Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
Pornography (Remastered Version)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 2 October 2017
Wow what an album I was told a few years ago that if I wanted to start listening to the cure to buy a best of album so I did that and to be honest I was lost the songs were ok but lacked perspective to me ,so I said I would buy one album and listen from start to finish and I brought disintegration and wow I was hooked the cure final made sense and I didn't think I could enjoy any album as much as disintegration but in my opinon pornography has some better songs but I agree the album as a whole maybe not quite as strong but I've probably listened to this more !Buy yourself this album and listen to it a few times and hear it get better and better with each listen buy this if only to listen to the amazingly dark Siamese twin and figurehead which imo is the cures best song ,buy this u deserve it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2017
This Cure album is very very beautiful and darkly dark.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
My favourite Cure album of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2014
Remaster has brought out a bit more detail - still dark but no longer muddy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2016
Fantastic album with brilliant drumming and bass lines complimented by Robert Smiths' guitar and vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
V good early Cure album. Only listened a couple of times so won't go into depth. For me not quite as majestic as Disintigration, but good 'gothy' songs, uncommercial and punchy. Cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2007
coming at a time when punk rock and new wave was being strangled be newglamromantisicko 80s pop crap(spandau ballet, duran duran yuk!), the cure were becoming increasingly black.each album was better, darker, than the previous. this was not 'goth', this was undefinable unique and always uplifting, much in the same way as joy division's 'closer', or killing joke's self named debut. unfortunately this was the last of this particularly brilliant period. 'pornography' and 'faith' gave way to the more sales inspired , though not bland, poptunes like 'lovecats'. i have continued to marvel at this pulsing, mesmerising genius of an album since it was first released, and it is still fresh, and inspiring. this is the cure.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2014
I can’t believe how good this still sounds after over three decades. My memory of it was of something huge and dark and muddy....but the muddiness, it transpires, was due to the fact that – as a cash-strapped teenager – I had rented the album from the record library (do you remember RECORDS?) and taped it on a cheapie cassette tape (do you remember CASSETTE TAPES??) So it’s not entirely surprising that I thought it was muddy, specially as I listened to it about ten thousand times and probably wore out the tape.
The power of these eight brief tracks is that I still know all the lyrics and – slightly worryingly – they are still appropriate in my life. They still echo everything I feel...it seems you don’t ever really stop being a teenager; you just get better at pretending. Unlike the other Goth stuff I was listening to at the time, this one has held up the best. I didn’t hear anything that tore my heart out quite as much until I discovered Marilyn Manson’s Antichrist Superstar about six years ago.
I’m not a huge Cure fan and never liked their pop singles much. For me, this was what it was really all about – the darkest, darkest night of the soul, the dread of living, every breath is death. This is brilliant stuff. It’s not just noise either – the drums are huge but so are the tunes. Melody isn’t sacrificed and each track is exquisite with its own beauty. Robert Smith’s vocals are chilling with despair and hatred and I find myself going around with various lyrics echoing inside my head, particularly The Figurehead, which was my favourite track and still is: “....and someone will listen at least for a short while.”
I used to hope that someone did.
I haven’t received the CD yet but I downloaded the digital, remastered version, and haven’t stopped listening to it for four days on my newly installed Amazon Music player (which took all of a second to download.) I’ve become as obsessional about it now as I was thirty years ago. You know something is good if it lasts that long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2014
This is a very dark and intense album. Back in 1982 I couldn't take something so challenging. I recall a reviewer saying this was all too much. Perhaps age has made more more comfortable with the dark side. I know now it's a part of life and a place worth exploring. You don't have to get lost there but you're richer for it. I love the intensity of this album. Standout tracks are The Hanging Garden, Siamese Twins, and The Figurehead. All of the instrumentation is incredible, the bass and the drums in particular. Smith provides the ultimate anguished conductor of it all. Buy this if you are up to it but don't expect something easy to deal with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse