Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
81
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
Bought as a gift and the recipient loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2004
Having spent a great deal of time in SE Asia, I picked up this book with some trepidation: since Michael Herr's brilliant "Dispatches" there have been an awful lot of derivative books about gung-ho boys with toys running around getting shot at during the Vietnam War. This though, was different. This does cover the war, and its effects on the region, but the slant is much more personal and thoughful. Swain realises that there is an entrenched culture of beauty and delicacy mixed with a near-veneration for death and auto-destruction. This book has come closer to understanding the people and culture of the area than any other book i can remember. The book's observations of the profound changes which the region has gone through is spot-on. More importantly, this is a love-letter to a lost land, to lost lovers and friends. The passion and deep romanticism are very moving. I can't remember the last time i read a book so sensitive and delicate.
If you want to understand what European hubris has done to world, you must read this. Is this travel writing? a love story? a war story? all of them, but it doesnt matter. Read this, and then tell your friends to read it too.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
An excellent and moving account of Jon Swain's time as a journalist in Cambodia and Vietnam in the 70s. Anyone who has visited these countries can, in a small way,identify with the pull this region had on certain people. Jon Swain is very honest about his intoxication and fascination with both the region and the horrors of war and his determination to be part of it at all costs - giving up a good job to go freelance probably stifled his early journalist career. There is a certain sadness in someone who had (and knows he had)the best years of his life as a relatively early age. I lived in Hong Kong in the 80s and I meet several Vietnam era journalists in the FCC for whom Vietnam was the peak of their professional and personal lives and everything after paled in comparison. Some of them were sad figures. However, for anyone who wants a view of the Indo china conflict from the journalist point of view I would highly recommend this book in conjunction with Christopher J Kock's novel Highways to a war, in which the main character is partly based on camerman Neil Davis who covered the vietnam war only to be later killed in a minor coup in Thailand.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
I have read Jon Swain's book 'River of Time' a number of times. It is an incredibly moving story. Young journalist makes his way to Indochina to cover the wars in Vietnam and Cambodia in the course of which he becomes emotionally attached to the place. I guess Jon Swain will never be able to detach himself emotionally from Indo-China. You can read that right through the whole book.
'River of Time' is a gruesome tale. Jon Swain gives a vivid description of the civil war in Cambodia, the fall of Phnom Penh and the final days at the French Embassy (also depicted in The Killing Fields and in Francois Bizot's The Gate) and the end of Khmer Rouge rule in 1979 and the day after. He also covers the Vietnam War quite well and its end and gives a most horrendous account on the boat people and their fate. Swain's kidnapping by the Tigre People's Liberation Front in Ethiopia seems oddly out of place with this Indo-China tale, but to me it seemed emotionally important for understanding the rest of the book.
For anyone interested in Indo-China this is compulsory reading.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Genocide, gang rapes, torture, pirates, brutal murders, suicide, chemical weapons…

Inconceivable brutality utterly mutilated the once beautiful and vibrant countries of Vietnam and Cambodia beyond recognition. In just several decades of ferocious civil war, millennia of history, two passionate cultures, and millions of suffering people were changed forever.

The horrors of the Vietnam War represented one of the darkest periods in all of history. The sheer level of inhumanity inflicted by both sides decimated the lives of countless millions, and the majority of their stories are simply heartbreaking. That such extreme suffering can even be endured is almost as shocking as the realisation that one human being could willingly inflict such terrible suffering on another. But from the heart of such darkness arose the most inspiring acts of courage. For ultimately, the causes, nature and consequences of this terrible war lie with the insecurities, doubts, confusion, mistakes and vulnerabilities ignited by international pressures and ideological influences on two innocent nations. The passion, beauty and vitality of the Vietnamese and Cambodian people, of all the people of Indo-China, make their vast suffering all the more painful to contemplate.

