Maytals pops in to take part in 'The Sweetest Thing' and Allman Brother Derek Trucks adds some slide guitar to 'Lullaby', but despite the guests this is very much a Mofro album. Opening number 'Diyo Dayo' has more than a touch of New Orleans about it and there is an out and out killer ballad in the shape of 'Gotta Know'.

A couple of the tunes fall short of the mark but with the band in good form and some sprightly guitar work from Daryl Hance, this might be the album that breaks them through to a wider audience. Although to be fair, I thought that about "Country Ghetto" and "Orange Blossoms" as well, so you may want to hold off betting the house on it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2011
This album is named after the resilient
Southern grasshopper that just keeps
coming back time and again and never
seems to be in a hurry, something that
JJ relates to as he has spent a decade
building his fan-base and has never tried
to rush things. Some of the music on this
CD comes over a bit too funky at times
for me such as All, which is also a bit too
repetitive lyrically, although it has a great
keyboard solo at the end. However, the
ballads on the album are just superb
with Grey's soulful and passionately
emotive vocal delivery just magnificent.
Tracks such as the Southern rock styled
ballad King Hummingbird, the reggae
influenced The Sweetest Thing with guest
vocals from Toots Hibbert alongside
Grey's more gritty rock style. But the best
is left until last with the brooding Lullaby
that builds up to a frenzied climax at the
end, quite brilliant. Lullaby also includes
some amazing slide guitar from the great
Derek Trucks as well as atmospheric
drum rhythm from Anthony Cole, Grey`s
vocals on this track are just tremendous.
JJ does lead and backing vocals as
well as lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars,
piano, synthesiser, clavinet, talkbox and
harmonica, he also has a fine backing
band in Mofro to support him. David

This review was originally published in the February 2011 issue of Maverick Magazine
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2010
I saw a write up of this album in a guitar magazine and gave it a test on Amzon, then bought it. Initial reaction was ok, interesting, I'll listen again. By the 3rd listen I was hooked. I have since bought the previous 4 albums :)

This is laid back swamp, blues & funk (is that a new genre? SB&F?) with stunning lyrics. There is a YouTube video of JJ singing "The Sweetest Thing" with Toots Hibbert which is well worth watching.

There isn't a bad track on this album and I really think it is worth every penny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2010
I've heard half a dozen or so Mofro tracks before this - some I thought were very good, others I thought were just average but I think that this new record is very consistent, with singer JJ Grey being outstanding throughout - he sounds like a young Paul Rodgers. The band also have that poise and spare assurance of Free in the way that they approach their sound, producing relaxed and soulful tracks. There is lots of variety here, from the opening swampy 'Diyo Dayo', to the funk of 'Slow, Hot & Sweaty', the beautiful ballad 'Beautiful world' and the closing dramatic blues 'Lullaby', with Derek Trucks adding some extra gloss with his distinctive slide guitar. However, despite this variety they manage to pull off the difficult trick of linking the tracks with an overall band sound, with good guitar, keyboards and a cracking rhythm section. Excellent record.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2011
I first heard the title track on the Paul Jones show and for me the album is worth buying just for that, but as I play the album the other tracks are really good too, there are some nice harmonica, guitar / slide guitar and sax solos and the horn section gives a nice full sound on some of the tracks. I know it's another band to come out of the Allman brothers school, but hey so what? this is a great album and I shall buy the next one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2011
First purchase from this artist, enjoyed it and will buy another of their albums. Though it is not the most original album I have got .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2010
And what does he do so well you may ask.
This soulful bluesy laidback rock music, that's what.
Five albums in and still growing. Another great album from the guys.
Can't say a bad thing about the whole of Georgia Warhorse.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)