Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
all ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
v.happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
I should start by saying it has taken me nearly 25 years to love this album. A friend introduced me to The Cure in 1987 and I loved them. 17 Seconds is still one of my favourite albums of all time. I got hold of all the albums and loved them all instantly except this one. I just could not get on with it - too dirty, too noisy and too intense. I don't think it helped that I had a second hand tape of the album which I remember sounding so murky it was difficult to listen to.
When the remastered albums came out I decided to finally replace my old tape and LP versions of the early albums (yes I still listen to tapes - you can look them up on Wikipedia) and bought Pornography to give it another try - and was completely blown away!
How did I miss the incredible beauty of this album all those years ago. The relentless pounding drums - so high in the mix they feel like they are in your head. The intensity of Smith's lyrics, the wonderful guitar and keyboard tunes. And then the overwhelming experience of the final track. Distorted backwards voices like an ESP recording and TV and film voices heard through a wall with the most relentless repetitive drum pattern of all overlaid with slab like keyboards and feedback guitars - wonderful!
This album is not an easy listen - but it is truly wonderfully unnlike anything else you have heard.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
I never rated the Cure when they first started. All that stuff about jumping other people's trains, killing middle-easterners and not crying 'cos you're a boy didn't do much for me.

However a mate persuaded me to go and see them on the "Faith" tour and I was blown away. Bought "Faith" the next day and, when "Pornography" came out, I just had to have it (made even better by the childish pleasure of asking my parents to buy me "Pornography" for my birthday).

I loved "Faith" and I loved Joy Division, the Banshees, and the rest of the post-punk crowd, but this was something else.

With an opening line of "It doesn't matter if we all die" and a closing line of "I must fight this sickness, find a cure", and a whole range of (un)healthy emotions and obsessions explored inbetween, this was just the thing to listen to for those of us who didn't buy into the emptiness of New Pop and the Thatcher Dream. Lots of people thought it was morbid and depressing - more fool them. It made us feel more alive than ever.

And as for the music ... you'll find no better soundtrack to a slasher movie scripted by William Burroughs and Jean-Paul Sartre than this. Now if only someone would make that movie.

More than 20 years on, I bought it again on CD. It was just as good as before, in fact if anything better for now being out of its historical context.

A timeless record. Now, where's my lipstick and face paint......
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
There are a few great English things which I truly recommend to anyone in their teens. 'Oh, whistle and I'll come to you, my lad' by M R James (watch the BBC version if reading isn't your thing). The first Clash and Dexys albums. And this. Completely uncompromising, cathartic. Still leaves me breathless.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
It's a shame in a way that nowadays this album seems to fit in with a vast amount of similarly aggressive and agonising music. On it's release it was the first of it's kind and to describe its impact as harrowing would be a serious understatement.

Seminal it undoubtably was but where other bands strive to achieve the same effect they fail because 'Pornography' is so sincere. Only Nirvana reached the level of outright desperation that brutally stabs out of this recording. But cacophony in itself is not enough. These are really great songs produced by a man who was driving himself way too hard.

In amongst the relentlessly attacking sound, evidence of a great songwriter emerges in moments of astonishing beauty. This is why the Cure's more recent releases fail. Smith was still discovering his ability and wrote as a man in some kind of genuine purgatory. Now, he's wealthy and comfortable and no matter how hard he digs, the well of desparate memories and wondrous revelations have run dry.

So considering it's utterly uncompromising sound it's not surprising that this shocking album didn't sell on release. It left people either stunned (like watching someone having a nervous breakdown at a party) or alienated, after all, it's predecessors were low key and fanciful in comparison.

It marked a change in Smith's life. Although the following album had it's moments of crushing beauty he moved firmly into the land of the 'Lovecats', commercial success and some kind of weird happiness. And unlike Kurt Cobain there really was a happy ending.
33 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
"Gothic rock" isn't easy music to listen to. Put on a CD of "My Dying Bride" or anything this side of the more synthesizer-heavy "Bauhaus"-like goth music and most of us will find ourselves struggling to make it to the end track without at least taking a break to sniff some flowers or something.

Dark, depressing and dramatic, "Pornography" will come as a shock to the system for anybody who associates Robert Smith with "Friday I'm in love". Each of The Cure's 'phases' have produced great music, peaking with 1989's epic "Disintegration", but Pornography represents by far the darkest place The Cure have visited.

Opening with the heart-stopping "One Hundred Years", Smith opens with the line "Doens't matter if we all die", and the tone for the album is set. Smith, Gallup and Tolhurst will walk you through the valley of the shadow of death without so much as a stop to catch your breath.

If "Friday I'm in love" or The Cure's other happy-go-lucky material is your bag (I'll admit, it's also my bag, I love everything they've done) then buying this may be a huge mistake. On the other hand, it could be one of the best musical purchases you make. Dark, powerful goth rock which is actually worth listening to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Before The Cure became known for gothic new wave pop songs like 'Just Like Heaven' and 'Lovesong', they emerged from the UK punk scene alongside Joy Division and Siouxsie and the Banshees with their brand of gothic post-punk with thunderous bass riffs and tingling moody guitar melodies showcased on albums like Seventeen Seconds and Faith. Their fourth record Pornography is a magnification of that sound filled with ten haunting tracks of utter doom and gloom. From the opening song, 'One Hundred Years', this album feels like a musical nightmare with Robert Smith's deadpan vocals really capturing the atmospheric tones alongside his tantalising guitar playing and Simon Gallup's incredible bass. 'The Hanging Garden' is the closest song on the album to be considered radio friendly with less downtuned guitars present. Each track is incredible and adds to the bleakness of the album. Whilst it's not their best album which is Disintegration for me, it's still a classic record and proof that The Cure are one of the best bands of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2007
coming at a time when punk rock and new wave was being strangled be newglamromantisicko 80s pop crap(spandau ballet, duran duran yuk!), the cure were becoming increasingly black.each album was better, darker, than the previous. this was not 'goth', this was undefinable unique and always uplifting, much in the same way as joy division's 'closer', or killing joke's self named debut. unfortunately this was the last of this particularly brilliant period. 'pornography' and 'faith' gave way to the more sales inspired , though not bland, poptunes like 'lovecats'. i have continued to marvel at this pulsing, mesmerising genius of an album since it was first released, and it is still fresh, and inspiring. this is the cure.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)