‘River of Time’, is the account of the tragedies of these two nations by a lone British journalist, Jon Swain, from 1970 to 1975. This book can be described in one word: Incredible. It is undoubtedly the most powerful book I have ever read. Swain’s journey, and the journey of several of his closest friends in the turbulent world of war journalism at that time, have even been depicted on the screen, in the Oscar-winning film, The Killing Fields. Swain lived in Indo-China for five years in the 70s for the duration of the American participation in the Vietnam War, and what he witnessed and was a part of was shocking, inspiring, heartbreaking, moving, utterly brutal and terrible in equal measure. I was not aware, as I am sure most of the world is still, of the sheer extent of the suffering of the Vietnamese and Cambodian people.

The horrors inflicted by the Khmer Rouge, Vietcong and Americans alike undoubtedly rivalled the atrocities of the Nazis during the Holocaust. I truly feel deeply affected by what I have read. Particular moments that burn in my mind are the family separations, the death of children and babies, Swain’s time in captivity in Ethiopia, the heinous torture carried out by the Khmer Rouge, and in particular the unimaginable sadistic cruelty of the notorious Comrade Duch, in charge of the most terrifying death camp in Cambodia. But what disturbed me the most was the account of the merciless rape and slaughter of thousands of girls as young as ten by the pirates of the South China Sea as a beleagured and weary people tried to flee the communist regime after the war. Such incidents are very hard to read.

Swain writes so beautifully and eloquently of the eternal beauty of Cambodia and this only amplifies the pain of its utter decimation by the war. The raw passion and rugged charm of Phnom Penh, of Saigon, of the countryside, the people, are why Swain fell so in love with Indo-China like so many of the journalists who visited it did, many of whom lost their lives in the pursuit of the truth.

I read this book while travelling across China and Vietnam, evoking an even greater longing within me to understand the war-torn and fascinating histories of such diverse and enchanting cultures of the East, and, after reading River of Time, I feel another step closer to understanding the true nature of the human condition. One fact remains certain, that Jon Swain’s book will stay with me for the rest of my life as one of the most shocking books I have ever and will ever read.

“Nature spoke with nightfall. From a thousand arbours in the forest came the hum of insects. Then darkness dropped. The silence became complete. The moon rose and crept through the clouds, its shifting light forming obscure patterns on the waters. I felt the river carrying my body on a current of happiness. A host of memories passed before my eyes: strolls by moonlight through the temples of Angkor; the warmth and smile of a child’s face. Aspects of Cambodia which are true and good. I always hope that the perfect combination of time, place and love that made Indo-China unique, a Paradise for me, will come together again. I am ever hopeful, but how difficult it is to believe that it ever can.”
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2008
Jon Swain relates the fall of Phnom Penh on first hand, the five years of silence and speculation and the stories of many survivors after the liberation. He was there when the airport was closed, he left friends and he knew well the political forces in the area
The book is written in a clear tone, without political or moral opinions, and with a controlled emotion. The narration of the events and the stories of common people give a series of images that left a strong imprint on me. The book is a classic on this period and I recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2001
I bought this book while in Phnom Penh and reading it while there, added a poignancy to an already heart-rending experience. The first lines of the book said it all to me because I fell in love with the Mekong myself, and the people who live on its banks. Jon Swain's book River of Time touched me like Cambodia touched me and I came away from the country utterly entranced. The author depicts the lush beauty of these countries excellently, as well as the filth of war with its utter despair and futility. Swain has put into words my own sadness and imcomprehension of the Pol Pot regime, as well as the hope and good humour these people still possess. His power of description is marvellous and I recommend it whole-heartedly to anyone who wants to or has experienced the lands of the Mekong.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I have the very great honour to count Jon Swain amongst my friends.
An easy and almost jaunty exterior camouflages a man who loves to love but hides supreme courage with an almost boyish charm. Enduring the basic training of the Foreign Legion and the almost unspeakable horrors of Vietnam he wrote a book about his coverage of this grotesque war. Gavin Young writes 'It is hard to see how a better book could be written of this tumultuous and utterly disastrous period'. He adds by 'a sweet-natured man of total integrity who writes brillianty and brings to life Vietnam and Cambodia'.
Do not go there without this book I implore you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)